well you ARE related to me
no questions about that :nono:
yes it does :k:
although medically speaking its not advised
I dont know which planet u live but Hazrat Ali(RA) married his cousin Fatima (RA).. as well as most marriages in Pakistan are within family.. if ur too much influenced by west please dont redicule muslims..
one of the earliar discussions..
http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=68749&highlight=cousin+marriage
thanx…so far i have not found any saying that prohibits marrying first cousin. but my friend, who is arabic, told me a few days ago that it is not permissiable to marry your first cousin, because the baby can be premature, thus islam forbids it…i didn’t believe him because i am sorry to say, arabics are modernizing islam.
pyari_jii_2u this is your own story rite :)
pyari ![]()
there is NOTHING bad or disturbing or even slighly sick about it i think its kind of cute and better than to be married in ghairz (Strangers)…
yaar u have been brainwashed by the GORAY ppl n amreeki society…
we have lots n lots of cousin marriages in my family and alhamdulillah they are all doing great ![]()
this is the place where u put your religion behind the culuture. however it should be the other way round. religion should be the one shaping your thoughts and ideas and character not the American culture.
If it is allowed in islam then it is OK. no q’s asked :k:.
piyarii i agree with irem living in a western society does influence your thoughts :k: but i must also remind you many westerners also marry their first cousins
i agree with cousin marriages except to the point that whole generations by generations are related to one another, thats the root for genetic problems
good luck to your friend :k:
Islam does clearly allow cousin marriages and most cousin marriages do great.. but we can have our own preferences and not go for them but calling them disgusting and worse than animals isan act of disgust in itself.. in this world we dont like many things but should respect others faiths and culture..
Re: cousin relationships
Pyaar kiya nahi jata ho jata hai
is mein us ka kya kasooq agr us ko apnay cousin say ho gaya hai
thanxx u guyz
no this is not abt me! ![]()
i said that on the 1st line
DUH!!!
i will send her this page n let her decide!
thanxx again
if n e one else has commenets…plz contiue!
Islam permits marriage b/w 1st cousins. If u read da Qur'anic verses which enumerate women 2 whom a muslim cannot b married, u'll find dat tis list does not include cousinz. There4, such a marriage is permissable. Ppl hv mentioned da effects on children of such marriage but i've seen many threads of intermarriages n in which, da childeren were perfectly normal! therefore, i don't think it's entirely true! tis is not a new discovery dat overall its a 3% risk dat u get n autosomal recessive disease if u marry a cousin.
However, da prophet himself recommended his followers 2 marry outside their famalies n outside their clans. da Islamic view is dat while marriage b/w cousinz is permissable, it's preferable 2 choose a marriage partner outside 1's family. da prophet once told 1 of tis companions 2 choose a wife from a tribe different 2 his, n then choose 4 his son a wife from a 3rd tribe n 2 seek 4 his 2nd son, a girl from yet another tribe.da notion of "why marry a stranger".. assumes dat a person from 1's own family is necessarily a better human bein n a better candidate 4 marriage than n outsider just based on da family relationship alone
ewwwwwwww...disgusting. Incest is not best!!!!
Well said Xara :k:
Btw, Chaltahai.. how do you know your ancestors didnt marry cousins,.. the fact is you dont know !
Cousin marriages take place throughout the world, it is widespread amongst Jewish communities, it also happens in Christian communities. Even amongst the ancestors of the British Royal family, some of them married cousins.
I am against it, cousins are brothers and sisters .... If Islam does allow cousin marriage, do you really have to go and marry your cousin .. aur loug mar ge hai kya ?
Yeah, Islam allows marriages between cousins, but I personally dont' think I can ever even think about marrying a cousin of mine. Just doesn't feel right to me. Although there is nothing wrong with it, it's just my personal opinion on the matter.
Kareem: no need to get down right personal. Someone may actually pay attention to what you are saying, if you could get your point across in a mature fashion.
The bottom line is, as many of you have mentioned, that it's permitted in Islam. My parents are first cousins. I know many friends, who have married their cousins. There are no concrete scientific corroborations that marrying your cousin does infact lead to genetic abnormalities. So, in my opinion it is perfectly OK, to love or marry your cousin, if that's what pleases you.
pyari! kaisi ho?
anyways, i have friends who do the cousin marriage thing, and my chacha/chachi are. but me personally? :yukh: i think its too wierd. to me, even the cousins i don’t know that well, or arent as close to, are still too much like siblings to even consider it. Then u can also take into account, the lovely family politics that many people bring in to it. I’m sure there are a lot that work out just great, but not my thing.
:k: Exactly. No need to go down that disgusting road.