Re: Cousin Marriage....Advice
^Its because its not in ur religion, thats why u find it strange.
That is nothing with religion (BTW you dont know which is my religion..). I know quite a few muslims which would not marry a cousin either.
^Sorry, i didn't mean to offend, All i wanted to say was that it would be kind of unthinkable for a christian or hindu anyway because cousin marriages are not allowed.
Well for alot of Muslims, cousin marriage is like eeewwwwww becoz cousins r seen as siblings.. Ill have no problem marrying a cousin.. he'll be someone elses cousin but a cousin nonetheless :)
Re: Cousin Marriage…Advice
Hey, no offense here
I understand what you mean…
And yes, for christians it is allowed, but it rarely happens…
That is what I think, for me a cousin is like a brother...cannot imagine any other kind of relation with him...just my opinion...:)
I have seen lots of cousin marriages, and so far the children have been fine, mashAllah.
Is it correct,that our Rusul **, discouraged marrying cousins. You, see marrying cousins should be the last resort. **
Jazakallah.
Al-hamdu lillah (All praise be to Allah). There is no objection whatsoever in the Islamic religion for a man to marry any of his relatives except al-maharim (those forbidden for marriage) whom Allah mentioned in surat al-nisaa', 4:23 (interpretation of the meaning):
Prohibited to you (for marriage) are: your mothers, daughters, sisters; father's sisters, mother's sisters; brother's daughters, sister's daughters; foster-mothers (who breast-fed you), foster-sisters (who breast-fed from the same woman as you); your wives' mothers; your step-daughters under your guardianship, born of your wives with whom you have consummated marriage, no prohibition if ye have not consummated; (those who have been) wives of your sons proceeding from your loins; and two sisters in wedlock at one and the same time, except for what is past; for Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.
Thus, when Allah mentioned for us the relatives to whom marriage is forbidden, we then come to know that there is no objection for the remainder of the family relations. Furthermore, there is no condition that it be the last resort as indicated in the question. Among the most prominent evidence of this fact is that the Prophet (peace be upon him) married his daughter Fatima to Ali (may Allah be pleased with them) and he is the son of her father's uncle, as well as the marriage of the Prophet himself to Zainab bint Jahsh (may Allah be please with her) and she is his aunt's daughter (i.e. his cousin); and there are many other such examples.
However, a different question may be asked, namely: "Is it better or preferable for a Muslim to marry someone he is not related to rather than a relative?"
The answer to this question varies from case to case, and perhaps it may be preferable to marry people who are non-relations, for example if one aspires to form new social ties or bonds, and regards the existence of a marriage relationship with a different family as constructive in widening the circle of social bonds.
not too sure about the medical part but i can surely tell you one thing..
** too much drama **
^Lol sometimes, unless it was the choice of the couple, in which case I think the drama is minimized.
abey yaar...
larka khala ka ho ya phoopho ka ya mamo ka ya taey ka ya chahey ka... un ki amaaa *toba toba
and if you happen to have a nand - i heard horror stories yaar...
girl gets married to the entire khandaan not just the guy
I don't think I can ever marry a cousin of mine, first, second, or whatnot. I don't agree with it.
i don't think its really a religion thing as much as a cultural thing. In Pakistan its totally normal, but in the west its a bit gross. I personally think it depends on the relation and how the two people have grown up. If they'v grown up far away from eachother then its probably easier to handle b/c theyr sort of strangers. But if they've grown up together like brothers and sisters, its a bit akward.
I think you may be more at risk if the couple's fathers are brothers, because its the same blood then....
reaction of most people abroad is "ewwww" for cousin marraiges , this is simply because thats how gorraaz feel about this issue... i firmly believe if there was some thing slightly wrong with cousin marraiges, there would have been a clear cut clue in Quran or ahaadess. However we know that Hazoor (P.B.U.H) married one of his cousins and also fatima (May Allah be pleased with her) was married to Ali(May Allah be pleased with him)... so we shouldnt look at western school of thought or any culturan norm... our only source of making a decision should be Quran and life of prophet (Peace be upon him) ... he has married in the family and outside the family ... so u can NEVER call it wronggg...thats what i believe , no offense to any body!!
*too much drama *
lol, seen it happen many times. It can destroy family relations that were otherwise peaceful prior to the cousins marrying.
Its best to see a geneticist or genetic counselor. They can do pedigrees for you and figure out whether you are at risk for producing a genetically ill baby. Of course, its never a 100 percent accurate assessment.
I completely agree. I mean imagine living together, on top of that girl calling him bhai and then getting married. Now, that's a little weird. If you have grown up totally away as koris said, then its fine. No difference than amrrying a stranger, except you just know this person a little more and it's safe.
my parents are first cousin....me and my sister turned out normal (however, my brothers are still questionable..lol...jokes, they are normal)...my sister also married her first cousin...her kids are normal....i personally think all this marrying cousins produces abnormal kids is a bunch of crock....we muslims arent the only ones....my old italian neighbour married his cousin and he told me that cousin marriages are common in italy as well....
Cousin marriages are safe as long as there isn't a genetic disease already running in the family, like cystic fibrosis, sickle cell anemia, etc. As a matter of fact, the chance of a cousin marriage producing a child with a random disease or defect is the same as two strangers having a child. The problems arise when the couple are cousins, their parents were cousins, their grandparents were cousins. That's too much. But a random cousin couple isn't anything to worry about.
As far as westerners are concerned, they know that the Bible never outlawed cousin marriages. Einstein, Edgar Allen Poe, and many other people were married to their first cousins. As far as Hindus are concerned, come on, they don't use lotas, they burn their widows, and they think it's normal for their priests to screw abandoned girls at their temples that they turn into dancing prostitutes (devadasis).
Re: Cousin Marriage…Advice
Second cousins is much less risky than first cousins. Second cousins have much more genetic diversity so the risk is minimal.