Crime in Karachi.. can anything be done!

Re: Crime in Karachi.. can anything be done!

Sindhis definitely killed plenty of Urdu speaking citizens and there's no doubt about it.

All I remember while residing in Karachi is that numerous people were killed day in and day out. Most of them were innocent and many others were the workers of MQM. I'm not so concerned about MQM workers, but for the innocent killed who had absolutely nothing to do with MQM or any other party.

Btw... given that we have so many claiming that the trouble in Karachi was mainly during the era of MQM, what is it that other political parties and leaders have done for Karachi to make it a better place? I don't recall BB or Mian Sahib doing anything special for Karachi.

I'm a Punjabi.
Without Urdu Speaking Pakistanis, the country would have ceased to exist a long time ago. The list of prominent Urdu Speaking Pakistanis far outweighs any other group considering they make up only 8% of the population

3 things

1. Without the army and rangers Urdu Speaking folks would have been run out of Karachi by Sindhis, Afghans and Balochis long, long ago
  2. Bengalis killed more Biharis than any other group in '71 and stil discriminate against them today
  3. Funny you should blame Sui\Balochistan on Punjabis :hehe:
    The Prime Minister, President, Head of the Army AND most of the Army Corps Commanders are now Mohajirs. It is well known in the army that Mohajirs have been promoted to many top positions. So you cant just blame Punjabis anymore even if we are the obvious target due to our size.

Bottom line, ethnic finger pointing gets us no where.

Being a Punjabi myself, it feels kinda bad to see the ethnic blame gaming which goes on here. My ancestors have lived in Karachi for long and I've really grown up travelling extensively to that city -- it's the true cosmopolitan city of Pakistan, the ONLY thing which it lacks is a positive, investment-friendly image. Everyone who goes to Karachi loves it, and it's bad the real picture of that city never emerges with all the illnews that the media loves to trumpet out. The ethnic finger pointing will not help, coz Karachi and it's respresentation are an issue no more -- the need of the moment is to bring in TONNES of capital to both Karachi and Gawadar, and to develop these cities in tandem with each other in such a manner that their economies complement and not cannibalise each other. We need to get our act together and s tart working as a nation towards building ourselves. Karachi has te be prioritised as the city that will take Pak forward, and I believe that the current admin is taking steps in that direction.

aunty i have punjabi relatives who suffered to the fullest, alot of them even had to move to lahore after being robbed, threatened etc so many times... one of my mothers cousin was even shot in the head by one of your MQM bhayaaz. Im not advocating that killing those mohajir civilians was the right thing, but most of them were killed BECAUSE of what the mqm was doing. How come this stuff never went on in any other city in Pakistan? How come that a-hole Altaf Kutta is hiding in London, after his 'kartoots' were made public.

I find it hard to believe you lived in Karachi and didnt know what Haqiqi was.

1. Wishful thinking on your part. Who needs others to throw us out when the army killed so many of us to stop a political rights movement? It was a good job of stopping mohajirs from being thrown out, since who would throw out a dead mohajir anyway?

2. Begalis did kill many Biharis, but only because the brave Punjabi-Pashtun army surrendered within one week when it had to face people who could fight.

3. If Musharraf & co. represent mohajirs, then I represent your pind! Musharraf even speaks English and Urdu in a Punjabi accent. He is sadly very much part of the Punjabi system.

I don’t care if you are sindhi, mohajir or punjabi, but if you are part of the system that is stealing resources from smaller provinces, then you are the problem. Give us the ability to run our own affairs, give us provincial autonomy and ethnic tension will slowly ease. We are tired of having punjabi police officers, rangers acting as occupation troops in our areas.

Kehkashanm, What Punjabi syatem? Urdu is the lingua franka of all our elites. Most upper class Punjabi including those in the Army perfer and insist on speaking Urdu or English. Punjabi in Punjab is considered a language of the illiterate.
You have to be kidding.
Fact is is fact, Musharaf is Mohajir, NOT a Punjabi... Your only trying to justify your otherwise useless argument with non issues such as his accent. I mean, get a clue dude.
And what in GODS name, does the surrender of Dhaka have to do with the murder of Biharis? Are you implying that had Dhaka not fallen, the Bengalis wouldnt have killed these BIHARIS!

Punjabis arent stuck with the whole 'oh we are superior just because we are punjabiz' idiocy that mashallah some of our other esteemed brethren are stuck with. To them being Pakistani is more important now.

mulz
Muhajirs mainly live in sindh how can they fool punjabis and pathans.Can you give me a list of urdu speaking fuedals/sardars in any of the two provinces.How much they have invested in the corporate sector in punjab???do they have any form of property in the urban areas of these provinces???The only migrants other than punjabis who have invested in punjab are few memon families.
why Dont you start a thread on many so called chaudaris like shujat husain whose father was a constable at the time of partition and became a chaudary after grabbing the land of punjabi sikhs and hindus who left after partition

There was also an army operation during the first tenure of nawaz sharif.

Antibol
The guy who believes in free market hates communists and mullahs.Concerned abouth the minorities in pakistan at the same time a paka punjabi supporting fuedalsJust ask any one from hyderabad and karachi that innocent people were not killed during the operation and they all will agree that many innocents lost their lives.just like the other army operations in balochistan east pakistan and waziristan.

Bihar is near to bengal and at the time of partition many bihari muslims migrated to dhaka.In 1971 the bengali mukhti bahini killed non bengalis that is true,The biharis supported west pakistanis and thats why after the creation of bangladesh they faced descrimination.Their mistake was that they supported west pakistan but now why is pakistan hesitant to bring them back.35 years have passed and now they should call themselves bangladeshi but still if we can have million bengalis and burmese and 3 million afghans why cant we accept 0.3 million who call themselves pakistanis.

Sindhis are the most tolerant nation.It is only the nationalist sindhis(who were backed by the army like the mqm )who killed many innocent muhajirs.All the ethnicities should learn something from the sindhis who allowed every one to come and live peacefully in their province

Malik_786
My friend 80 to 90% punjabi and after punjabis pakhtuns are the largest minority.The PM and the president are muhajirs but you are incorrect about the corps Commanders the majority is still punjabi.The majority of the establishment civil and military is punjabi.It is just like that in india the president is a muslim and the PM is a Sikh and the leader of the ruling party a christian,Sikh army cheif and the richest indian azeem premji and other example too But we all know how indian government treat minorities.

Pakpatriot1
In some other thread a punjabi guy was accusing urdu speaking elite of forcing urdu on punjabis.some pashtun brothers also agreed with this.

Tmx305
So what are you trying to say that only punjabis are patriot pakistanis.My friend Is that not the case with other pakistanis?pakistanis are proud of soldiers like aziz bhatti but they hate someone like chaudhary rehmat ali,unionists and other guys who believe in punjabiat and greater punjab.

A pathetic glimpse of how we Pakistanis are in real life;
fighting among ourselves, leaving little room for anything constructive.
No wonder problems are never solved, we're too busy and interested in stripping each other of all dignity, postively discussing or solving problems doesnt even seem to be a priority...