Cricket diehards - Help!

Ok here’s someone who just recently developed a ‘passion’ for cricket so I need some help from all you die-hards.

Now it wasn’t so hard to figure out the rules and stuff for the ODI’s series, I kind of figured it out myself (wasn’t a complete cricket dumbo). These test matches however are a bit more confusing.

I know there are three uuhhmm matches that go on for 5 days.
So this is what I want to know:

1. How many overs are played in one match (if any?)
  2. Is the toss going to decide who bats/bowls first?
  3. How is the winner of the match/test series decided?
  4. Rules that differ from ODI’s?

Add some more if you think that’s important for me to know.

Merci bien in advance!

oh man, world is undergoign some changes :rotato:

anyways to answer your questions..

1. There are two innings for each team, that makes four innings per test match. And a maximum of 90 overs are allowed in a da, thus around 450 overs in 5 days in which four innings are to be completed.

2. Ofcourse the toss is still there and that will decide who will bat/field first.

3. Hmmmm, generally the rule is same, the team who scores more runs will win the match. I will give you an example here..
    -Suppose ‘A’ team who bats first scores 250
    -The team who bats second lets say ‘B’ scores 400 (that will give this team a lead of 150 runs in the first innings)

• Now ‘A’ will bat again tralling by 150 runs, if somehow it gets bowled out within fifty runs, say 140, then ‘B’ will win the match by an innings and 10 runs (thats a humiliation i tell ya). But if ‘A’ scores 250 in its second innings, it will get a lead of 100 runs.
    -‘B’ will have to score 101 runs in fouth innings to win the test match.
  1. Rules umm some of them i will write here, aur log bhi add ker hee dein gay…
    -There are no field restrictions
    -a bowler can bowl as many overs as he or his captain decides.
    -no colored clothing

no probelmo

Re: Cricket diehards - Help!

*Originally posted by ShiNoO: *
Ok here's someone who just recently developed a 'passion' for cricket so I need some help from all you die-hards.

Now it wasn't so hard to figure out the rules and stuff for the ODI's series, I kind of figured it out myself (wasn't a complete cricket dumbo). These test matches however are a bit more confusing.

I know there are three uuhhmm matches that go on for 5 days.
So this is what I want to know:
1) How many overs are played in one match (if any?)
2) Is the toss going to decide who bats/bowls first?
3) How is the winner of the match/test series decided?
4) Rules that differ from ODI's?

Add some more if you think that's important for me to know.

Merci bien in advance!

1) no of overs to be played each day = 90 overs - if there is any change-over time in between - I think two overs are reduced.
2) yes toss decides who will bat/bowl first
3) there are two inninngs - combined score determines the winner, think of it as two ODIs - only there is no no. of overs restriction..a team can bat the whole five days if tehy want to...hence there can be times when there are no results.
4) many rules differ (like there are no field restrictions - no overs restriction - no bowlers quota etc etc)

Saby and Bitter have explained it very well. You can go to cricinfo.com and they have the rules and regulations listed there as well.

However if you want a simple explanation of the rules here it is. Hope it helps. :)

**You have two sides, one out in the field and one in. Each man that's in the side that's in goes out, and when he's out he comes in and the next man goes in until he's out. When they are all out, the side that's out comes in and the side thats been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out. Sometimes you get men still in and not out.

There are two men called umpires who stay out all the time and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and out twice, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game!

Howzatt!!!!!

:mudhosh:
Ehsan bhai I’m not a 3 year old kid! Waise your explanation a 3 year old would’nt even understand! I know most of the rules :snooty:

Thank you Saby and Bitter :slight_smile:

lol,, ehsan bhai... that explanation even made me go round n round in circles... too many people going in and out....

shinoo,, me being the man that i am,,, would like to explain it to u.

i hope u know what an innings is. one sides full "baari" is an inning. i,e 10 out of their 11 player have to be bowled out by the opposition bowlers...

ok now that u know what an innings is...

test match has two innings each,, i,e both sides get 2 "baari's" each.

the first team bats, and tries and scores as many runs as possible. When they are bowled out, the second team takes their turn. and try and make as many runs as possible and ideally, to surpass the other teams score.... and then the first team takes their second turn, followed by the second team's second innings...
khair,,, sabi's explanation is simple enough....

then there are other things like...
for example the At team bats and scores 600 runs for the loss of 5 wickets and 2 whole days have gone.... now in this scenario, if the captain of A team reckons its enough score for them, he can "declare" their innings,, which means now the B team takes their turn and the A team tries and bowl em out. Now, say for example, B team are all out for 360 runs. That gives the A team a lead of 240 runs. At this point, since the lead is more than 200 runs, the A team captain has the option of give the B team what is called a "follow on". If he decides to "follow on" the B team, the B team then has to bat again and score as many runs as possible. This time around, say the B team scores 300 runs. Since the lead already was 240, and B scored, 300, now the winning target for A is gonna be 60 runs. Or in another scenario, say B team were made to "follow on" by the A team, and the lead is 240, and if the B team gets out for say 210, the A team has won by an innings and 10 runs.
apart from this,,, if the match for some reason couldnt be finished within 5 days, it is then a draw and doesnt really matter which team had the upper hand in the match.

I hope I was at least better than ehsan at explaining :D

I think the 90 overs / innings are mandatory. ie you HAVE TO bowl 90 overs in an innings, but you can bowl more if you want to. ie if the time permits, conditions permits and the umpire permits. Correct me if iam wrong.

There may be a time when a team decides to DECLARE.

Let's say team A won the toss and bats first. Team A is at 600/3, and team B just cannot get team A out no matter how hard their trying. Team A has batted throughout Day 1 and Day 2.

Obviously the captain of Team A will want to win, so he decides to end his innings, without being all out.

Scenerio 1: Then Team B comes into to bat apon Team A's invitation, and puts up a score of 500 all out. This may have taken the game into Day 5, so Team A comes out to bat, and has a lead of 100. The test may head for a draw because there will not be enough time to put up a challanging total vs. chase the total.

Scenerio 2: Team B comes into bat, and scores 200 runs less than Team A. Team A now has the option of sending Team B in to bat again, called Follow On. If the follow on is imposed, Team A has a lead of 200, and will once again to bowl Team B out before Day 5 is complete.

Kaka, thank you! That was definitely better than Ehsan bhai's explanation.

I think I'll just have to start watching, just like I did with the ODI's!
I'll get back to you guys if I fail to understand something

Thanks ustechie and People's champ :)

*Originally posted by ustechie: *
I think the 90 overs / innings are mandatory. ie you HAVE TO bowl 90 overs in an innings, but you can bowl more if you want to. ie if the time permits, conditions permits and the umpire permits. Correct me if iam wrong.
Ok you are corrected now. Its not 90 overs in an "innings". Its 90 overs in a "day". An innings can go on for 2 days or can wrap up in half a day. There is no limit (minimum or maximum) on how many overs a team will play in their innings.