There is absolutely nothing ewwww, yuck, disgusting or gross about marrying ones cousins. For those of you labelling it as incest, well you are the most ignorant. The least you should know is that incest is forbidden in Islam and if marrying a cousin is incest we would have found prohibitions in the Quran. You sound like immature little kids who have had an over-dose of what you believe to be the western culture. Even the west does not equate marrying cousins with incest! Where do you people come from?!?!?! If you do not feel comfortable marrying your cousins thats your choice. I think marrying within the family rules out the need for courtship which is great! You know eachother so thoroughly that there are no major shocks awaiting you. Ofcourse your relation changes once ur married, you obviosuly don't deal with eachother as you did when u werent married but it saves you from a lot of disappointment. Both parties know what to expect upfront. There is absolutely nothing wrong with marrying your first cousin.
Having said that...NO i am not marrying within my family. Even though if I think anyone of my cousins met my standards yes I would ahve married him.
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
There is absolutely nothing ewwww, yuck, disgusting or gross about marrying ones cousins. For those of you labelling it as incest, well you are the most ignorant. The least you should know is that incest is forbidden in Islam and if marrying a cousin is incest we would have found prohibitions in the Quran. You sound like immature little kids who have had an over-dose of what you believe to be the western culture. Even the west does not equate marrying cousins with incest! Where do you people come from?!?!?! If you do not feel comfortable marrying your cousins thats your choice. I think marrying within the family rules out the need for courtship which is great! You know eachother so thoroughly that there are no major shocks awaiting you. Ofcourse your relation changes once ur married, you obviosuly don't deal with eachother as you did when u werent married but it saves you from a lot of disappointment. Both parties know what to expect upfront. There is absolutely nothing wrong with marrying your first cousin.
Having said that...NO i am not marrying within my family. Even though if I think anyone of my cousins met my standards yes I would ahve married him.
*Originally posted by pyari_jii_2u: *
ok......i have this friend(n im not just covering for my self) who is in love with her cousin
n she just found out her cousin likes her
i know iz ok by islam to marry ur cousin but i mean....i think it's discusting:
knowing that he/she has some of ur blood, he/she is kinda like ur sis/bro, know ing that u called him bahi or calling her baji......
wut do u ppl think?
i just think it's ok to like....or to think they look good ....but never to fall in love with ur cousins!!!!!
i dont think......its disgusting to b in love with ur cos
many of my cos got married in our family...:)
*Originally posted by Degas: *
Islam does clearly allow cousin marriages and most cousin marriages do great.. but we can have our own preferences and not go for them but calling them disgusting and worse than animals isan act of disgust in itself.. in this world we dont like many things but should respect others faiths and culture..
yes i would agree to this and if u r not intrested to marry ur cousin or u feel its not write than dont do it
woah-hold up there. why do people always get like this? i can give my own opinion if i want. i am one of the people that compared cousins to siblings. I never said it was incestuous. And that’s fine if its allowed in Islam. I never said it was haram. I just don’t like it, i would never do it. My family is such that to me my cousins feel like my siblings. Simple as that. People are so quick to blame the west for everything that has nothing to do with anything. its all about your relationship with your cousins. I have friends and relatives married to cousins. That’s totally fine. Its just not my thing. It’s their business. I think its yuck for me.
nope..i dont find it disgusting,my sikh n hindu friends r so totally against it,n they go all eeewwww n all,but hey,its permitted in islam,i dont think its disgusting,
if ur a muslim then u believe then we r all adam n eves descendants,their children,rite?so basically we are all brothers n sisters.if u like one of ur cousins then go ahead n marry her/him.
*Originally posted by SaadiaB: *
I am against it, cousins are brothers and sisters .... If Islam does allow cousin marriage, do you really have to go and marry your cousin .. aur loug mar ge hai kya ?
ur contradicting ur statement here.. if cousins are brothers and sisters then it means Islam allows marriage between siblings which is not correct! Islam clearly states cousins are not brothers and sisters and ur allowed to marry them.. u can say u respect cousins as siblings and wont marry ur cousins but dont give the verdict that cousins are brothers and sisters since it would be contradicting what Islam teaches.. u may be helping chaltahai who only finds things in other peoples faith as disgusting ..
Pyarii- I feel the same way you do. Falling in love with cousins is like falling in love iwth your siblings. Which is definately Disgusting. But its consider OKay to marry your cousin in Islam and even in our culture.
Your friend want to marry her cousin. What is your problem? do you have any right to tell her what to do etc? You can sure tell her your opinion or tell her how you feel? but Telling her not to marry is none of your business.
You are a friend. Friends suport each other... be there for her. :~)
I dont know which planet u live but Hazrat Ali(RA) married his cousin Fatima (RA).. as well as most marriages in Pakistan are within family.. if ur too much influenced by west please dont redicule muslims..
**Correction*
Hazrat Fatima wasn't Hazrat Ali's cousin. She was Hazrat Ali's cousin Hazrat Muhamad p.b.u.h.'s daughter. So its like he married his cousin's daughter..