Culture versus Religion in Afghan Culture

In the previous thread regarding mehndis and whether they are a cultural practice or a religious one, someone brought up the issue of culture versus religion in the Pakistani culture. Interestingly, this issue is also a common one in Afghan culture, particularly the conflict between religion and Pashtunwali. I wanted to give a bit of background on the concept of Pashtunwali and explain the conflicts that often arise between this code of ethics and Islamic principles.

Pashtunwali is an unwritten code of ethics among Pashtun tribes which governs traditional Pashtun culture. This predates Islam and is still widely practiced, particularly in the tribal non-urbanised areas in the countryside. Pashtunwali roughly translates as “way of the Pashtuns” and is now practiced alongside Islam in Afghanistan. Many of the concepts in Pashtunwali are in agreement with Islamic principles. An example is the concept of isteqamat, which translates to “trust in God” and holds that there is only one God (referred to as either Allah or Khuda in Pashto) and that one should place one’s trust in God and God’s will.

However, there are also aspects of Pashtunwali that are in direct conflict with Islamic principle. An example of this is the issue of women’s inheritance. While Islamic principle states that women are entitled to the right of inheritance, Pashtunwali only requires that inheritance be divided among sons (as it is assumed that women will be looked after by their husbands or sons, making inheritance unnecessary). Making the inheritance issue more complicated is the fact that walwar (bride price) is often viewed as a woman’s inheritance, despite the fact that this is not given directly to the woman.

Other aspects of Pashtunwali include:
· Melmastiya – This translates to “hospitality,” although this concept exceeds what is usually considered hospitality. Melmastiya requires that any person who is a guest be afforded the host’s protection and that while in the care of the host, the guest not be harmed or surrendered to an enemy. All guests, regardless of who the person is or their relationship to the host, must be offered hospitality and protection without the expectation of payment or favour in return. This is often a source of contention between Pashtun tribes and the authorities as all guests must be (and usually are) offered protection, even if they are running from or wanted by the law.
· Nanawatay – I’m not quite sure how to translate this as there is no English word to describe this concept. The closest word that I can think of is “asylum.” This is closely related to melmastiya and requires that protection be extended to any person who requests protection against his enemies. This concept must be followed even if protection is sought among the person’s enemy. In the event that asylum is sought from an enemy, the person seeking asylum must humble himself, almost to the point of self-humiliation, in some way. The act of humbling oneself is supposed to elicit a gesture of forgiveness and leniency from the enemy. Once nanawatay is granted, the person to whom it is granted to must be protected at all costs.
· Tura – The literal translation of this word is “sword” but it is actually understood to mean “courage” or “bravery” and requires that one defend one’s property, family and women from any threat. This concept also extends to defending the weak as tura also requires that one answer a plea for help even if it involves risking one’s own life.
· Badal – This translates to “justice” but is more often understood as vengeance or revenge for an injury or insult. Badal holds that in order to maintain one’s honor, one must seek revenge for wrongdoings against one’s person, family or property. However, the actions taken in revenge must not exceed the original insult. This concept is quite troublesome as it often leads to blood feuds that can last for generations and often has negative repercussions, such as the practice of “swara,” which is the “gifting” of women as payment to settle disputes.
· ***Nang ***– This translates to “honor” and holds that one must always ensure one’s honor, and uphold the honor of one’s family, while adhering to all other cultural and religious requirements.
· Tor – I can’t think of an English word for this but this specifically refers to the honor of women. This is taken rather seriously and even the slightest perceived offense against a woman is viewed as a serious and intolerable offense. An example of this is staring at women. To stare at a woman, even in photograph, is viewed as extremely inappropriate and is viewed as a grave offense to the woman. This most often becomes an issue at engagements, weddings or other social gatherings.
· Namus – This concept requires that one defend the honour of women at all costs and protect them from any threat, physical or otherwise.

Re: Culture versus Religion in Afghan Culture

:eek:

No concept of tharakpan in Pashtunwali…

Interesting read :k:

You said that Pashtunwali was practiced even before Islam and concept of Istaqamat means trust in ONE God. So, were Pashtuns mouthiest even before Islam? As far as I know, the area was Buddhist majority and Buddhism was practiced in different styles in different regions.

Same is the case with other aread where Jahez (dowry) is considered female’s due course, though sometimes beneficiary of the dowry is husband and in-laws.

This is very much similar to concept of ‘Saam / refuge’ popular in Sindh especially tribes. There is this caste in Sindhi Otho / Odho (might have heard Ateeqa Odho) who earned this name after giving refuge to certain tribes during war. The term Odho is a variation of ORho (like chadar ORho) and used as one who protected someone like chadar protects.

Moreover, these concepts were there in Arab and the Prophet and the Muslims benefited from these customs at different times.

Is there only one word for sword in Afghan? The tribal culture of Afghan is mirror to tribal culture of Arab to great extent and I heard Arabs got hundreds names of sword.

Counterpart of ‘Vani’ practiced in Southern Punjab, Balochistan and some parts of Sindh.

As there is concept of Dharam Bharsht in religion , there might be some actions which bharsht ones nang. Any examples of such acts in Afghan culture? In some areas of Punjab and Sindh, marriages of daughters outside family/biradri is considered against nanag.

Is it followed on both sides. As most of the times, males (in all cultures) reserve this for ladies of their own family and play differently when it comes to ladies of some other family.

Does Namoos only refer to honour of women. Concept of namoos is extended to land (agricultural or other kinds) and loosing it considered as something negative. I remeber my Dada saying ‘mard ghar bechte nahin, ghar banate aur baRhate hain’. This was when my tayaa intended to sale his portion to someone outside family. There was this ‘Nang Namoos fund’ maintained (still maintained) in our family, where ny father and his brothers contribute money each moth to meet expenses in giving gifts, etc in biradri marriages and sending food when there is a death in neighbor/ biradri. It is considered against namoos not return amount given by someone in our family marriages, when its their turn.

aap ka to qatal ho jana hai :cb: tum ne amara mehmaan maara, am tumhara mehmaan maare ga

As far as I know and from what I’ve read, a variety of religions were practiced by the Pashtun tribes prior to the arrival Islam and this varied from tribe to tribe. These religions were primarily monotheistic, with the exception of Buddhism, which from my understanding is neither monotheistic nor polytheistic. Buddhism was commonly practiced in the region prior to the arrival of Islam and loads of artifacts have been found which confirm this.

Buddhist relics have been found as recently as 2010 (in Logar I believe). The most well known evidence of Buddhism in the region was the two Buddhist statues in Bamiyan. These were carved into the side of a cliff in the Bamiyan Valley and depicted a standing Buddha. Unfortunately, these were destroyed by the Taliban in 2001 after declaring that they were “idols” and “un-Islamic.” (Interesting how the Taliban had the time to condemn two harmless statues, but never found the time to condemn many of the other blatantly un-Islamic practices in the region.) In addition to Buddhism, Zoroastrianism was also practiced in the region. Interestingly, the Zoroastrian influence, as well as Persian influence, of this is evident in certain practices still followed today, such as the burning of espand to cure and ward off the evil eye.

No, that isn’t the only word for sword. There are quite a few different words for sword in Pashto.

The concept of tor is definitely followed by both sides and applies to ALL women but, naturally, people tend to be more mindful of women in their own families. Interestingly, this aspect of Pashtunwali still influences Afghan people living abroad as people are still quite sensitive about this, particularly in regards to photographs. A source of drama in our community stems from the issue of taking pictures or video at events and then posting these online. Drama often ensues when someone takes photographs at some event and then proceeds to post them on their facebook. The issue is usually that there was another person(s) in the picture in addition to poster himself and said person(s) didn’t want their picture posted online or a brother/cousin/relative of the poster or one of the other people in the picture saw the pictures and has a problem with it. Surprise, surprise, this is most often an issue with women.

Oddly enough, a friend of mine recently had an issue with this when a guest at her mehndi posted some pictures she took of herself and a couple of friends on her facebook. The brother of one of the girls in the picture came across the pictures and had a problem with it despite the fact that there was nothing inappropriate in the pictures and the pictures simply showed the girls posing with the bride and each other at the mehndi. Apparently, the girl’s brother expected my friend to rectify the situation as it was her mehndi and her guest who had posted the photographs. Shakes my head. Seriously, do people not have more pressing concerns in life? :nahi:

While I’m not keen on posting one’s entire life on facebook and think that one should be cautious with what one choose to post online, I find it beyond irritating that people take this so seriously as if there were not more serious issues in the world (and in our own community) to worry about.

Interesting read, think you're the first Afghan I have seen on GS!

You seen her already? I seen no guppan :(

That's a lovely post Mezhgan. Thanks for sharing and writing detailed reply.

I'm quite mystified and deeply fascinated by Afridian Tribal culture (I'm sure it's not so vastly different from non Talibani Afghan culture), the conservative nature of their traditions, family norms and lifestyle should technically care me on paper, but I absolutely love those people. I have immense respect for them, no matter where I am in life, I'd always say that Afridi men and women are some of the most friendly, loyal and powerful people I've met in my life. I'd imagine Afghans to not be any different.

Afghanistan has other cultures too. I think equating pashtun with afghan is a bit misdirected.Sure they are the majority. But there are other ethnicities too, tajiks, uzbeks etc.

^Yes, there are other ethnicities as well. However, I wrote this post specifically in regards to Pashtunwali, which is followed almost exclusively by Pashtuns, hence the emphasis. Perhaps, I should have titled the thread differently. :smack: