Re: Cricket for beginners!

i wanna learn how to play cricket :halo:

:konfused:

Phatima I know they should teach us ladies the game… :hehe:

Why are you guys so difficult to understand? :frusty2:

dim hotato, your guy wont mind your not knowing cricket rules as long as you know how to bring out the wings and beer when the match's on.

Oh, I know! It’s so boring to watch on TV. :bummer:
I play sometimes with my brothers and my sisters and my cousin. I suck :bummer:. They keep complaining that I hit the cricket ball like I’m playing tennis. I can’t help it. I’m a tennis freak. :).

Ok, so so far I know that if you hit the ball into our neighbor’s yard, it counts as a six. (woa that’s really far. I probably couldn’t even throw the ball that far :eek: )

Once you hit the ball, everyone starts screaming at you to run to the chalk line on the road. So, then I drop the bat and run. THEN, my brother starts yelling a me to go back and take the bat with me when i run. :smack: It’s so confusing :crying:

I don’t think so.. :disgust:

:bummer: I remember playing cricket when I was like 8? Don’t know exactly how I played the game, but yeah your story reminds me of my childhood days. I don’t know any rules, so anything you tell me would be confusing.

Rite! this is absolutely rite! thatz why any american or jewish ppl dont play this game bcs itz really time consuming!
oneday type cricket is fun to watch and play though!

Wherz shoiab and Smoking Kool! Contact them fatima … they wont disappoint u! shoib bhai is really a good bowler but collegenite wale din unko bohat chake pare thay

^^ chup ho jaa .. dj… chup ho jaa :hehe:

:snooty: I don’t want them to teach me I want desiplaya :snooty:
sirf aur sirf desiplaya :slight_smile:

I have stopped coaching :snooty:

OMG ACROBI!! What’s up mayn?! I haven’t seen you in like forever!!! :hug:

…And why aren’t you coaching any more? :hoonh:

:wave: pinko busy with my exams and watching Pak vs India series

and I have stopped coaching coz we won the finals and I bid chow, adios to the team.
and moved on to tech world.

Haha, acha chalo phir you can help me with my computer problems. :)

Good luck on those exams :Salute:

Seeing as no one else will help you I will tell you what I know.

There are 2 main types of cricket…test cricket and one day cricket. in each match 2 teams play against each other. There are 11 players in a team. There will be a toss of the coin to see which team bats and fields first.

In one day cricket each team will bat for 50 overs called an innings. An over is 6 bowls by a bowler. One bowler can bowl a maximum of 10 overs in one day cricket. The bowler is changed after each over i.e. a bowler cannot bowl 2 overs one after the other. The batting team must score runs. To score a run you and your batting partner must run between the wickets. If you hit the ball and it goes to the boundary and it touches the ground in between you score 4 runs. If the ball goes to the boundary without touching the ground you score 6 runs. The fielding team do thier best to contain runs and get the batters out. The ways the batters can get out are run out, caught, bowled and lbw(leg before wicket). After 50 overs or the batting team is all out there is lunch time and then the teams switch over. You can win by scoring the most runs or by saving the most wickets.

In test cricket its the same but you play for 5 days. Each team plays 2 innings each which are longer than 50 overs. A bowler can bowl as many overs as they like. thats all i know about test cricket.

I think thats all the basics. hope you find it helpful.

mm Lunch time sounds like fun :yummy:

ok and I have a question. What’s the violation for standing infront of the wicket? I mean, is it only if you’re standing infront of them once the ball is thrown, then you’re out? :confused:

Phatima - it is called LBW or Leg Before Wicket. If in umpire's opinion, a ball striking the batsman's person, other than the bat or the hand(s) holding the bat, would have gone on to hit the wicket, and all other requirements of a legal delivery are met and the ball had not pitched outside the line of leg stump and if a stroke was offered, the contact is in line with the stumps ONLY then the batsman can be declared OUT LBW.

It's that simple!