Crushes

So yeah, when your kids start growing up, they talk about crushes and as long as they are crushes on the Biebers and the Big Time Rush dudes it’s alright. The minute real humans get involved your parenting emotion suddenly flares up…lemme tell you that.

Anyhoo, my kidos are still chota but aware of this term so my antennas are fine tuned and I’m looking out for potential giggliness.

This is reality parents, whether you’re here or back in the home country, this is happening. I feel as parents we need to be buddies with our children so when they share their lives with us, we can offer them valuable advice and guide them on the right path. I don’t want to be the type of mom who stops my kid from talking to boys in school because if I do, I know she will become a rebel. She needs to learn how to handle situations, not run from them. Also, she needs to understand her limits.

What say you all?

Re: Crushes

I never shared my crushes with my parents.

That’s because you’re a boy :snooty:

sharing crushes with parents?

never did that :D well my mom could guess it sometimes and id admit it

uhhhh...yea. no.

ao beta batao aj kon acha laga.

well. it's not that bad.

lol!

No I don’t mean sharing who you have a crush on and all that :smack:. I mean being open enough to receive chittars from parents :smiley:

I agree with your last few lines.

I think its the way parents approach in terms of their strictness that matters. E.g. I have seen people with overbearing parents, those kids despite the sermons turned out to be huge rebels. Whereas other parents who ''guided'' their kids along, i.e. who did not have to sit with their children and teach them the morals abcdefgh but instead told them whats right and wrong every now and then or ''nudged'' them in the right direction, their children turned out to be the ones who knew what the limits were.

Lectures, like too much of everything or in excess do more damage then good and are very counter productive

How can I like my own post?

There, I liked it for you :emmy:

ehsaan mand hoon mai bohat :snooty:

:yawn: You can never be like ehsan bhai. Never.

yes, I aim higher :smiley:

When my older son started his high school , I told him " Son you are starting high school , you will have girls in your class , I do not mind if you have girls as friends , but I would not tolerate a girlfriend. Your full concentration should be on your studies till you are done with your college."
He thanked me to spell it out for him and for telling him his limits. He did not break my trust. He is good kid mashallah , he will be going to one of the top 10 universities of USA this fall. Inshallah. He already got registered.

I do not know how I will handle it for my daughter. I see the desi girls around me and see that they know their limits and stay away from scandals and rumor. Double standards , yes. This is the world we live in and this is the culture we have around us , so how can we go against the norms of the culture we need to relate to ? May Allah keep our sons and daughters safe and free from all evils of society. Ameen.

congrats, i do not see what him going to xyz university and getting registered has to do with crushes, but congratulations.

girls are the same way, they are normal human beings. you can deal with her the same way.