current islamic value of haq meher

Hello..

I want to know what is the current value of haq meher in pounds or roupees?

Is it still 5000rps?

How does it work islamically? I dobt want to involve gold or property in my nikkah namma..

Please advise :slight_smile:

Re: current islamic value of haq meher

There is no Islamic haq Meher fixed price. Where are you getting the rs. 5000 from? It's usually according to what the bride and groom or their families decide upon mutually. As a guideline the groom's income may help set the haq Meher.

when one of my sister got maried, we put £30 as haq meher...

and recently in a wedding in pakistan , my dad cousin daughter...they put 5000rps..

since these are the only 2 haq maher amount i personally witnessed of, i thought it might be an islamic amount that varies each year just like the zakkat value on gold?

if i do according to the hsband salary, is it a month worth ... or is it really up to our understanding?

current islamic value of haq meher

I know everyone has their own opinion about haq mehr, but this is an Islamic right given to us women by Allah! It is not a symbolic amount put in our nikkah nama just for the sake of having a number there. No one goes into a marriage wanting it to fail, but setting an appropriate amount of haq mehr is not you admitting that your marriage will fail. It is you securing yourself in the future IF something should happen. Especially in this day and age, no one can be too careful.

It's sad to say, but our culture has already stripped us of so many rights that Islam has given us, please don't fall into this trap of taking Rs5000 as haq mehr. If Allah forbid something happens down the line, what are you going to do with Rs5000? You can barely buy one meal for that much now! Yes, women should be independent and have an education to fall back on, but that's not a luxury everyone has. Set an appropriate amount for your haq mehr. Something you think will help you out and keep you stable for at least a few months if something should happen. This amount is up to you, and remember, it can be differed. You don't have to take it at the signing of the nikkah, you can ask for it at any time throughout your marriage.

right, i wasnt aware of the bold...

being indepedant professional girl, i am not so comfortable with the idea of taking money from a person i would no longer want to be assiociated with (in case of divorce, god forbid)..that is why i wanted to know i there was a set bare minimum just for religion rule and regulation's sake.

from some research that I did for my own haq mehr issue this month (don't have links for sources on hand but can look those up for you if you need them)

the haq mehr is an obligatory gift from the man to the woman. it is intended to give her some security, or something of her own. however, it should also be something the man can comfortably give.

there's two types of haq mehr - mu'ajjal (prompt) and muw'ajjal (deferred). Mu'ajjal or prompt haq mehr is what is paid right there and then at the time of the nikkah. Muw'ajjal or deferred is what is paid later at a future date and time. your mehr may consist of one or the other or be a combination of both.

a common practice I've seen here is to set the deferred portion as very high (in the order of lakhs) with an indeterminate time of payment on the assumption k the woman will never actually claim it. the intention is to provide a disincentive to the man against divorcing the woman. if he divorces her, he has to fulfill the leftover mehr requirement before he can go ahead with it and this can serve as a deterrent in some cases. otherwise, the woman will excuse it or just not ask for it. however, in my reading I found that this practice is actually invalid since even for the deferred mehr, you're supposed to ascertain a definite and fixed time for its payment when the mehr is being agreed to. you can't just leave it open to come into play only if and when a divorce situation arises.

when it came to my husband and me, we realized you can't actually give 'financial security' to the woman unless you're willing to talk tens of lakhs. he has very little savings at the moment and is very averse to living in debt, especially to his wife. i know and respect his values very much and am also acutely aware of the financial challenges up ahead for us, so he happily gave and i happily received 50,000 rupees as haq mehr paid 100% upfront. there is room in the nikkah to add clauses and my family encouraged me to use those to impose fines should he contract another marriage, divorce me, cheat on me etc. the mr. and i agreed however that if things ever got that bad, we'd want as quick and clean a break from each other as possible and the last thing we'd want is to prolong it by fighting over money.

hope this helps!

The religious ruling is that it is your right. Why would you dismiss a God given right? Moreover, if you were living abroad while divorcing, alimony and child support would both be things you would likely go to the courts over, so why those and not claiming your Haq Meher? Saimab33 has said it the best. Set a reasonable amount based on your husband's income and perhaps on your cost of living for three months. You can choose to defer it but don't waive your right entirely.

My FIL had suggested my husband's one month salary , but we settled on a much lower amount later.

Mine was £32 and SIL in Pak was 5000 rupees, so ParisbyNight there must be some significance of these amounts in Islam.

£32? Are you kidding? What would you do with that?

One month's salary sounds a lot more reasonable. My parents and I set mine at half a year's salary. I haven't asked for a penny, because I know he can't afford it right now, and I don't need it. Once we are comfortable and old (inshAllah) I'll do what my mum did and buy a diamond ring with it :D

But seriously - one thing I have seen a lot of GS but don't understand, is how girls can spend lakhs and lakhs on their bridal dress, and then even more money on each formal suit to wear afterwards, but ask for only a measly £32 in haq mehr, which is their God-given right!!

There is a serious need to get priorities in order in Pakistani culture!

It's ridiculous, isn't it..

Seems as though the things which people will see are what the money 'should' be spent on.. expensive dress, flash rental cars etc.

I've heard some also complain that more than £500 is too high yet they'll happily spend hundreds or thousands on other things..

Something else which really bugs me is brides not being able to visit abroad before they move permanently because it's 'too expensive' or 'there's no need'.. No need to see even once the place where you'll be spending the rest of your life?? Or the price of the ticket is somehow 'too much' but spending ten or even a hundred times that on the wedding parties is somehow ok?

Shows how much importance is placed on our actual peace of mind and well-being.. in some cases..

Very interesting. Thanks for the information provided by each of you :)

I will take this on board :)

Its their God given right but if they are happy with whatever amount then so what? why being offended for them? They are happy, everyone else need to mind themselves.

People think that 32 is some magic number and must have a shara'ee value. Back in the days, molvies used to recommend a mehr of 32 rupees and fifty paisa. That was the amount back then which would be just under the value of 7.5 tola of gold, ownership of which would make you Sahib e Nisab, and giving zakat would become obligatory on you. Ulema would want to leave the girl without the burden of giving zakat hence used to suggest that amount.

Now using that figure is humiliating girls.