Covering Hair When Reading Quran

A few minutes ago, my mom and I were arguing over this topic. She believes that it’s mandatory for a woman to cover her hair when reciting Quran and not doing so is like treating the Quran as an ordinary book. She challenged me to look it up on the Internet and I’ve read that it’s not required…which is what I believe. I don’t know where my mom is getting her views from…whether it’s Aalim online or some religious program…no clue. She also believes that wudhu is necessary to recite tasbeeh of certain ayats in the Quran…which again…I don’t agree with. We have enough issues to contend with and I don’t think that Allah wants to make it difficult for us to connect with him…and it really irritates me when people try to do that. It’s one thing to encourage an act to show “respect”…and it’s another to say that it’s mandatory. The latter becomes bidah.

Any insight on the matter?

Re: Covering Hair When Reading Quran

yes respect is not mandatory on you, but giving ajar of your effort is not mandatory on Allah's part either.

Many scholars believe that hijab is obligatory for women, even when they are not reciting Quran.

And your mom is right on dot about wudhu part.

BTW, itni kya museebat ayee hui hai quran parRhne kee agar aap ke pass head cover kerne aur wuzu kerne ka bhee time nahi hai. Allah miyan ko aap kee tasbeeh aur quarn kee zaroorat nahi hai, aap ko hai. Then if you want to do it, do it properly, dont try to find short cuts.

"come to deen completely!" this is what it is supposed to be...you can't pick N choose according to your likes and dislikes. your life-style must fit in Islam rather than try to fit Islam in your life style...pERIOD!

My csn sis argues with her mum on the same topic

While covering the head isnt mandatory when hearing Azaan or recitation of the Quran, I find it very weird and awkward if I even think of reading Quran without covering my head. Kind of kills the whole purpose for me. Though it *might *not be mandatory, I find it equal to offering namaz without covering the head.

Regarding tasbihs, I think it's best to be with wudu esp if it's ayat kareema

I think the awra for prayer is the same as the awra of reading Quran from the book.

Covering Hair When Reading Quran

Its not required, so why enforce it? Covering awra; doing wudhu, are specific conditions of salah, not quran. Why are people making up their own rules and conditions. Praying and reciting quran are two different things. There is no disrespect issue or lack of ajar issue simply because its not required.

is *awra *of reading quran or prayer not the general awra of muslim woman too?? :konfused:

It is not forbidden for a woman reading the Holy Quran to uncover her hair. But Quran should be given its due respect as it is the word of Allah (swt), one of the way is to cover your hair while reading The Holy Quran.

Women should cover her hair as well as her body, at the place where na mehram can see her, she is also required to abide by the Hijab while performing the prayers.

Wow I always thought covering your head was mandatory while Quran is being recited or azan is called (and you are hearing it, even if not listening) I even heard that one shouldnt speak if any of these take part and concentrate on them rather. Is it not so?

It’s presumptuous to assume OP is seeking short cuts or cherry-picking. Some people prefer to use their intellect when it comes to their faith, and don’t believe in making mandatory what God has not. Turning this into an issue of respect vs. disrespect, guilting people into conforming or reminding them that God doesn’t need them is unnecessary. This suffocating, judgmental attitude is why I avoid R&S.

RV, there is no proof that it is prohibited to touch the Quran without wudhu, let alone recite from memory. For that matter, it is conventionally accepted that menstruating women are not allowed to touch and/or recite the Quran (interestingly discredited here : The Requirement of Tahara for Reciting / Touching The Quran).

Peace All,

When I think a woman covering her head while hearing Adhaan and/or while reading Qur'an, the first thing which comes into my mind that how pious (naik) is she, she covered her head while hearing adhaan and after that will be going to offer prayer while i am hearing 'Hai Ya Lal Salah, Hai Ya Lal Falah [Hurry to the prayer (Rise up for prayer), Hurry to success (Rise up for Salvation)] still neglecting the call. Same as those women who covered her heads while reading Qur'an also remind me that we were orderd to 'learn, read and teach' Qur'an and here i am again, disobeying and wasting the time.

Peace,
I read many many hadiths and in all these hadiths, our Prophet :saw2: most of the time was in state of ‘wudu’. But the question is related to female so I would like to ask you both is there any source i.e., hadith or verse from Qur’an which states that females are allowed to read/touch Qur’an when they are not in state of ‘wudu’ and its oky if their heads are not covered?

It is narrated in a hadith those parts of the body are save from the fire which were used in/for wudu. So I think no one here would like to to see his or her any part of body burns. To keep it save, one may make habbit to do wudu first before reading/toucing quran.

In presence of an elders from our family, ladies usually covers their heads b’coz of respect or whatsoever reason. So what is wrong if one woman covers her head while reading Quran and/or hearing Adhaan? It will leave a good impression on others when they see ur head is covered while reading quran/hearing adhaan.

You only feel this way cuz you've grown up thinking that. If its not mandatory, its not.

Peace philosophy,

What u say about those reverted 'Muslimas' who keep themselves covered all the time. There is nothing like one grown up thinking that .

We daily follow hundreds of fashions /styles of actresses/actors in dressing/ hairstyles...etc., just due to our love for their 'ways' (without even trying to know whats mandatory & whats not).

In this case, let us follow the sunnah of Hazrat Fatimah (r.a), for the love of her passion for always trying to appear the way ALLAH (Subhana Wa'ta'aala) loves to see her. (How she used to recite Quran/ listen to Azaan is obvious to even those who haven't read her lifestyle completely).

Agree..

Err no, the vast majority don't cover at home, only when they go outside or are with non-mehrams.. Covering hair at home in front of family and elders (who are mehrams) is a cultural thing..

Muslims like to make the religion hard for themselves even when they are told that their religion is made easy for them by God. Another example I read here in R&S was that even if one hair of your arms remains dry during ablution, your wadu and as a result your prayer is nullified. O bhai if someone is making an effort to clean himself and pray, let him be instead of acting God.

This is another time you have addressed 'Muslims' as if you are not. Just curious. Please don't be offended.
And please don't give the answer like you did before.

If you are not or do ot want to reveal then its fine. :)

Now to the topic.

It is a matter of respect. Not sure if anywhere it is considered mandatory or would lead to 'sin' if a woman recites Quran without covering her head...especially privately.

Please correct me if wrong.

As to touching Quran, it is considered that the person be clean and preferably in the state of Wudoo. This is based on the 77th -79th Iyat in 56th Surah Waqiah.

But that does not and should not apply to non-muslims.

(Besides reciting Quran from memory has not been considered a problem without having Wudoo.)

Again it is a matter of respect and what one feels right and wishes to follow.

These are trivial matters. People don't even read Quran (especially with translation) and get in to these self made problems and issues.