Its actually amusing. Perhaps because I don’t watch Pakistani channels all that much, nor have I the patience to follow the dramas, that I didn’t realize till last night that Pakistani dramas have now gone into a new stage with music and dances where the hero and heroine are doing filmi style slow dances together. Kiyaa baat hai!
My wife was watching late last night some drama on ARY, which I presume was on some Eid topic, and it had Javed Sheikh, Qazi Wajid and Badar Khalil. Don’t know what the name of the drama was. The story line was absolutely atrocious and the acting wasn’t stellar either, but it was the new style of drams (new for me, atleast) that got my attention.
Personally I think, inserting dances in any drama or movie, gets it away from reality, cz, frankly I have never seen a couple lehak lehak ke dancing in Race Course Park or Lawrence Gardens… but hey! I am sure a lot of people love seeing couples dance in broad daylight on a street.
I have heard people saying that the Pakistani films especially the Punjabi ones (and a few urdu, they are few to start with) had no relationship to reality, so now I think the Pakistani dramas are going the same way as well.
Ya Last night i also watch that Drama but just thought what a joke and switch to another channel , Its funny , acutally we dont have any superb story left so the writers think adding dances and songs .........their Dramas might become popular....!! No idea what happened to our Writers plus where is that old writers Gone who wrote Tanhiyaan , Ankahi, Angaan Tehra and other gr8 stories And one morething That superb and Gr8 Actors !!
i think they are trying to go towards indian type drama's where they have people dancing, good stage set ups and lots of glamour to attract the audience, even the girls are wearing jewelry and clothes that attract now its not simple anymore. I believe they are competing now to attract more viewers. it started with the drama mehndi where the wedding and the song title was attractive and people responded well and enjoyed that stuff.
it wasnt a drama darlings.. it was a tele film..
hmm like if our really bad movies and really good dramas got marrried and reproduced you would have telefilms.
*Originally posted by ~MuNiYa~: *
hmm like if our really bad movies and really good dramas got marrried and reproduced you would have telefilms.
really good dramas? Hmm.... you give them too much credit. A drama/telefilm where the climax is reached when both the heroine and the hero started acting as if they have swallowed poison pills and the parents rush them to the hospital where the doctors essentially tell them that "you morons, they didn't take any poison"... and then the guy and girl come out with miskeen shakal saying "jo aap kahein gay, wo hamm karein gay", while previously they were naara-maaring ke ji hamm ye karedein gay aur hamm woh kardein gay... at which the parents say with anger "nahi... ab wohi ho ga jo hamm chahein gay... and you WILL get married, dhoom dhaam se".
I mean, gimme a break. I am sure there is cheesier ending somewhere, I just don't know where to find it.
But then, let me not deviate from the topic too much. It was the dances that got my attention, perhaps because bad dialogues and bad acting is more a default these days, so it doesn't surprise me.
Ah well, I guess we are constantly making progress. :)
^ pls watch hindi film “Love Story” where the hero is called Bunty and the heroin is Pinky..
the hate each other.. and one day they get handcuffed and spend the whole day together.. the girl hits the guy and the boy slaps her… then they’re in love
[QUOTE] Originally posted by sadzz
b/w most pakistani dramas are very good and ive seen a few telefilms and really liked them.... maybe they're a few odd ones that are cheezy
U can’t be serious sadzz …..
I haven’t seen a lot of them ….but from the few I have tried to watch … I can’t really figure out the worst bit …
The storyline … ?
The acting … ?
The script ….?
or
The direction ….!?
i havent seen any of the recent dramas.. but back in the days (about 4-5 years ago) they were really good... ie. Bulandi, Ajaib khana, Nangay Paoon, Aashiyana, Kurb
theres too many to name.. but these (the above mentioned) are extremely good.. i dont like cheesy stuff either.. but most of these have unique story lines
so the last drama u watched was about 4-5 years ago … where have u been living …i am sure they have tv’s in lalu khaith…?
Bulandi, Ajaib khana, Nangay Paoon, Aashiyana, Kurb …hmm i am sure i have heard those name before …i think from my mother …
I think the only drama i watched and enjoyed was tanhaiyeen ..(is that how u spell tanhaiyeen) … i was 10 at the time … and O’ sunahray din was good too …i must have been 11 at the time …after that i guess i grew up …hehe
Faisal, I dont know which drama you're talking about - but if it was a telefilm, then the purpose of a telefilm is a movie made for television. And with Pakistani cinema's history of focusing predominantly on musicals, its only to be expected that telefilms will have dances.
And I have to say - the songs and dances in these telefilms (not all of course) are a lot better than Arjumand heating up the big screen with her big Thigh-posing dance steps.