Credit Cards in Pakistan

So is it safe to use credit cards in pakistan???

It depends where you are using.. !

According to a gallop survey, there are more then a MILLION credit cards in circulation here in Pakistan.

UBL alone has over 200k card holders.

The recovery is almost 80%

The usage according to limit----is around 75% utilization.

There is no place..to my mind.. where CREDIT CARD usage can be termed
as UNSAFE!

Yes--the ATM usage may have had some hiccups as far as security is concerned...like mugging and hold ups outside the vestibule or the ATM site!

Regards,

Raju Jamil

Re: Credit Cards in Pakistan

Can people from abroad use their credit cards in Pakistan? The only thing is, I heard not every store takes it.

^^ If you are talking about villages are far far away places from main cities, then offcourse they don't accept it. Even in NY just to any small town.. they want cash..

haha no, i am talking about shopping areas such as tariq road and all.

Most of the shops do accept them...

Any credit card with a good brand name *VISA, MASTERCARD, AMERICAN EXPRESS, DINERS CLUB...etc etc...is acceptable by almost 500k merchants in Pakistan.....POS machines are very common now.I dont think there are issues---at places like interior even!*

what i meant was that, people in pak say not to use them b/c of fraud, like the merchants would have ur credit card info then

I may not have a cogent answer to this question...sir! but having said that..I fail to understand the 500k merchants in Pakistan...2 Million card holders...and 80% recoveries..and 75% utilization with 2% frauds...now that's not a bad meat afterall!

SIRF aur SIRF PAKISTAN hee reh gaya hai....MERCHANT frauds wagheira ke qissa-e-Mir Amman Chaar darwesh ke leeay!!!

Look around..and see the horrendous frauds on cards taking place in Europe and America....!

Sub Theek hai yehan Pakistan mein....itna sub kuch kharab nahin hai jitna barai FASHION pose kiya jaata hai bhai!

^weird

The question...?

if a fraud is meant to happen.. it can happen anywhere even in AMERICA

we were just in pakistan dis past summer nd my parents used it in local store like in hydri(if u heard of it, its in Karachi) nd like my dad used it for gas nd so far nothing happend!

when anywhere in the world card is used, its secure. only not if someone has access to your card info, by skimming it, or have coppied it physically(not possible mostly). for skimming people swipe your card on two different machines one hidden mostly. only then its dodgy.

visa, MC and amex dont certify any retailer or processor, they have to go through all the check and encryption procedures to enable to use cards of people safely and securely.
now it doesnt matter where the card is used anywhere around the world same policy almost. apart from chip and pin in some countries is not enabled yet.

and yes I work in credit card industry and know all this.