Covering Hair When Reading Quran

Re: Covering Hair When Reading Quran

u r absolutely ryt all dis is bidat
covering hairs wen reading Quraan is not fard , covering head wen hearing azan is also biddat , ablution to read Quran or tasbeeeh is not necessary
i know all dis is gud but it becomes biddat bcoz any additional virtue in Islam is biddat
Islam k according hamain har waqt head cover rakhna chahiye lekin azan and quran k liye koi compulsory nahi hai haan agar as usual liya hua hai to its good
baaqi we can obviously read Quran widout wuzu bcoz Allah SWT ne Quran ko parhnay aur samajhnay k liye kaha hai na k usay aik cover main pack kr k wuzu krnay aur kholnay k darr se na parhnay k liye . yes humein pak hona chahiye as in surah Toba Allah tala said k only mutaharrim people can touch dis (it doesnt mean k it requires wudu it means dose who r clean and jinkay dil pak hain wo touch kr saktay hain )

First let me say I feel for RV to have her thread going in a different direction. Not my intention. If mods feel like, it can be split. :)

Now:

Peace Psyah Bro!

I respect you a lot but do differ here with you.

I did not go in to detail on what you wrote earlier and here it is.

This is very weird idea in my humble opinion and understanding.

I have no idea where did this concept come from and I do not see it came from your red and green paragraphs.

Both green and red parts did not say one should recite Quran without understanding it.

If Alif Laam Meem cannot be understood then keep going, you get the sawaab but what about the rest of Quran?

Should one act lazy and not even try to understand what the rest of Quran means?

It can easily be seen that all red and green means, is the emphasis on reciting. So one is encouraged to recite/read.

*Quran did not come to mankind for mere recitation like parrots. Nor it makes sense to think like that.

Quran itself says it a a book of Hikmat. How is one gets to Hikmat part without understanding even the meaning of it, let alone knowing the tafseer?

I know you will say you do not deny the importance of translation or tafseer and saying that even recitation has sawaab.

But there is a problem with this kind of logic.

A lot of people recite Quran and even during their daily prayer without even knowing what they are saying.

People just rely on local half learned Mullah on telling them what any particular verse or Iyat means and think their responsibility is over. And then bigger problems begin.
At least people should know what they are reciting and keeping the translation in mind.**

Not everyone need to learn Arabic but at least try and if not then what is the problem in reading the translation from various sources?

It's not like translation of Quran is not available these days from many translators.

Last example from you regarding the day of judgment may simply means that day of judgment will be closer if there are people left
in this world who do not even know the meaning of word 'Allah', hence it is more important to get on and read the translation with Quran recitaion and not just recitation. :)

Can i quote this part on my fb?? well said

Peace Bro diwana

I feel now you are actually agreeing with me. I didn't say that we shouldn't try to understand the Qur'an, we should. This is why I mentioned effort ... But my point was "understanding" is not given to everyone and indeed everyone has varying amounts of it. It can be granted with effort, but not always. It can be granted with du'a ... But guidance is about doing right in a sincere way. The argument was since there are clear parts that the biggest intellect can not possibly understand then it is still praiseworthy to recite the Qur'an without meaning. The act of recitation itself or beautifying it orally is part of the blessing. To say otherwise is wrong.

So I'm not taking anything away from the greatness of understanding and implementing the Qur'an, I am however, adding that piety results from sincerity and effort and not from obtaining the highest distinction in understanding ... It is not to say that we should not try to understand ... We should.

Some people here are confusing themselves and others about Wudu not being mandatory to Read and/or Touch Quran Kareem.

Short answer:
To just read Quran by heart or by following a qaari or looking from far, Wudu is not mandatory but Mustahab (liked), and recommended

To touch the Mus-haf (the book) you must be in Wudu, its mandatory.

Long answer below pasted from Q & A: Is Wudu Needed for Touching the Quran?

It is not permissible to touch the Qur’an without wudu. Apart from the ruling being indicative from Surah Waaqi’ah Ayat 79, this is expressly proven in a written order of Rasulullah, Sall-Allahu alayhi wa sallam, to Amr bin Hazm, Radi-Allahu anhu, who was the governor of Yemen at that time, “None should touch the Qur’an but a Taahir (pure).” Imam Malik (RA) has quoted this Hadith in his Muatta. It is also quoted by Ibn Kathir. Allama Aloosi in Roohul Ma’ani has attributed the similar narration to ibn Umar, Radi-Allahu anhu. (Ma’riful Qur’an vol. 8)

This was also understood by many other Sahaaba, Radi-Allahu anhum. When Hadhrat Umar, Radi-Allahu anhu, wanted to touch the pages of the Qur’an at the house of his sister, she told him “Only the pure can touch the Qur’an”. Hadhrat Umar was forced to first purify himself before touching the pages of the Qur’an. (Ibid)

The above should suffice to consolidate the ruling. Regarding Ayat 79 of Surah Waaqiah, there are two interpretations:

First, Ayat 79 is the second description of ‘Kitaab’ after the first description ‘Maknoon’ which appears in the preceding Ayat. As such the pronoun ‘it’ refers to The-Book-beyond-our-reach.

Second, the Ayat 79 is the description of ‘Al-Qur’an’ in Ayat 77 and as such the pronoun refers to the earthly Qur’an. The touching according to this will be Haqiqi and (literal) and not Majazi (figurative) as in the first case.

The second interpretation, apart from it being preferred by the above quoted Ahadith, is also consolidated by Surah Abasa Ayahs 11 to 16. The fundamental principle of understanding the Qur’an is ‘one Ayat explains the other’. (Fawzul Kabir). Therefore, Imam Maliki (RA) confirms that Surah Waaqiah Ayat 79 is best explained by Surah Abasa Ayahs 11 to 16.

Furthermore, the Sahaaba and Taabi’een, Radi-Allahu anhum, differed on the inference of Mutahhiroon in Surah Waaqiah. Some say it refers to angels and others say it refers to being pure from impurities (in the state of wudu). Since there are differences of opinion among the Sahabah themselves, as a matter of precaution, most of the scholars have attributed the ruling to the above quoted Ahadith.

Although ibn Abbas, Radi-Allahu anhu has a difference of opinion on the matter, ibn Mas’ood (whom Rasulullah, Sall-Allahu alayhi wa sallam, said, “I’m happy with whatever ibn Mas’ood decides.”) Hadhrat Ali, Sa’ad ibn Abi Waqqas, Sa’eed ibn Zaid, Radi-Allahu anhum, are of the opinion that wudu is a prerequisite of touching the Qur’an. The above are all great Sahabah, Radi-Allahu anhum) from the Ashara Mubashara (those who were given glad tidings of Jannah in this world).

In conclusion, the Qur’an deserves utmost respect and reverence. And Allah Knows Best.

Psyah Bro!

1- Mere recitation without knowing what is being said is just very unusual act.

2- OK. I understand what you are saying and I already predicted that you will say that, you do not deny the importance of understanding the words.

3- All I am saying is that a lot of issues and problems come from not even trying to understand. It breeds laziness in the minds of people.

People do spend times trying to understand all other issues and phenomenon in the world then why not Quran?

4- One does not have to become Aalim or scholar in this matter but at least read simple translation.

Saying that "oh I cannot understand and to try to understand is beyond my abilities and I can just recite it; and that is good enough for me" is wrong approach.

5- I would repeat, the sawaab from just recitation is perhaps made up and those hadiths may just assumed that the person knows Arabic language.

6- I think every Muslim should try to recite Quran with some translation, no matter how much or how little.

And at least once in life time read whole Quran with easy translation, plus tafseer for any question which comes to mind.

I think, you mom watched following program. :hmmm:

I've heard somewhere that if a book contains more verses of Quran in Arabic as oppose to English then it can be touched without wudhu. If it contains more Arabic, then you should do wudhu. Allah knows best. search and read quran online to knows the best answer and if read if u read quran online you should cover ur hair.

This is not a big issue. Well you are right that wudhu is not necessary to recite tasbeeh also covering hair is also not. Talks over here. But its all based on "ways to do things" some things need to be distinguish with others. I will not use word respect here because may be you have more respect for quran and reciting tasbeeh but dont you think there should be some difference between "RECITING" and "READING". Some distinguish between reading a novel and reciting Quran?

Once again its not necessary you are right on yourside but it should not to be a big issue to prove your mom wrong. As we also follow many norms of society like wearing same school dress while going to school but it does not give more intelligence to us also wearing new or better dresses for marriages/parties etc

Your mom said this to you because.. You have to continue the best practice of religion so that future generation who see you follows you and the best practice keep alive. but if we stop doing the best practice then it will decreasing slowly as if we will not consider little drops then in end we will found we loss the whole ocean