Cousin Marriage!

I know this topic has been brought up number of times in Gupshup but I wanted to know what new guppies especially who live in North America or in Europe think about cousin marriage.
Is it right or wrong? morally and bioligcally
I know most cousin marriages result in happiness but the other ones where their child is abnormal, I knew someone who just had a child and died immediatly becuase of kidney failiure, was it because of family marrige.
Is it even legal in N.America or in Europe, I know white trash in southern states marry their cousins.

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
** Is it even legal in N.America or in Europe, I know white trash in southern states marry their cousins.

Mind your language for we cant afford to spread racism......

Sorry about that, I couldn't find a better name, hick and redneck are all offencive.

marrying ur cousin is gross! i would never if my life depended on it. ur cousin is supposed to be ur friend, not ur lover.

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
I know this topic has been brought up number of times in Gupshup but I wanted to know what new guppies especially who live in North America or in Europe think about cousin marriage.
Its not a big deal, its allowed Islamically now its really personal preference.

Is it right or wrong?
No, I don't think so since the first cousins are considered na-mehram

I know most cousin marriages result in happiness
depends

but the other ones where their child is abnormal, I knew someone who just had a child and died immediatly becuase of kidney failiure, was it because of family marrige.

Its advised to look beyond your gene pool to avoid the genetic defects i.e. Jewish faith marry within their people hence have a small gene pool which explains their similar diseases.

Is it even legal in N.America or in Europe
I'm not sure but if it isn't, we can always make it legal

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Ï Pray OüR Ðïvïñë £ñtïtÿ Tö FöRgïvë Më, Ï A§k Yöü Tö FöRgïvë Më Oñlÿ Ïñ Hope To §©öü® Thë Hëävëñ§.

It is allowed in Islam. So I have nothing against it.
What if you do fall in love with your cousin?
and don't reply by saying your not supposed to love your cousin.

Pyaar Bhi Zindagi Ki Tarah Hota Hay.
Hur Mor Asan Nahin Hota, Hur Mor Pay Khushi Nahin Milti;
Pur Jub Hum Zindagi Ka Saath Nahin Chortay To Pyaar Ka Saath Kyon Chorayn

Originally posted by allupinmygrill:
marrying ur cousin is gross! i would never if my life depended on it. ur cousin is supposed to be ur friend, not ur lover.

No it is not gross!!

Pyaar Bhi Zindagi Ki Tarah Hota Hay.
Hur Mor Asan Nahin Hota, Hur Mor Pay Khushi Nahin Milti;
Pur Jub Hum Zindagi Ka Saath Nahin Chortay To Pyaar Ka Saath Kyon Chorayn

I am not in favour of cousin marriage but in several narrow minded families youngs dont have a choice left apart from listening to their parents.

Biologically there is enough evidence against cousin marriage, but the only thing I cant understand that cant u find any girl or boy outside the family ???? What is the purpose of marrying someone from ur family. I am not saying it doesn't happen in my family but I really hate the reasons they give for this.

It depends on who the cousin is…

I would never marry any of my cousins from the UK because we’ve grown up together, they’re like my sisters…

…but I would have no problem what so ever with my cousinees from the States or Dubai or even Pakistan(as long as they don’t have the accent) most of them r quite ummmm hot

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

Pakistan Zindabad!

This is what happens when cousins marry.

I can look at it from three angles. Medical, religious and legal.

Medically, a one-off cousin marriage has no more chances of deformed babies than any other marriage. However if inter-family marriages have taken place for two or three generations, then the risks of genetic weakness increase. So, medically its recommended that the couple gets their medical checkups (blood tests) done before tying the know.

Islamically, if something is permissible by Allah and His Prophet (pbuh) then you and I can not make it a prohibition. A cousin is a na-mehram, because you can marry a cousin. So from a religious point of view, what ever you and I think about this issue becomes inconsequential from that point on. I don't think any other religion has placed prohibition on cousin marriage, but I can't say for sure.

Legally, there is not a single civilized state in the world, which prohibits cousins marrying each other. In all civilized laws, cousins are treated separately from brothers and sisters. In all laws I know, brothers and sisters can not marry each other.

Lastly, whom you marry and whom you don't marry is a personal decision, as long as it doesn't go against the laws of the land or your religious convictions. There are countless cases of cousins falling in love and marrying or being forced to marry (to protect property). Countless cousin marriages have healthy, perfect babies.

In Western culture there is a cultural taboo attached to cousin marriages, and those who grow up here seem to regard cousins as brothers and sisters. In Pakistani culture, for various reasons, cousin marriage is very common and so those who have been brought up in Pakistan will probably have no reservations on this issue.

say if u grew up with ur cousins. u played w/ each other since u were young. u r almost as close as brothers and sisters! wouldn’t it be weird if u ended up marrying them?

and another thing

so what if it is allowed in Islam. that doesn’t mean we should take it into consideration. i can understand marrying second cousins, that would be the acception.(although i would still never do that either)

my two cousins got married to each other and it caused some conflict between the families. before they were married, they used to do it on the rooftop of my nani’s house.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pukey.gif

when you say it is allowed..does it mean it specifically says in Quran that you can marry your cousins? or is it silent about the issue and so you take it as permission?

Originally posted by allupinmygrill:
** say if u grew up with ur cousins. u played w/ each other since u were young. u r almost as close as brothers and sisters! wouldn't it be weird if u ended up marrying them?

As everyone said its a personal preference. When i was young i used to play with my first cousins, and i had a crush on one of my cousins. It doesnt mean if i play with them, i'll look at everyone like my brothers its just one's personal choice, there is nothing gross about it.

Chann ji, Qur'an goes in detail about women which men are NOT allowed to marry.

It follows in the next verse that. "Lawful unto you are all beyond those mentioned"

Yes you are right there is no specific order to go marry one's cousin, rather no objection against one should someone so choose for themself.

There is No Spoon

Quran, has a complete list of relationships which you CAN NOT marry. A muslim man can not marry his

• mother (includes foster mother and mother-in-law)
  • daughter (includes step-daughter)
  • sister of father
  • sister of mother
  • daughter-in-law
  • sister of his wife i.e. marrying two sisters at the same time.

Other than these, there is no prohibition of marrying anyone else.

The complete quranic verses can be found here: From verse 4:22 to verse 4:24.
One has to be careful, though, that Islam also attaches importance to the relationship of breast-fed kids. So if a boy breast-fed on his aunt (khala i.e. sister of his mother) then on growing up he can not marry the daughter of the same khala, as both are deemed brother and sister through the relation of breast-feeding. Without breast-feeding, there is no relationship between cousins which would prohibit their marriage.

And as PA pointed out, the next ayat says: “All others are lawful…” with additional conditions of bridal gift and prohibition of illicit sexual relationships (4:24)

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited April 01, 2002).]

HAHAHAHAHA!!!!! EXCELLENT Point Chaltahai!!

Where did the term Puppy Love …Kissing Cousins come…I think christians & many other culture can marry & do marry cousins if it comes to this…

My opinion :if you happen to find a suitable man or woman who happens to be also related as cousin..it can only empower your relationship like one more thing in common.

Its the ignorence,prejudice of half baked scientists (im geneticists myself)alien culture etc. that has given a taboo like stigma to a fact which should be celebrated ,& shared!!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/ahaa.gif

Bik Gaya Jo Woh Kharidar Nahi Ho Sakta

I'd like to make a correction here -- perhaps they've changed the law in these past two years or so, but I know for a fact that cousin marriages are not permitted in the US -- they are illegal.

There is nothing biologically wrong, but like someone above sed, its unadvisable if there has been a lot of past intermarriages in the family.

I know its a big thing in Pakistan, but considering most of it was done to protect property and to secure some sukhoon that the daughter was marrying someone the family knew well about. I think its an archaic tradition. There's nothing wrong with going out of the family to marry or out of the culture even. As long as the couple wishes to be married, nothing should stop them.

Originally posted by PyariCgudia:
I'd like to make a correction here -- perhaps they've changed the law in these past two years or so, but I know for a fact that cousin marriages are not permitted in the US -- they are illegal.

Just a further correction here. If you wanna marry your cousin, and you live in US of A, you better do it in New England, Texas, South Dakota, Oklahoma or Georgia. The rest are bad choices. :)

>>>As long as the couple wishes to be married, nothing should stop them.

Hmmmm.... actually this is a blanket statement which will not pass the test of logic. Consanguinity laws vary in places, but a narrow definition of incest is always applicable in most places.

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited April 01, 2002).]