I need to know how toddler beds are
different then cribs, when they actually use crib matresses???
I mean how are they bigger then cribs??
THanks.
I need to know how toddler beds are
different then cribs, when they actually use crib matresses???
I mean how are they bigger then cribs??
THanks.
Re: cribs/toddler beds
Toddler beds give the toddler the freedom to move about rather than protesting behind bars. :D
We got Misbah the crib that can be converted into a toddler bed if needed but that will be an afternoon project kinda thing.
Yes, Safia's crib also converts to a toddler bed when the rail is pulled off. We use it for lack of space. She is ready for a twin size bed now at age 3, but still likes her crib.
I'm thinking of buying one of these soon for Harris soon, there's little point to keeping him in his crib as he can climb out whenever he feels like it anyway (which is most nights).
Having said that, he loved sleeping in the makeshift bed I made him from an open suitcase filled with towels and clothes when we went to visit family this weekend.
^Hello
seems like all of us have kids around the same age.:)
I went to babies R us today and asked them what the difference was?
They told me the same thing AJ has. And since Ishaa is the same age as
Saimanyc's daughter safia I think she also needs a twin bed now.
Will start working on that.
I know haris is around 2 right shehreen?
AJ, HOw old is misbah?
She is only 19 months old. So all other guppy kids are her bhaijaans and bajis.
what you guys are talking about is convertible cribs into toddler bed..but if you are talking about real toddler beds..they are a transition between cribs and twin beds..they are much lower in height than twin bed or cribs. They do use the same mattress as cribs but the purpose of them is to give infant an easy access to roll out of the bed.
Sajal Baji, have you ever thought about asking the opinion of Ishaa in that regard..like if she wants the bed or likes her crib. Some kids can be attached to their belongings.
I personally loved my crib and used it until i was 6 years old..I couldn't fit into it..but still i always wanted to sleep in it. I remember very clearly that i was upset when i was moved onto another bed and i got even more upset when i came to know that my crib was given away. Maybe, you might consider keeping the crib as a memory lane collection for Ishaa.
We also bought the crib which will eventually convert into a toddler bed. Although the poor crib is absolutely useless... We can't get Ahmed to sleep in it... he is 13 months but not one night has he slept in the crib !!! sleeps with me on the king size bed..... hubby is on the floor :D no wonder he doens't want anymore kids huh :)
not to change the subject, but since it seems like everyone else is more experienced with babies how can i get him in the crib????
^lol
roshi
to tell u the truth Ishaa didn't start sleeping in her crib till around the
same age as your son.
One night after she was a year old I asked her if she wanted to sleep
in her bed. She agreed. I pulled the crib right against
our bed and she laid down in it. But after a few minutes she
wanted to sleep in the bed with us. So after she fell asleep I put
her in the crib.
The next night she happily wanted to sleep in her crib.
What I do is each night till now I pull the crib to the bed
and one side rail we have taken off. I guess it's one of those that
converts into a toddler bed.
So offer him and see how things go. If he is reluctunt then I think u should
also try pulling the crib to the bed like we do.
(this idea was presented by the guppy faisal so credit goes to him).
ohh Sajal Baji.. Thank you
sounds like a great idea. Dont know why we didn’t think of that also… I will keep you updated and let you know if it works in our case ![]()
I tried posting Ahmed’s pics but the size was too big. ![]()
^did it work?
I hope dulha bhai got his spot back on his side of the bed. :)
say hello to misbah on my 17 months old zainab’s behalf!!!![]()
how come these kids sleep in their beds …my kids sleep on my arm till they r two…n that means my arms r serving as a pillow for almost 6 years now!!!![]()
p.s. toddler beds r actually too low in height …as qrius mentioned!!
Hi Afia
how are u? I hope every thing if fine with u and the kids.:)
yeah ...perfect here..:)
how is Isha doing...???:)
Noor has used her crib about as much as a three month old uses their shoes.
She slept a lot in her play-pen (it had one of those sling things that rest on top). And then since we travelled so much the past two years, she's just been sleeping next to me wherever we go. (Wish I had the idea to let her sleep in the suitcase....would have been great in some cases.)
Unless I can find a toddler bed that is really, really, really, well-priced (and I mean almost free), I will not waste money on something that will likely only last her for a couple of years. Plus, the room will look horrible.....no night tables or place for a lamp, etc. It's just wasteful, in my opinion.
Sajal thanks for asking…but no it didn’t go too well ![]()
Ahmed fell asleep while i was holding him and i slowly laid him in the crib and he didn’t get up then but later in the night he got up crying
so then i just picked him up and put him right next to mee thats how he likes it… i guess it makes him feel safe.. but yeah i have not had a good night sleep in an year cuz i stay worried that i might put my hand on him or so. but still koi baat nahi… phir bhi 3-4 ghante he did sleep in the crib.. so we still have some hope..not giving up yet ![]()
we’re going to try it again.. but yeah i agree with Muzna it might be a waste especially with us desi’s everyone i know their children sleep with them in the bed.
I have decided not to get the toddler bed since it is not any bigger
then the crib. Ishaa is sorta tall mashALLAH so I think crib is gonna be too
small for her soon.