Dadi jaani....

chuckle @ my dadi. I don’t know how many of you live with your grandparents but my dadi jaani came over from pak last year. She is like hitting 100 :kiss: And she is so :smooth:

I thought i’d share her antics with you hehe, of course on a happier note and on a break from my darling brother..

The other day my friend came over from uni, and dadi was sitting in the lounge. So i said dadi she wants to see you do the luddi. And dadis like ‘na aye na’ :blush: So i persisted and she said chalo and gave a little mischevious cackle :smokin:

And got up and started doing luddiyan :hula: rocking the lounge :wink:

& then she spotted dad in the kitchen and was like :eek: why didn’t you tell me your dad was there and sat back down again and we were all like nooooo dadi carrrrry on…

So she gave us one of these looks > :hoonh: and said lets go in the other room and continue :smiley:

WELL IT WAS HILARIOUS AT THE TIME !!! :wink:

Anyways. Do you guys have grandparents? I have dadi and nani jaani. Dada jee died when dad was 16 *sniffle. And nana abbu ko bhi like 42 saal hogaye hea :frowning: And although dadi jee drives me NUTS at times because she has dementia and repeats the same thing over and over…and then she sleeps in my room and keeps me up all night at times…it really is a pleasure to have a grandparent muah

My Dads dad passed away when my dad was a young kid living in pakistan, apart from that i don’t know anything else about my grandad, i’d like to know more but i dont think i could ask my dad (at least not yet), i don’t know how he’d react, i wouldn’t want to put him in an uncomfortable situation or get him to talk about something he wouldn’t want to.
My dads mum passed away about 5-6 years at the age of 96 i think, i can still remember her well :slight_smile:

as for my other grandparents - from my mums side, they’re both alive and fine living in scotland, we visit them at least once a year and mums always on the phone to them.

although my nan doesn’t do the luddiyaan around the lounge, she and my grandad can be cool :smooth:

:slight_smile:

Ums - I never ask Dad either. But Dadi jaani always tells us…

Your Dada was a tall striking man who used to bring me mishri ( ? ! ? ) from Lahore…:hehe: Its so sweet.

I live with my nani and it wouldn’t be wrong to say taht she takes care of me more than my parents ever did, even at her old age. From getting up in the morning to a glass of milk at night – everything.

Nana likes to discuss current events, shairi, his daughter, and what I’d like to have for shaam ki chai. :kiss:

My dadi, she lives close by and is hilarious at times. Like the other day, (she had a minor abdominal operation) a young, male doctor came in to ask how she was doing and if it hurt when she uses the bathroom, etc. She was all shy and kept answering in a low voice. After he left, she called em some &(*#@^ names about how be-sharam these docs are and stuff. The whole night I teased her about how I’m gonna drop outta med school because she thinks docs are be-sharam. She thought I was serious and kept taking back her words.

Ah, she looked like an angel in the white hospital outfit.

Dada passed away when I was six so I dont have a lot of memories associated with him.

These people are truly a blessing upon us and especially our parents. May Allah give them a healthy life.

my daadi passed away when i was 3, so barely remember anythin bout her…never got to know my naana as he passed away even b4 i was born…and my naani passed away when i was 8, so i do remeber a few things about her…God, i wish i had a chance to know 'em all…

daada ji is still alive and well, Alhumdulillah…get to c him every few yrs…well, its been 4 yrs since i saw him last…i thought he was pretty strict, and it turns out, that he is actually a LOT more linient with us grandkids, than he was with my dad and his siblings :smiley: i luv the way he is…heh…while he was here, he’d get up for fajr, go for a walk right after, pick up the toronto star on the way back…and during the day, he’d read the paper end to end…making note of ALL the mistakes that he comes across in the paper (grammatical or otherwise)…heck, not only in the articles, but even in the ads :smiley: and at the end of the day, he’d make me write an e-mail to the editor pointing out those mistakes :hehe:

he does the same thing with our letters…well, i haven’t written to him in a while…but whenever i do, b4 i get his reply to the letter, i’d get my own letter back with red markings all over the place :hehe:

he’s cool :slight_smile:

i don’t have a nano :crying: aur a dada abbu :crying:

but i do have nana abbu n dadi…dadi’s a bit meany :crying: she’s here rite now livin wid us…sigh dat’s y i wish ma nano wuz alive, atleast unn se tou thora pyar mill jaata :crying:

but ma nana’s da sweetest guy eva..he’s livin wid us rite now too..u kno one thing, i’ve neva eva seen dat guy gettin pissed or sad, he’s alwayzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz n i swear to God he’s alwayz smiling n laughin no matter wut..mashallah..i luv em alottttttttttt :kiss:

sumtimes he annoys me(on purpose) but otha den dat he’s a kewl guy :love:

Nice thread DD :)

Well my dadima passed away 1 year ago :( she was such a sweatheart , so loving n caring ...i'll never forget her ...

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

Slowly we are losing a generation that saw partition , seen tough times, sacrificed many things .. and in that struggle found out that love is the greatest thing in the world... they were of an era when materialism was not dominant factor in relationships.. they spread selfless love.. the care they offered to their kids and grad kids is amazing.. sadly the generation that followed pursued materialistic gains and is much more arrogant.. today we find ourselves torned to be like our grandparents.. but not many succeed.. we need to break that shackles and try to continue teh journey of selfless love.. that is the best reply to the love we got...

Degas :slight_smile: you’re absolutely right …

:flower1:

Very well said :k:

DD: :hug: Be good, ok?

*Originally posted by Degas: *
Slowly we are losing a generation that saw partition , seen tough times, sacrificed many things .. and in that struggle found out that love is the greatest thing in the world... they were of an era when materialism was not dominant factor in relationships.. they spread selfless love.. the care they offered to their kids and grad kids is amazing.. sadly the generation that followed pursued materialistic gains and is much more arrogant.. today we find ourselves torned to be like our grandparents.. but not many succeed.. we need to break that shackles and try to continue teh journey of selfless love.. that is the best reply to the love we got...

my dadi died when i was 15 :( .. i loved her the most among all my grandparents. was very close to her.. i was the first grand kid so she used to spoil me a lot.. i remember i used to cry when ever my mom wud ask me to visit mamu's place cuz i didnt want to leave my dadi... things used to be so good when she was alive.. i just miss her a lot.

i do have my dada .. he is a sweety too... he tells us all about his life .. the time before partition n after .. self made man.. i am very proud of him :)

nana used to be very strict but now he is so old n very lenient. very diciplined.. i alwayz wonder y didnt he ever tried to go in army. very intelligent and smart man. :)

after dadi's death i became very close to my nanoo..being the youngest girl there again i am very spoiled n pampered. she is no doubt the wisest woman i have ever met. she is probably the coolest person of the family. even at this age she is soo active. i alwayz learn so many things from her. :)

sigh now i miss them all :(

Great dadi:)

I never had a chance to see my Dadi.

oh well i remember my dadi ..khuskismati se i had a great time with her , infact hossh sambalaa tuu had her around us .she was the most respectabel and beautiful lady in family , always in pure white dress with sober and kind smile .we were very very close to her & learnt a lot from her …she was the most loved one mother and mother in law .i have always seen my chachus and abbu around her when ever she was sick or in troubel …koi masla ho koi problem hoo she was always like a guide for us. as a family we were like strong unit laken after her death sab ider uder bikar gaye haiN :frowning: unn ke hotay houay every1 was like jassay eik mala meiN parouay houay hotay haiN , i spent some wonderful days with her jo hum kabhi naa bhool sakeeN gaye , May Allah bless her in heavn (ameen?

Nana and nani se jo pyaar hum ko milaa wo bhi naa bholnay wala hai ..Allah sub bachoN ko grand parentes ke shafqat se zaroor nawazay coz they r most wondeful ppl in ones life :flower1:

None of my grandparents are alive any longer. I met my dada and nana only. My dada I didnt speak to much. I sometimes wish I would have spoken more to him, but I used to write letters to him, and he'd respond, and I cherish those letters now. Same goes for my nana. I have some letters he wrote to me. I got to talk to my nana a bit on my trip to Pakistan a few years ago. I remember him now as a logical individual who only liked to speak when there was a lesson to be taught, which he would try to make humorous so we would enjoy the lesson more. He was generally quiet, but very humourous when he wanted to be. Thats how I remember him. A great teacher to my mom (and us).

Love and miss my nana and dada. May Allah bless my grandparents and yours DD, and everyone elses whom have passed away, ameen.