A Danish frozen food company is all set to try the Indian market - I read the article a few weeks ago, so forgot the details. Apart from stealing my idea of producing flavored yogurts etc in Asia, they wrote that since more and more women have started working, they don’t have time for the traditional type of cooking. You know sitting in verandas and washing one ladyfinger at a time, drying it and then cutting equal size pieces, taking all the time they can afford. Well those days are over! Now they need cleaned, ready made stuff to save time etc. This ‘need’ has triggered another ‘need’, for a new kind of business, which some foreign investors have understood in time. The investors also know that some cultures (Indian) are more patriotic towards goods produced on Indian soil so it’d be a good idea to grow, bhindi tori in India, which will create jobs for small and medium size farmers. Setting up a business requires skilled labor, India’s got that, so a few more are getting good jobs because of that. The food needs to be processed which requires all sort of labor, educated and illiterate, creating more jobs. So there is an obvious chain of events that results is revenue, generated in the country by the country men/women, because one cultural barrier is moved a tiny little from its original place.
Question is, did these females jog their way to move the cultural barrier, that created jobs for thousands of other Indians? What importance does a symbolic gesture have in general? Second question is, can a country like ours afford to say no to such business opportunities? Waise tau its a wrong question, as sitting in our comfortable chairs, knowing fully well that there’s no way we’re going to go to bed without having food of our liking we can afford opinions of our likings, lekin phir bhi, aik roza rakhte jaan jaati hai, par sochne meiN kya hai. What if, your parents weren’t allowed in US or UK? What if you were among those who start their day by being harassed to school / office? Come back and face the world who thinks that you’re low character hore for working amongst males in a westernized environment? What is worse, small girls selling them selves to feed their families or allowing them easy access to better future?
Do we understand that, even though Islam promoted and respected females before any other religion/culture, as per our own claim at least, our sisters in Islam are still amongst the most oppressed creatures ever born on face of this earth? Why is a hijabi allowed to work among males and females of a ‘hostile’ nation, US / UK etc? How did others learn to respect the difference? Wahi nazil hui thi in pe? Why did the satti tradition end? Why is honor killings, karo kari not widely accepted anymore? Surely not because a prophet was sent down again, and most definitely not because some naik amma sat behind closed doors and wished the world to be a better place and wupti, it all turned pink and shiny. Surely someone was strong enough to take a stand, fight for us, so that we can sit behind a computer screen and insult them by calling the hawas zada and sluts. How often did the prophet refer to females of any sect or profession as sluts?