there is someone in my college, more like a younger sibling, pakistani hae. very nice and decent balanced person. paanch wakt namazi comes from a good family and is a hard working student. nayk person never seen involved in anything bad or weird.
lets call the person X…
the thing is…
X has some supernatural powers.
laugh if you want but i’m not kidding.
i am dead serious.
X gets these ‘callings’ which include visions and voices that overcome X’s mind. and it really freaks X out a lot. they divert X from everything and shake X up. otherwise X is completely totally normal.
X thinks of me like an older sister type figure so X often tells me abt these things and when X goes thru these phases X tells me abt it afterwards.
hmmmmm…
i really want to help X get over this once and for all inshallah. but being here in amreeka, i dont know what to do…like there’s no pirs or molvis here and X’s parents arent around. i can ask X to pray and read Quran, X is already pretty religious. but that isnt helping X. i think X needs to be taken to a pir or a more learned person who can guide X properly. or v should atleast talk to some older Muslim ppl in the community here in my college and they should probably give better advice..
but X doesn’t want ppl to know abt this…i’ve already tried to convince X…
i’m thinking i should just tell someone without X knowing…but the thing is i am sure if i tell someone here then to help X they would need to know who X is in order to assist X…so since X doesnt want ppl to find out, i’m not sure what to do…i want to help X but i dont want the situation to get worse, and the whole thing is also a bit creepy for me…
hmmm............well no bad feeling or so........but why do you relate his/her visions as being something religious??? do you know what kind of visions he gets? i think that might help us to figure out what it is. If they are religious visions then clearly it might be related......mind telling us what kind of visions s/he gets? and what the voices in his/her head say to him/her?
on the other hand, one might look at it from a medical point of view.......and having visions and especially hearing voices is related to the begin stage of schizophrenia. in that case X will have to see a psychitrist as soon as possible. here too it is important to find out what these voices say to him/her.
hmm…X doesnt like to describe the visions too much in detail becoz they freak X out and X also feels like maybe X shouldnt tell me…the thing is X got into all this in high school back in Pakistan deliberately before anything like this happenned coz X was interested in this stuff and X thought it was fun and cool…but after a point things started happening to X that freaked X out…X did tell me about a few of them and they freaked me out too. They were about X’s relatives who are not alive now and also X has has these dreams…X also sees physical auras around ppl…ness bhai its really scary
i think its religious becos…hmm…dont know…i always relate such things to religion…when i used to hear of similar things in Pakistan i always heard of pirs and molvis treating such conditions succesfully…hmmm..your idea abt it being a medical issue tho…its true it could be…i hope it isnt tho..hmm…the thing abt a psychologist sounds like something i could do for now tho…i actually did slightly suggest it once just for the heck of it…but u know how in our desi culture going to psychologists is such a taboo thing..i think X was a little bit upset that i had even suggested that…and because X is in this sensitive condition i dont want to pressure X into anything…so i will have to kind of slowly persuade X to come with me to the psychologist…
deep down in my heart i do believe that it is something religious though that only a religious approach can cure..
X probably has too much time in his hands and since he’s interested in this stuff, he feels that he’s actually seeing or hearing someone or something that isn’t actually there. He’s hypnotizing himself in believing what he read or heard about it I guess or is it because he doesn’t stay as clean as he should be as elders often say if a person isn’t clean then s/he experiences these type of things. Hmmm, I don’t really know him so can’t say much…
nescio just asked all the questions what i was gonna ask..in order to understand his situation more..u gotta tell us more irem..i have met all types of people ranging from schizophrenic to people who got psychic powers to people who were friends with jins to people who could see other unexplainable phenomenon. Some of them were treated pyschological but pyschologist couldn't find any fault with them.
He needs to be checked..one of my chacha got treatment in pakistan without him knowing about it..the doctor was introduced to him as a normal person and was given treatment..also my own nani became schizophrenic..but nana was afraid of shock treatments back in early 80s(coz of some bad experiences that he saw) so by the time the whole family was ready for shock therapy..my nani's body couldn't take shock for health reasons.
Get opinions from medical folks as well as religious shaikhs..its good to have opinions from both sides of the spectrum..just search from a search engine and you'll find info..if not lemme know..and i'll try to find some folks for you :)
Irem, what exactly do you think a pir or molvi will do, they'd probably say "jinn chaR gaya hai, maro!!". Please, it's the 21st century, pirs and witch doctors are charlatans. Wake up dead is right, the person sounds like they have hallucinations, they may be paranoid schizophrenic, this person needs medical attention and soon before he/she becomes a threat to themselves or others. I hope you don't spend time with this person alone. Take this person to a therapist, this person may need to be medicated. These are not "supernatural powers", the individual sounds mentally unsound.
Help him medically, not with pirs and maulvis and other nonsense like that.
I've heard of this before, will gather my data and PM you. X should not have started what he/she did, and now its gone beyond what she/he was expecting.
hey everyone obviously i didnt stick to my resolution and i am back
khayr,
nia - local masjid mein koi pir ya molvi nahen hae and i dont know ppl there actually, we have a masjid on campus and thats all i know abt…
Munni - thanks
Imdad Ali - X is right now at X’s maamoon’s house for the winter break but when X is back i’ll convince X to go to the doctor…
aahmed - will encourage X to go to the doctor too…lekin from what X has told me i really feel like its a spiritual thing and taking to a doc is okay but side by side must get X some religious treatment as well…
*Originally posted by irem: *
They were about X’s relatives who are not alive now and also X has has these dreams…X also sees physical auras around ppl…ness bhai its really scary
*Originally posted by irem: *
hi
i dont know if u guyz get this show in states (i know it cums here is canada)but its called crossing over with john edward. www.crossingoverwithjohnedward.com and this guy can connect with ppl not in this world with ppl already in this world
y’know like a pshychic.
mabey dats wht it is… but try going to the doc as well.