cyclone in karachi - terrible natural calamity

i hope everyone of my buddies are fine. how is every one’s doing?

Re: cyclone in karachi - terrible natural calamity

when did this happen? i'm trying to call my in-laws but mobile says it's off...

major parts of the city were out of power. The phone may not be charged

Karachi has been pounded really badly over the past week. I'm surprised nobody really discussed it here. All those innocent people died, I think there count was up to 250 due to falling billboards, cable wires falling, etc. First the heat wave and now this. :( Allah khair karay.

It was supposed to hit karachi around 3-4 pm EST yesterday.

Alhamdolillah it did not hit Karachi but still affected the Ormara and Pasni areas...

Cyclone kills 10, strands hundreds in Pakistan
(Reuters) - Khaleej times Report

26 June 2007

KARACHI - A cyclone hit the coast of Pakistan on Tuesday killing several people, cutting roads and st r a n d ing hundreds, but it spared the country’s biggest city days after about 230 people were killed there in a storm.
Authorities in Pakistan and neighbouring India have evacuated thousands of people from low-lying areas after weekend storms and flooding killed nearly 400 people across the South Asian region.
Tropical cyclone Yemyin, packing winds of up to 80 miles per hour (130 kph) roared over the Arabian Sea to the south of Karachi and hit the thinly populated coast of Baluchistan province at about 11 a.m. (0600 GMT).
The storm hit land between Ormara, 250 km (150 miles) west of Karachi, and Pasni, 400 km west of the port city of 12 million people -- Pakistan’s biggest city -- where about 230 were killed AT the weekend, many by wind that brought down slum houses.
Cyclone Yemyin dumped torrential rain but weakened rapidly as it moved inland, said chief meteorologist Qamar-uz-Zaman Chaudhry.
Officials in Baluchistan province said thousands of people had been evacuated from low-lying areas, including from near a dam where the water level had risen dangerously. Communications with the worst-affected area was difficult, they said.
At least 10 people, including four children, had been killed on Monday and Tuesday, said provincial government spokesman Raziq Bugti. Some houses and crops were also damaged, he said.
The storm had also washed away several bridges and some sections of a highway along the coast, officials said.
‘About 400 people are stranded on the highway and we’re trying our best to airlift some relief goods and food to them. At this point, there’s no other way to reach them,’ said provincial official Syed Waqar Ali Asad.
Officials said some Hindu pilgrims visiting a temple had also been stranded by the weather but they were safe.
A navy spokesman said two fishing boats had been sunk but it was not known how many people were on board. Nineteen fishermen from two other boats had been rescued, while a rescue ship had been sent to help a merchant ship and a tug with it, he said.
No incidents in Karachi

Police at the newly opened port of Gwadar, west of the point where the storm made landfall, said some residents had evacuated their homes on Monday night but most later returned.
‘Light rain is falling but I have received no reports of any loss of life in my area,’ said police chief Asim Khan.
Heavy rain fell in Karachi and traffic was thin as many people stayed at home. But provincial officials and emergency services said there had been no major incidents.
The weather over southern Pakistan should largely clear over Tuesday night and fishermen should be able to head back to sea on Wednesday, the Meteorological Department said.
In neighbouring India, authorities have been evacuating tens of thousands threatened by flooding as the toll from havoc wrecked by the arrival of the rainy season topped 150.
Thousands of villages have been left without basic services in India’s worst-hit southern state, Andhra Pradesh.
Indian weather officials forecast heavy rain on both west and east coasts, with a storm in the Bay of Bengal due to hit Andhra Pradesh by Wednesday.
Hundreds are killed each year, and hundreds of thousands are forced from their homes, in the South Asian rainy season. Though deadly, the rain is vital for agriculture and national economies.
In 1965, a cyclone hit Karachi, killing 10,000 people.

I don't know what's up with the weather these days. Crazy things all over this world in the past decade.

may Allah help all the people over there...n bless the souls of people who died in this disaster...aamin...

**i was watching “Mere Mutabiq” by Dr Shahid Masood n he said its only Pakistani weather ppl who forcasted this cyclone :bummer:, no one else in the world knows about it (acc to him this rain wasnt enuf dat govt come up wid another striking news…“bigli to logoon ko mil nahi rahi, albata bigli rooz gir zaroor rahi hai”, said by Dr, SM) **

Dr Shahid Masood needs to get his head examined. kameena aadmi is so full of shyt its not even funny.

Masood trying score points and putting people’s lives in danger, rather than broadcasting the warning with the seriousness it deserved :mad:

:grumpy: can u prove ur wordz? (n sir do u know WAT RESPECT ACTUALLY meanz)

after reading ur post i think U NEED A SERIOUS CheKUp :mad: :mad: :mad:

ya rite…ppl who dont even have electricity gonna have their lives in danger cuz of his wordz. :hoonh:

Forget it yaar, the kids now a days are naive to understand your point.

I dont need to prove my words, go do a search and see what different publications had on a potential cyclone, who do you think gave the cyclone a name?

secondly, was his action something that should be respected? either he knew what he was saying was not true..i.e. he lied and thus made the situation seem less dangerous than it was, which was extremely irresonsible.

or

he did not know what he was talking about, and did not bother to do his research, and thus went on the air making statements that he did not have enough knowledge about, which again is extremely irresponsible.

You expect me to respect THAT?

yeah I need a checkup. they need to figure out why I still give a damn.

Tell me what did you understand from their comment. I think their comment were justified.

first i m not pointing on the vilidity of Cyclone. its was there n it did (well more done by our ppl)
wat ever u called him its ur faith. but it will b fair if u also judge ur self. u said he lied as if u never lied (whereas, we all know jhoot borayoon ke jar (root) hai)…so do tell me u THINK u r an angel :D)
n bak to ur concern go n again have a deep look to my post, wat i said n wat ur affliated publication says. :omg: i caught his program on late night saturday when no name had been allotted. whereas even if u still go to ur desired authentic sources, all of them quoting pakistani Meteorological officials.
he (SM) wanted to raise where the hell super power techno toys are now dat non of tehm forcasted it? (do they want us to die ot wat)
i have no idea wat he lied atleast i didnt see any alram told by nyother other Meteorologists in teh world.
(n sorry i can believe everything in pakistan except Mausam ka haal…meray sir pay barish horahi hoti hai n they say agg mausam bhut garam hai…sara din surag hai…bla bla bla)

n he didnt lie…increase ur apporach it was sat…n he said wat he had info of. even someone over here wrote his/her concern n dat know one discussed it yet (not even u) n for KHI ppl…give me a break they dont even have electricity how teh hell they gonna get his word.

(i dont wana comment more since i got xamz n paper, whereas past chaotic things done by different govt may also reveal their several hidden agendaz. but i think u r educated enuf…“aqalmand k leya isara he kafi hota hai”)

lol , no u tell me wat u fathom from ma post? :hoonh: …in my reply objected his tone…sure u wana teach this good stuff (done by Mr farudia) to (urz) Kidz.
its just show me where u ppls education is going :bummer:
n stop grouping, let him face this KID alone :smiley:

so what are you pointing out?
btw the cyclone was covered by many other places they had been tracking 03B for days.

I dont go on national TV and claim something that is not true. I am not a journalist who claims to bring ‘truth’ to the masses.

my affiliated publication? I dont have any affiliated publications, unless someone died somewhere and left me a publishing empire.

search under tropical storm 03B. everyone from NASA to weather channel to european authorities were covering it.

He (the moron shahif masood) did not know what the hell he was talking about, as I have stated already, the tropical storm 03b had ben covered for days and all sorts of reports where there on what the path is, what can happen etc etc.

Just because you did not see any other meterologist in the world cover it does not mean it was not covered.

yes, but with all due respect, who cares what you, or I think. But whe someone is going to get in frot of TV cameras and claims to be a journalist and either does a piss poor job of researcing the topic at hand, or distorts the truth to attack the govt, then that is intellectual and journalistic dishonesty or lack of aptitude.

As I have stated several times already, there were plenty of groups covering the tropical storm and its patha nd possibilities of how dangerous it can be.
as far as karachi people go, most of my nanhiyal is in Karachi, and so are my parents and everyone was watching news..one word…generators. the excuse that oh they had no power so no matter what he says does not impact anyone is ridiculous at best.

the day Pakistan govt announces that they have the ability to control the weather and can make cyclones hit somewhere would be a day I will send mithai to everyone. earthquake warnigs were also a hidden agenda in your view? like the govt or hate the govt, but when teh govt says ..guys we have a cyclone headed our way…and some two bit thug like shahid masood gets on Tv and conjures up a conspiracy theory..conveniently ignoring everything that global watch groups are saying..there is a problem.

so lets summarize the facts

1)there was plenty of reporting on the tropical storm and the it may hit Pakistan before shahid masood opened his mouth
2)when he concocted his conspiracy theory,

2a)either he did not know all the reporting that was being sone on it, which makes him incompetent as a journalist as he did not have his facts right,
or
2b)he knew everything that was eing reported but conveniently ignored it to score a cheap point which makes him a crook

That your sentiments are clouding your judgement. :smiley:

Harsh comments of the public figures are bound to bring forth harsh responses.

Speaking truth maybe somebody else’s problem not mine.

Don’t worry kiddo there is no grouping as such, if you notice he hasn’t even acknowledged that remark. If you want to call same kind of thinking “grouping” then thats your right. :hoonh:

BTW I am not in challenge challenge game. Do not think that every time somebody is writing on GS it is done for challenge. GS is a place for exchange of ideas, No More No Less. :snooty:

zobi darling you are so out of it this time. me thinks u misunderstood fraudia.