Cricket World Cup 2003 - Final Squads

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

I dont think you can assume that Akmal would freeze, he might raise his game, you never know. As far as batting is concerned he is a much better batsmen than Rashid.

yeah he is a better hitter then Rashid but taking singles and rotating the strile is a place where he struggles. He is not technically sound but he makes up by his daring play.
And about that possibily of raising the game, its a risk ehsan bhai, We know that Moin and Rashiod often raise thier game in pressure situations but not sure about Akmal and already pakistan taking so many risks with Azhar, Shoaib... :)
khair, Rashid said in an interview that Akmal is such a great prospect that i m sure you ppl will forget us (referring to hmself and Moin) in a few months time :)

Only squd remaning is NZL , right?

*Originally posted by yaasir: *
Sharaabi jee, Shahid Afridi did not get selected for his batting, but as an all-rounder, and more as a bowler these days.

woh to sahih hai dost...par yeh bhi to dekho, how many front line batsmen do we have. All I am sayin is, they could have included one more middle order batsmen ,like Faisal Iqbal.

*Originally posted by yaasir: *
And about Saeed Anwar, he was a must because of his past experience. Who else was there to open the innings with Saleem Elahi?? Taufeeq Umer?? I dont think so.

When did I critisize his selection, in fact I was praying for his selection. There is no doubt, we need him in the playing 11. Its just the fact that his he is so out of practise. These damm selectors, they could have chosen him for the Zimbabwe and South Africa tour.

And as far as wicketkeeper is concerned...Kamran I believe is a better batsmen than Rashid Latif. It would only have strengthened the batting line up, had they included him.

**Bangladesh Squad

Khaled Mashud (captain), Al Sahariar, Alok Kapali, Habibul Bashar, Hannan Sarker, Ehsanul Haque, Sanwar Hossain, Khaled Mahmud, Manjurul Islam, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Ashraful, Mohammad Rafique, Talha Jubair, Tapash Baisya, Tushar Imran.**

Whatever Yaasir. Afridi is a totally independable bat. As for his bowling, do u seriously he can contain the batsman or take wickets at regular intervals. His record in SA is:
4 matches - 4 wickets - 4.65 economy - scored 46 runs in 4 innings

So his recent form is also not convincing enuf. Shoaib Malik is a better choice. I did know what i was talkin bout

**New Zealand Squad announced

Stephen Fleming (captain), Andre Adams, Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, Chris Cairns, Chris Harris, Brendon McCullum, Craig McMillan, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Mathew Sinclair, Scott Styris, Daryl Tuffey, Lou Vincent, Daniel Vettori. **

good t see Cairns back, surely a match winner
but iheard he wont bowl there at all

With Cairns back, New Zealand have quite a strong fighting squad.

Im suprised by England's inclusion of James Anderson and Steven Harmison, when Harmison has a very horrible One Day record for Durham, and Anderson who has only played 2 ODI's?

Also Hoggard is back.. hmmmm and I thought they were going to drop him for a long time.

I think India did a mistake in bringing in Mongia. Mongia has failed ever since Yuvraj and Kaif have secured themselves a place in the middle order. Mongia seems incomplete with the immergence of Sehwag too.

Kinda off topic guyz (didnt want to start a new thread)...but does anyone here know how much the total package (WC 03) will cost on Dish Network.

Just need to know so I can start saving up for the matches and days off work :P

Seems like i`ll be sick a lot during feb n March :)

*Originally posted by Zestacy: *
Kinda off topic guyz (didnt want to start a new thread)...but does anyone here know how much the total package (WC 03) will cost on Dish Network.

I am not sure if Dish network is going to show it.If they did thwey would be advertising it by now.

Dishnetwork will be showing it for sure. I think the whole package will cost round about $300- $350. Not sure its been long since I paid to watch. ;) :)

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
With Cairns back, New Zealand have quite a strong fighting squad.

Im suprised by England's inclusion of James Anderson and Steven Harmison, when Harmison has a very horrible One Day record for Durham, and Anderson who has only played 2 ODI's?

Also Hoggard is back.. hmmmm and I thought they were going to drop him for a long time.

I think India did a mistake in bringing in Mongia. Mongia has failed ever since Yuvraj and Kaif have secured themselves a place in the middle order. Mongia seems incomplete with the immergence of Sehwag too.

I think Mongia will be sitting on bench most of the times.

*Originally posted by Question: *

Dishnetwork will be showing it for sure. I think the whole package will cost round about $300- $350. Not sure its been long since I paid to watch. ;) :)

I doubt it will be that cheap this time.Last time it was around 300.My guess would be 400+

...Seems like i`ll be sick a lot during feb n March :)

and on 1st March for sure. I guess 80% of the desis will be sick on 1st March :)

Like i remember on 26th March 1992 all of the Karachi was at home or on roads sides with big screen TVs and projectors.

nah i don't think Mongia is gonna be on the bench and at the same time choosing Mongia over Laxman wasn't a big mistake. I watched him play in the last match and the way he was playing was just thrilling. Off course he only scored 12 runs but the main thing is that he was confident. The other plus point is that he's a good fielder. After Yuvraj and Kaif he's the nest big thing if we talk abt fielding. Yuvraj and Kaif are completely different. They are stroke players and most of the times they would play un-orthodox shots, but this you won't see from Mongia and i think that's why he's batting at No.3 and he's gonna continue doing that..

Dish Network is showing it.. It will cost you $300. **

http://www.corporate-ir.net/ireye/i...&item_id=368857

Cricket World Cup 2003 Available Exclusively On DISH
Network Satellite TV in United States

LITTLETON, Colo.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Jan. 8, 2003–DISH Network™(NASDAQ:
DISH), a leading direct broadcast satellite television provider, is pleased to announce that
the Cricket World Cup 2003 will be available exclusively in the United States on DISH
Network. All 54 games will be broadcast live on DISH Network from South Africa beginning
on Saturday, Feb. 8, 2003, and ending on Sunday, March 23, 2003.

DISH Network customers can purchase the entire Cricket World Cup 2003 package for
$299.95. The World Cup games will be available on DISH Network channels 457/471 and
458/472.

To order the Cricket World Cup 2003, call 1-800-333-DISH (3474). DISH Network
commercial customers are also eligible to offer the Cricket World Cup 2003 to patrons. For
more information on commercial eligibility, call 1-800-454-0843.

“The 2003 World Cup will be viewed by a world-wide audience in excess of 1 billion people,”
said Michael Schwimmer, senior vice president of Programming. “Our customers have
enjoyed the cricket programming we have offered in the past, and we are excited to make this
increasingly popular sporting event available to our 8 million customers nationwide. DISH
Network is committed to serving the international community living within the United States
with specialized international programming like the Cricket World Cup.”

A team sport, cricket is played with two teams of 11 players each. A game of cricket can last
anywhere from an afternoon to several days. Similar to baseball, teams bat in successive
innings and attempt to score runs, while the opposing team fields and attempts to bring an
end to the batting team’s innings. The team with the most runs wins.

In 1912, the first attempt at a World Championship of cricket was held when a three-way
series was arranged between Australia, England and South Africa. The experiment was
dogged by poor weather and was not repeated until 1975 when England, Australia, New
Zealand, West Indies, India and Pakistan were joined by Sri Lanka and East Africa in the first
World Cup. Due to the success of the 1975 tournament, the World Cup has since taken place
every four years.

“DISH Network will offer comprehensive coverage of this premier event to the many people
from cricket playing nations living in the U.S.,” said Ian Frykberg, Director of the Global
Cricket Corporation. “The marketing expertise of DISH Network will ensure that more
Americans than ever before will be aware of the World Cup, leading to increased interest of
cricket throughout the U.S.”

For more information on sublicensing rights, please contact EchoStar at 973-461-0861.

DISH Network is a trademark of EchoStar Communications Corporation. DISH Network is
EchoStar’s state-of-the-art direct broadcast satellite TV system that is capable of offering
over 500 channels of digital video and CD-quality audio programming, as well as fully
MPEG-2/DVB compliant hardware and installation. EchoStar is included in the Nasdaq-100
Index (NDX) which contains the largest non-financial companies on the Nasdaq Stock
Market. DISH Network serves 8 million customers. For further product information, visit
www.dishnetwork.com.

Dish Network is showing it.. It will cost you $300. **

[list=1]

**In Tiger's view:

Pakistan's Squad against Australia, India and England.**

[li]Saeed Anwar - Batsman.
[/li]
[li]Shahid Afridi - All-rounder.
[/li]
[li]Yousuf Youhana - Batsman.
[/li]
[li]Inzamam-ul-Haq - Batsman.
[/li]
[li]Younis Khan - Batsman, otherwise, Azhar Mehmood, All-rounder, if available.
[/li]
[li]Abdul Razzaq - All-rounder.
[/li]
[li]Rashid Latif - Wicket-Keeper
[/li]
[li]Saqlain Mushtaq - Spinner.
[/li]
[li]Wasim Akram - Fast Bowler.
[/li]
[li]Waqar Younis -Fast Bowler.
[/li]
[li]Shoaib Akhtar -Fast Bowler.
[/li]
[/list=1]

Pakistan's Squad against Zimbabwe, Nambia and Netherlands.

[list=1]

[li]Taufeeq Umer -Batsman.
[/li]
[li]Salim Elahi -Batsman.
[/li]
[li]Yousuf Youhana - Batsman.
[/li]
[li]Inzamam-ul-Haq -Batsman.
[/li]
[li]Younis Khan -Batsman, otherwise Azhar Mehmood, All-rounder if available.
[/li]
[li]Abdul Razzaq -All-rounder.
[/li]
[li]Rashid Latif - Wicket Keeper.
[/li]
[li]Saqlain Mushtaq - Spinner.
[/li]
[li]Wasim Akram - Fast Bowler.
[/li]
[li]Waqar Younis - Fast Bowler.
[/li]
[li]Muhammad Sami - Fast Bowler.