Daal Mash

Instead of opening a single thread for all daals I have decided to open a thread for each daal. We shall began with mash daal this week and I would request all of you to post your recipes of mash daal , discus & ask questions.

Here are photos of cooked mash daal and uncooked mash daal for those who are new :slight_smile:

Here is my favourite recipe of mash daal so easy & so yummy :

SUFAID MAASH KI DAAL

Ingredients
Mash ki daal / 1 cup,soaked fo 15-20 mins.
Ginger juilliene / 2 tbsp.
Salt / to taste.
Lal sabut mirch / 6-8 nos.

FOR BAGHAAR:
Oil / 3-4 tbsp.
Onion sliced / 1 small.
Hari mirch / 2-3 slits.

METHOD:
-Boil daal with ginger,salt and lal sabut mirch(pani itna add karein ke daal tender ho
jae aur toote bhi nahi).ready hai.
-Heat oil in a frying pan, add onion ,hari mirch ,fry till onions become golden.
-Put baghaar on daal n garnish it with ginger juilliene n serve it with ghar ki chappati.

Re: Daal Mash

lovely idea diamond ... I love this particular daal ... I always have it at home for Dahi Ballay .. this is how I make them :

Soak one cup of this daal for a few hours ..

Then add it to the chopper, add half of a medium sized onion, half tsp ginger, half tsp soda bicarbonate and blend into a very fine paste ... add just a drop of water if you have to ...

heat up the oil really well and start putting the pakora sized spoonfuls of this mixture into the oil, deep frying takes only 2 minutes ...

Soak the ballay in hot water with salt added ... take them out and add them to the yoghurt and serve with green chutney, imli sauce and other condiments of choice ...

@CB........hot water.......soak in hot water not hot oil? sorry if i am wrong.

Uzgar, yes , after they are deep fried ... you take them out on a paper towel ... then few minutes later you dip them in hot, salted water for 10 minutes ... and then drain again and add them to the yoghurt ...

Great recipe CB, I think Uzgar means you need to edit the bold part! :)

I think i am going bonkers today…must be the mausam:cb: thanks for letting me know MissF

I posted this recipe in one of the threads quite a while ago.I love this daal…:slight_smile:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/320994-entrees.html#post6318917

**Chips6 Thank you … I am re-posting your recipe for easy reference I hope you will not mind :slight_smile:

MASH KI DAAL by chips6**
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/thumbs/40288/IMG_1695_1_1.JPG

mash ki daal…1 cup(soaked in water for an hour or so)
1 medium onion…chopped
1 medium tomato…chopped
1 tsp garlic paste
almost a 2-3 inch piece of ginger root…coarsely chopped
1-2 green chillies…whole
spices..salt,red chillies,zeera,corainder powder and haldi
green cilantro for garnish…

*slightly fry the chopped onion. when a bit pink add the tomatoes and all the spices, and bhoonify the masala. when done add the ginger and garlic and pre-soaked daal and the green chillies…add some water(i did not measure it, just eye balled it…i think it was almost 3/4th of a cup)…just enough that will be absorbed by the daal and not be too fluidy in the end…
either pressure cook it on low flame for 5 mins or put on dum on low flame ,covered till the daal is done…(i pressure cooked it though)
when done, garnish and serve…

DHABE KI DAAL

INGREDIENTS:
Daal mash/1/2 cup,boiled.
Daal chaana/1/2 cup,boiled
Onion/1 medium,finely chopped.
Tomatoes/1 cup,finely chopped
Lal sabut mirch/4-5 nos.
Sufaid zeera/1 tsp.
Kali mirch gol/7-8 dane.
Cloves / 4-5 nos.
Tez patta/ 1 leave.
Lal pissi mirch /1-1/2 tsp.
Onion fried / for garnishing,
Ginger/ julliene for garnishing,
Hara dhania / for garnishing,
Hari mirchein / for garnishing,
Salt / to taste.
Oil / 1/2 cup.

METHOD:
-Oil garam ker ke onion dalein,sabut garam masala aur lal sabut mirch dal ker fry karein.
-Onion light golden ho jaye tu tomatoes add karein aur mix karein.
-Tomatoes soft ho jaein tu salt,lal pissi mirch dal ker mix karein.
-Jub masala aachi tarhan bhun jaye tu duno daal dalein aur mix karein.
-Thori ginger aur hari mirch dalein aur mix karein,phir dum pe rakhein,
-Its ready,dish out karein aur hara dhania,ginger aur fried onion se garnish karein.

Diamond...Not at all...:)

I have cooked maash ki daal 2-3 times but somehow it just doesn't get that tender if I add less water or when it does get tender, it gets squishy and sticks together. Esp if am making fried masala daal mash in which I make the masala separately and boil daal mash and then add to the masala

Any tips on how much water to add?

Ok , never add water to daal ... cook it on dum ... here is how i do the yellow moong daal ... I am sure the white one will be the same too ..

In 4-5 tablespoons oil add crushed onion ... when its browned , add in garlic and ginger paste ... then add the spices ... then just one tomato ( if you like to use it by blending into a fine paste ) but if you like to use whole tomato cubed , then dont add the tomato as yet ...

Now lower the heat to the minimum setting .. and add in the daal ... stir it lightly for a few minutes ... now add in the cubed tomatoes and cover the pan tightly ... dont uncover for 15 minutes .. open and stir and cover again .... until cooked .. becoz its on a light setting it wont stick to the pan.. tomatoes will act as slow release water content ... when the daal is nearly done, add in the corriander and green chillies and enjoy ...

CB, ham to** fikr-e-mo’aash**** meN itnaa maHv haiN k fikr-e-maash kahaN moyassar! :cb:…donoN meN farq to pataa hai na? hehe**

:crying: Now I need some of that daal. I had Urad key daal k papar and protein shake for lunch.

thanks CB. One other question: If am using boiled maash daal ...how long should I put it to boil because white daal takes a while to get tender!

I use this recipe for Mash daal, and the last few time I have made it, my husband really liked it:

](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_r1fIFcq78)

Hi Enig, I normally dont boil the daal .. and just let it cook on steam ... yeah it takes about 30 minutes for the salan to get ready .. but then I feel in control of the daal getting cooked to the level i wnt ...

Previously i used to boil daal in water till half done .. about 10 - 15 minutes on low heat .. but then the daal would become over cooked or stick to the pan after bhuning !

So I never boil it first .. if you must then dont do it for more then 10 minutes ... it should be no more then 1/4 th paki huwi ... then you can adjust the rest of the cooking process through steam and heat rather then water ...

I like the recipe that Sara mentioned .. but its never worked for me .. coz it always ends up looking like a halwa :(