Covering of women hair

Re: Covering of women hair

This is really very good question and some people gives very descriptive answer.

yes, but still no one has provided any evidence of hair covering as part of the hijaab. and i am still not clear on the matter.

I am surprised there are still doubts about covering the hair. I hope it is sorted out soon for everyone iA.

I found out that the “kaffan” of a muslim man comprises of 3 pieces while that of a muslimah is 5 pieces i.e. two additional pieces to cover the hair and the chest … made me think probably Allah swt doesnt want a woman return with uncovered to Him either…made enough sense to me to convince me how obligatory it is for us to cover the head. Abb apna hee mood nai hai tau beshak 100 bahanay aur 200 arguments&references aur 300 fatway le aao..the “explanations” and “tailored” interpretations of ahadith and Quran wont work in our favour in the long run :chai:

@gudiaali there are lots of discussions by ulema and you can read/listen them up about it. I have yet to see someone saying against it except hasan nisar or ghamidi (who are not ulema or sxholars anyway) who say that the ayah in surah noor was meant for the women of the prophet and not for the women of the ummah :halo: so there can be 101 excuses and interpretations if it is something they dont approve of in their head.

Islamic clothing is jilbab and khimar since from the time of the Prophet (saw). Khimar is head cover and jilbab is what covers shoulder till floor. Throwing khimar on bosoms clearly means the head cover to be big enough to cover the bosoms. Covering the face is controversial though but I have yet to see controversies regarding the head cover.

Jilbab and Khimar is mentioned in Quran but according to the traditions what muslim women during the time of the Prophet(SAW) wore was more like the Chador like Iranian women wear these days…and not the scarf and abaya like Saudis etc.

Oh and traditionally muslim women wore white, not black. Interesting…innit?

One day, I’ll start wearing it again inshaAllah.

^ iA.

I think black is cultural. (I like black and dark ones for self since they are convenient :smiley: kaun white ko roz roz dhoay )

i am reading that up all, but as i said earlier the pieces don’t fit together. some scholars say that indeed the hair covering is not specified in the Quran but it is proven by the hadith of Muhammad SAW, the other group of scholars that say that face and hand covering is also mandatory rejects the hadith as weak where Muhammad SAW said that women can show face and hands. So, if the ruling can not be established on a weak hadith, and the hair covering is not specified in the Quranic ayats, then how is it established that it is mandatory to cover hair.
Also, the word Khimar means a cover, not necessarily a head cover.
even if you say that it is pointed towards the head cover and the verse means that women should cover their bosoms with their head cover, then does that mean that today women who are using a head scarf to cover hair and are wearing a loose fitted thick shirts to cover their bosoms without using the the head scarf to cover it, are not doing the hijaab as it is required??

So does that imply that all the wives of the prophet and all the muslim women covering the head since centuries (considering it being Allah’s command interpreted from Quran and hadith) were/are wrong to do because they didnt realise they need to find a verse that clearly “muslimahs need to cover their head” ?

Like I said earlier that if something doesnt suit us, we tend to find 1001 reasons arguing against it and that surely will be a never ending debate. (Although I am sure deep in our heart we know what is right and what should be followed but we dtay in a state of denial trying to find explanations :slight_smile: )

Also, when you talk about a hadith being daee’f or weak, I would suggest you look up rulings about daee’f ahadith. It is a serious matter and as far as the list of the daeef ahadith I read, the one you mentioned was not there but I need to check that out too

i am not saying that all of those if covering their heads were wrong, because covering hair/head in itself is not wrong. in fact this means you are being more modest in terms of clothing, but what can be wrong is that if a ruling is established out of it, making it obligatory which means that leaving a obligatory things makes you deserve the punishment by the Lord. Now here that is why it is important to ascertain whether this really is made obligatory by ALLAH or that it was interpreted like this by the scholars.
Also, if people are practicing something for centuries, this does not necessarily makes it completely right. Just for an example many families used to practice the nazar niyaz thing for centuries but then they left doing it(because they came to realize that it isn’t part of the religion) but for centuries they believed that to be part of religion.

If you want to ascertain whether it was made obligatory by Allah or scholars then I can direct you to this:

“Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger, and beware (of evil): if ye do turn back, know ye that it is Our Messenger’s duty to proclaim (the Message) in the clearest manner”. (5: 92)

“O ye who believe! obey Allah, and obey the Messenger, and those charged with authority among you. If ye differ in anything among yourselves, refer it to Allah and His Messenger, if ye do believe in Allah and the Last Day: that is best, and most suitable for final determination.” (4: 59).

“Say: “Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger: but if ye turn away, he is only responsible for the duty placed on him and ye for that placed on you. If ye obey him, ye shall be on right guidance.”(24: 54).

“And whoever obeys Allâh and His Messenger, Allâh shall admit him in the Gardens underneath which rivers flow.” (4:13)

“And we sent no messenger, but that he should be obeyed by the leave of Allâh.” (4:64)

Now these are Quranic ayah. There are many more and they all say the same thing: If you are to obey ALLAH then you should obey the PROPHET.
Now everyone knows the sunnah of the prophet pbuh regarding hijab. At the time of the prophet pbuh (and this is historical fact) when the verses of hijab were revealed the women and the wives of the prophet pbuh ALL covered their heads to show that they were following the commandment of hijab. Now if they were being too extreme the prophet pbuh would have told them.
For example there are hadith where the prophet pbuh told companions not to fast every day or pray all night because Allah wishes for us ease.
So if you look at it there then its not scholarly opinion at all. Its actually the opinion of the prophet pbuh. And the commandment of the prophet should be obeyed if you are to obey Allah. As for the people who were practising wrong things for centuries I do agree with that. However the people who practised and prescribed hijab were the sahaba, the tabieen and the four imams. Now these people were on a higher level of faith than those of us today. And the sahaba, tabieen and imams would NEVER have presumed to make judgement which was against prophetic tradition or teaching. They were and are the best of Muslims.
Now whether this is enough evidence for you I don’t know but all I can say is those people were better Muslims, better educated in deen and followed Islam in a better way than the Muslims of today. If that is still not good enough for you then in the end Allah knows best.

I also found this:
It was narrated that ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) said: “The riders used to pass by us when we were with the Messenger of Allaah (S) in ihraam, and when they drew near to us we would lower our jilbabs from our heads over our faces, then when they had passed we would uncover them again.

Narrated by Abu Dawood, 1833; Ibn Maajah, 2935; classed as saheeh by Ibn Khuzaymah (4,203) and by al-Albaani in Kitaab Jilbaab al-Mar’ah al-Muslimah.

So from this hadith it clearly states that the jilbab was used to cover their heads. That’s a sahih hadith. There was another one I read that I can’t find now that stated that the believing women wore the jilbab in a way that it looked like crows were on their heads. Which is another example of the head covering. If I find it I’ll post it.

thank : now this answer does make some sense that can help to determine that hair covering for women is part of hijaab. Please do share the other hadith as well if you can find it.

Abu Dawood Book 32, Hadith # 4090
Narrated Umm Salamah, Ummul Mu’minin (Radhiallaahu Ánha): When the verse “That they should cast their outer garments over their persons” was revealed, the women of Ansar came out as if they had crows over their heads by wearing outer garments.

Here’s the other hadith finally found it :slight_smile: