cruise...

Has anybody here ever been on a cruise? Where did you? How was ship experience…

Re: cruise...

no, i haven't been on a cruise and i am NOT even interested because i know i'll be hydrophobic and claustrophobic. i've fear of being in the vast ocean. sometimes, i fear flying over Atlantic. the reason being what if we crash in the middle of the ocean and sharks/piranhas feast on me! :(

if i ever take a cruise, i'll take it in the Bahamas! :)

I've cruised on Carnival from Galveston to and also we took a 4 day/3 night cruise from Florida to the Bahamas on Disney Cruise Line. It was by far our best family vacation ever! Disney Cruise ships are very opulent, it's like a 5 star hotel on water! They are definitely geared towards families, so if you have young kids, I highly recommend it. The staterooms on a Disney cruise ship are about 30-40% larger than industry standards, each with two bathrooms. Believe me, it makes a huge difference. Also, the very best part about cruising with Disney is that all their Carribean iteniries stop at Castaway Cay, which is their private island. This place is nothing short of amazing!

That being said, now that my kids are older, we're thinking about taking another cruise on Royal Carribean, in either the Allure of the Seas or Oasis
of the Seas. These two ships are said to jaw dropping! Let me know if you have any other specific questions!

Re: cruise…

I want to go on cruise, safari, Latin America, so many places! :mudhosh:

I am also dying to do a cruise of Egypt/Middle East/India/Turkey

Regent Seven Seas Cruises=

Once my namoonay go off to college, inshallah!

I don’t feel too safe flying over the ocean either but I don’t know why I fancy the ship so much. I think it’s a different experience that excites me.

But since you mentioned fear I’ll tell you after watching this video I was kind of scared too but then I talked myself out of it…Cruise Ship in Rough Seas - YouTube

Regent Seven Seas Cruises: I’ve actually looked up these cruises too as ones that take you in the other direction to Egypt, and I like them because they go around the Middle East and India. I really hope I get to go one day! I’ve heard that the carnival cruise usually ends up hosting college kids more than any other crowd and they just party on the ship and don’t let you sleep at night, I don’t know how true this is my ex-colleague told me this. The Royal Caribbean sounds better to me, and no I don’t have any kids (I’m not married) so the The Disney Cruise will have to wait. You are lucky you have experienced a cruise though.

@khattichic how was the food, I also heard its all you can eat. How did you like the food…

yeah, plz lemme know how it was.

i once crossed part of Atlantic when i sailed from North Sydney in Nova Scotia to Port Aux Bosques in New Foundland [Canada]…it was an overnight sailing and i remember taking breakfast in on board restaurant and i was sitting next to huge panoramic windows. the seagulls saw my and other diner’s food thru the windows and they hovered around. i was surprised to see those seagulls in the middle of the ocean and wondered how they got there. i had a roomette on the port side of the ship. i loved sailing for about 3 hours in sunlight. i was scared but enjoyed! :slight_smile: that was my ONLY sailing!

When we went on the Carnival Cruise Line, the food was...meh. Typical gora buffet style, we had no problem finding vegetarian/seafood options, but it was just okay.

On the Disney Cruise, the food was phenomenal! Even the vegetarian & seafood options were amazing, and the casual eateries did not have that blah, buffet feel. There was alot of variety.

The head burser of the ship was an Indian Muslim guy, and after our second night, he came to our table and said "Aap ke liye may kuch aur laon?" And we were like, sure, why not? He came back with daal mahkni, chaanwal and qorma made from Zabiha lamb from New Zealand!! It was awesome!!!! It's not something that we saw anyone else eating, and it was so nice of him to do something special for us!

So from my experience, the nicer, more upscale cruise lines have good food. A lot of them are moving to different restaraunt type concepts that you can rotate through out. They will also have 1 or 2 upscale restaraunts that are seperate, require a reservation and have a $20 upcharge. These are usually 5 star steakhouses or upscale Italian.

Thank you for sharing details, but likewise I didn't hear any good reviews with carnival either, and I like you only eat vegetarian and seafood if go out... If I go during this upcoming year, and I'm still posting here, I will pm you for consultation. And that sounds so thoughtful of him providing you your own desi dinner...

I went for a dinner on cruise in Dubai creek if tht counts :rolleyes:

^OMG one of my friends recently posted pics from her honemoon Dubai trip on facebook and their was a pic of her having dinner on a cruise,it looked so romantic!! &Why not, lets make it count....:)

no I havent, but its in my future list :blush:

no doubt let me search a pic :p

You are so lucky! How was your experience? and who was your dinner date?

it was good, but food gets cold :( first time i was invited there for y wedding dinner thn went with huby thn attended a bday party there n thn wth my bro n bhabi

You live in Dubai? I've been to Dubai but I didn't know about this place, if I go back where do I tell my taxi driver to take me (name it is known by/name of restuarant)...what kind of food do they serve (which cuisine)?

I've been on day cruises whilst I was in Portugal and Spain.

I'm assuming you're referring to week long? I'd love to go on a world cruise. Ahh..

Dhow Cruise Dubai

this is the one I’ve done

@CEO1--yeah I was referring to the week long cruises originally but then develish exposed me to the idea of dinner on a boat....how were the day cruises?

@khattichic--mashAllah you are extremely priveleged to have so many exotic travel experiences. I checked it out on the website, sounds good! and the desert safari has also attracted my attention.