*Originally posted by shahreen: *
Do you want desi or non desi recipes?
Mainly desi but would love to learn non-desi ones too.
*Originally posted by shahreen: *
Do you want desi or non desi recipes?
Mainly desi but would love to learn non-desi ones too.
there r many ways to make dal.
soak chane ki dal in water at least 1. hour.
add salt and chili powder,ginger (after taste) with dal in a cooker and boil for 15. min
( the dal should be soft, but not overcooked)
for tarka:
oil to fry, ( about 5. tbl.s)
small onion sliced in thin pieces
garlic ( after taste) also sliced in thin pieces
green chilli , chopped
fry onion ane garlic until ligth brown, and at end add chilli.
put this tarka in the boiled dal.
garnish with dhaniyah and garamasala
I hope you can use this , I have never made dal after a recepie , so it is difficult to write the exact amount of every thing. I do have a recipies somewhere. will be back with it. soon
Let me tell you one finger licking Daal Recipe..
Take a Kilo Daal Masoor
Pour in to the water and keep it there for half an hour. Than make a paste of Onion, Tamatoes, Garlic, Ginger and zera in Pressure Cooker. Than pour the Daal in it... and stir it for two minutes..mix the Glass of Water in it. Then cover the lid with weight. Only cook it for two and half minutes... after turning off the stove.. open the lid.. peel off some garlic and fry it in oil and mix it with Daal..
Here we go the delicious Daal is ready to eat.
Another Recipe you will love it.. It is with minute details..I often cook it in same way..so I know the quantity and types..This is a simple and standard way to prepare Mung Dal.
Ingredients
1 cup Mung dal (red lentils)
3 tsp Ghee
½ tsp Jeera (Cumin Seeds)
¼ tsp Hing (Asafoetida)
3 Green chilli (diced)
¼ inch Ginger
Coriander leaves for garnishing
Wash and pressure cook Mung Dal with little water and turmeric powder.
Heat Ghee in a kadai.
Add jeera and let it brown a little.
Now add chilli and Ginger followed by Hing powder.
Add boiled dal into it and cook on slow fire after adding salt.
Simmer well.
Garnish with green dhania.
Daal ka ratio
No one laugh
Or i’ll hit you with a ![]()
What’s supposed to be the daal-to-water ratio? i mean, is it like half a cup of daal, and one cup of paani? And when i put it all in the dekchi, do i put it all in together or does the paani have to boil first, then i put in the daal?
No one laugh acha or i’ll be really hurt. My mom’s gone for three weeks, so for the past two days sis and i have been finishing all the leftovers. Now the fridge is starting to look kind of empty, i want to make something today… maybe even take a picture of it and send it to my mom by e-mail - that’ll shock her:D ummm just tell me the daal-water ratio and i’ll be very grateful. oh and she used to put some kind of black seeds - cumin? zeera? - in the daal. Is that separate? i can’t find it in the spices cabinet… is it called cumin seeds ? Or is it zeera? i dunno where it is. When do i put that? With the paani and the daal from the very beginning?
NO ONE LAUGH. Please. ![]()
zeera is cumin seeds :halo:…
and regarding daal to water ratio…a general thing is to put double the amout of daal…for examply for 2 cups daal…4 cup water…i guess if u want patli daal then u could put more water…
now can i laugh plz :halo:?
geez ive been wondering for a while as well, and was too embarassed to ask :p
what are those black things? did you find out? dont they put it in the tarka?
Soak Channa daal in water for an hour.
Uhmm i use always desi ghee if i make daal
I put litte bit onion phir sara masala
daal diti hoon.
Then i mix everything then i put the daal in
the cooker and mix again put little bit
water or phir presure cooker band karte hoon
And let it cook about 10 15 min.
haydrabadi khatti daal,,yumm
1 cup masoor (pink)daal
1 tsp salt
1.1/2 tsp lal mirchi
half a tsp haldi
3-4 green pepper(choti wali)
1cup imli ka raas
masoor ko salt,red chiili, haldi kai saat 1 1/2 cup pani mai dal ker boil kernay rakh dayin..jub daal boil hojaye tou uus ko mash ker layin..phir uss mai amlil ka raas dal dayin aur saat plain water half cup..ager ziada khatti banani hai tou thora sa aur rass dal dayin..green peper dalayin aur halki annch)low heat) per rakh dayin takay imli cook hojaye..koee 20 min cook honay kai bad choola baand ker dayin,
tarkaa
half very small onion,,cut very nicely..2-2 karii leaves
half tsp cumin seed
oil garam karayin us mai onion dalain,saat cumin aur kari pataa dal dayin..jub brown honay lagay tou foran say daal mai daal ker pan ko cover ker dayin,,aur white rice kai saat khayain..
saat mai achar aur papar ban layin ya shami kabab..
Daal again
Can someone please help me out. i tried it before and it didn’t work out. i have to make daal and chawal in the next hour or two. Preferably for two people.
It’s red-coloured daal. Please give me exact measurements and step-by-step instructions or i’m not gonna get it ![]()
Is one cup daal with two cups water enough for two people? Daal ko pehlay si hi daal doon in the water, and then start boiling? How long after boiling does the daal become cooked?
Rice - same deal. What’s the ratio, please give me exact measurements because it totally didn’t work out last time :o
embarassed Shukriya. ![]()
Soak daal in hot tap water for 30 minutes.
Heat 4 tablespoons oil
fry one small onion to golden brown
add garlic / ginger
immediately add two small tomatoes
add spices to taste
bhoonify for three minutes or until oil separates
add daal and 1.5 times water
cover and cook for 20 minutes on medium heat
done.
All I know is that one cup of daal is too much for 2 ppl. Try half cup if u dont want left overs.
For rice soak about 1 glass for 20 mins. boil a pot full of water. Add level tbsp of salt. Add rice to boiling water and pour in some vinegar. Boil fo exactly 10 minutes and drain. Shhould be fine. Works if u have a gas cooking range. Electric is a pain.
Daal ki quantity tu batai nahi ![]()
She will be real confused.
I think 1 cup will be more then enogh for two ppl.
Baqi Rcipe A1 hai :k:
i did say 1.5 times the cup. a cup could be anything.
How much daal you need to make for two people actually depends on how you like your daal~chawal.
I like daal & chawal in equal proportions, i.e. not going overboard like I would if making a gumbo but I don't sprinkle daal onto my chawal either, like my family likes to do. So, I have always made one tea cup of Daal for two people. And by tea cup I mean english tea cups, not American coffee mugs.
Also, dont forget to cut some onion and tomatoe salaad on the side. Some achaar would be nice too.
OK quickly one more suggestion as I have to run since irem aapi is here and she is gonna start the qainchi anytime.
Go get a baingun (eggplant)
cut it in small round pieces like cookies and fry them
baste some dahi , black pepper and salt
add the fried baingun on dahi
simple and delcious. It is afghani dish.
have fun,
bye
bye aapi. ![]()