Cousin's In- Laws

Re: Cousin's In- Laws

Ah, tell your cousin to talk to her husband. It's their money. He has no right to give it to them without them both agreeing to it.

See that's the thing. Marriage is not about the wedding day and gifts you're getting/receiving ladies. Its about the two people involved and what's good for THEM. Grandpa gave money because he loved his granddaughter. Money doesn't grow on trees but how will a guy who gets it all handed to him ever understand that? Working hard towards establishing yourself financially is **ALSO **a part of marriage...something crucial every couple goes through to become closer and establish trust and strength.

You wanted to gift the guy $15K, good for you. But where did that get your cousin? Who is using that money? Who will get that gift now? Your cousin's sister in law. Bravo.

Walking away is not the alternative. Nor is it always brave. What would be brave right now is for her to swallow her pride, learn from her mistakes and make the best of what she's fought so hard to get.

She has to suck it up and deal with it. She has to be the bigger person and let it go now otherwise her newly established relationship is on the rocks. Unless she has influence over her husband and his decisions - which judging by your posts she doesn't - she cannot say or do much at all.

From here on forward though, her family has to refrain from cushioning her husband and his family.

Paisay se izzat nahin banti hai, insaan ke ravaiyay se banti hai.

Money can't buy you happiness... hence proved!

Maybe I"m too much of a loudmouth, but I truly believe after marriage, all money is YOUR money TOGETHER, not "his money" or "her money". So, as a couple, your cousin and her husband should decide what to do together.

I feel sorry for your cousin, but some of it was brought on by themselves, it's their fault for giving them so much cash up front

if her husband is nice to her n no issues in martial life she should move on

I read twice to believe the amounts given as wedding gifts as I first thought thousands, and not lacs, are being discussed. Kher ji. Masha Allah. Allah karay zor e raqam aur ziadah.

Money can't buy you class either