Custard

When you are making custard how do you know it’s thick enough and you can stop cooking it? Obviously it gets thicker after chilled but while cooking at what point do you stop? Thankyou.

Re: Custard

Dip a spoon in to it. Once the spoon coats with the custard, run your finger along the centre of it and if the line doesn't fill up with the custard from the sides it should be thick enough.

what are you making...?!?!?

sorry i am more interested in this aspect of custard rather than what you just asked...!

thats my dilemma.. its never thick enough :frowning:

I love custard and I can’t make it right :crying:

Amor, great tip thanks. Will try that.

Chips, just plain custard, will add some graham crackers (new experiment since have no cake) and fruit, don’t know if that qulifies as calling it trifle. :smiley:

GTG, knew you’d reply here but for some reason I thought you had already mastered the art of making custard. :konfused:

oh I wish, not yet.. I just dun make it anymore :crying:

I have mastered the jello though :blush:

Yeah that must have been really tough.

muhahahahha…sorry GtG…I just had to…:smiley:

Oh well I almost always make the custard too thick or burn it..the good thing is that I just dont like it that much so I dont make it that frequently…

Graham crackers sound good with custard…

but nothing sounds more good than carrot cake which I have today…:smiley:

hahahahahaha…I so needed a laugh. lol!

lol..what an achievement :hehe:

oh god :frowning:

did you girls ever realize that followng the instruction on jello box doesn’t give you a nice and firm jello.. you have to use LESS water.. I learned it the hard way!

Also that don’t put your jello bowl on the top of yogurt container because it tilts giving you an uneven jello!

please don’t tell me you all had it right the first time you made it :mad:

GTG, i also learned the hard way..lol

yep use less water…aur instruction box par ziada water hai tu jelly sweet nahi bunti.

oh btw, i don’t make good custard always wwatery…

so u r not the only one :hugz:

How did a yogurt container get into THIS picture? :smiley:

But yeah I’ve added more water and ended up with ruined jello a few times too, so you are not the only one. :kiss:

and how did this custard thread turn into a jello thread…!!!..:hmmm:

seee I knew once I admitted it, rest of you will come forward too :D

chipsy.. custard and jello go together.. hence the connection :p

That's an interesting tip. I'll try it next time I get some ready made custard from super market :D

I just take a soup spoon full of custard and drop the custard . if it falls in a medium consistancy , straight line , I know its cooked enough. If its too watery , i cook it for a bit long … :hmmm:

PS..its not rocket science , just needs an eye for detail :snooty:

please koi easy wali trick bataein :p

bataya bi :smilestar:

Just fill a deep spoon with custard and drop it in the pan, if its too liquidy , then cook it abit more , but if you think its dropping like liquid chocolate , then its fine and ready ..

ouch CB

ok ok i will try this trick as i have tried other ones which never work for me :frowning:

Thanks CB :hugz: