Courtyard by Marriot Historical Landmark.

A breathtaking decor, rich in beauty and historic significance awaits each guest at the newest Courtyard by Marriott in in downtown San Diego.

[thumb=C]P1.JPG[/thumb]

During my ongoing projects in San Diego, I was asked to visit Marriot Courtyard downtown for some Satellite Catcher troubleshooting with Gen 2 systems. Stayed here for two days but staying was a great effusion, which I would like to present you all from my exegesis vision.

The San Diego Trust and Saving Bank Building was designed by an Italian Romanesque Revival architectural style by master architect William Templeton Johnson, an individual who has been credited with shaping the character of San Diego during the first-half of the twentieth century.

[thumb=C]old%20pic%201.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]old%20pic%203.JPG[/thumb]

Opened in 1928, the building is still a prominent San Diego landmark. The bank itself dates from 1889 when it opened its doors as the San Deigo Savings Bank. It will be ninety-five years old this year.

[thumb=C]old%20pic%2021.JPG[/thumb] 

The Denver-based Amstar Group Ltd. purchased the building in September of 1997, and planning commenced to convert the then vacant office building into a 245 guest-room Courtyard by Marriott hotel.Housed in a 14 story, bank building, this elegant hotel is rich in beauty and historical significance. Its 245 guest rooms include: kings, double queens, jacuzzi kings, hospitality suites and a presidential suite overlooking downtown and San Diego Bay.

[thumb=C]building1.JPG[/thumb]

On June 1996 the San Diego Trust and Saving Bank was listed on the San Diego Historical Site Board of Register as Historical Landmark #335 and in December of 1999 the building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the U.S. Department of Interior.

[thumb=C]board%20details%2021.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]SD%20PIC%20BANK.JPG[/thumb] 

Touring around in the hotel was from one sectional floor to another is like you travel back 19th century time and experience what life was like in the country. It is an indoor museum with authentic pulled down in their original places of origin.

[thumb=C]wall%202.JPG[/thumb] 

The magnificent lobby has a towering 32' high ceiling with original stenciling. The floor, columns, counters, pillars and walls were made from nineteen different types of marble quarried from the all over the world including the United States, Greece, Italy, France, Great Britain and North Africa.

[thumb=C]internal%20site.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]internal%20image%202.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]wall%201.JPG[/thumb] 

The interior features marble and bronze teller cages; arched cherestory windows and circular antiqued chandeliers.

[thumb=C]hotel%20enterance.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=C]lifts.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=C]big%20mial%20box%2011.JPG[/thumb] 

Other interior features include ornate metal vault gates, wooden "coupon clipping" booths.

[thumb=C]TELEPHONE.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]PHONE%20BOOTH1.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=C]DEPOST%20PHOTO%201.JPG[/thumb]

Basement has massive steel vaults with original safety deposit boxes. The doors are missing on some safe deposit boxes because longtime owners asked to take the doors when the bank closed.

[thumb=C]door%206.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]door%20pic%204.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]GATE%203.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]big%20door%20wide.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]IRON%20G.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]IRON%20G%202.JPG[/thumb] 

Original wooden doors were either retained in place or relocated elsewhere along the floors. On the fourteenth floor, a presidential suite was created in what was William Templeton Johnson's office. There was also a shooting range on this level so bank tellers could learn to shoot straight in the event of bandits.

[thumb=C]SD%20POBOX.JPG[/thumb]

As curious evincing interest at roof, I got a glimse of this falcon which was way busy enjoying his lunch meal at 12pm sharp.

[thumb=C]FALCON%202.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]falcon%205.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]FALCON%203.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]falcon%206.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]FALCON%2011.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=C]TOWER%201.JPG[/thumb]

A Spanish tile roof topped by a tiled and domed copper cupola once was there.A revolving aerial beacon was a distinctive feature of the main office building of the San Diego Trust and Savings Bank from 1928 to 1933.
Until 1933, the cupola was a revolving aerial beacon designed to help ships and airplanes. Local legend has it that the crowning cupola was added toward the end of the project to assure the structure would be downtown's tallest commercial office high-rise.

[thumb=C]STAIRS%201.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]STAIR%202.JPG[/thumb] 

The Courtyard by Marriott - San Diego Downtown is an outstanding example of commercial historic preservation, I wish, if we had same preservation in our Country......

Hope you all will enjoy the pictures.

Regards.

YKKB.

cool :k:
thanx

k0oL pIkZ:k:

great pics,thanks for sharing.:)

very nice pics indeed...............
keep up the Good work YKKB

C:love::love:L pics :k:

moved to pol & rel images since its a "landmark" thread.

I think u should also post ur own pic :)
From Yaroo

i read your thread closely, really really interesting historical descriptions you wrote up there with the pictures. Adding the falcon’s pics was a nice touch as well :slight_smile: If you don’t mind my asking, how long have you been there now? Do you have a picture of what your view is like from your suite?

Fascinating thread due to the great descriptions to match the equally interesting pictures. :k: Historical preservation in different cities/countries is rather interesting…so much to learn! Thank you for taking the time to share these with us. If you have any more, please do share them… not only of this place but other beautiful sights that you have found equally interesting.

Great thread :k: :slight_smile: i look forward to seeing more, Insha’Allah. :flower1:

Re: Courtyard by Marriot Historical Landmark.

buhat khoooooob :k: thanx for sharing :slight_smile: , kafi mehnat ki hai aap ne :slight_smile:

Offcourse... My Dear and Respected SIR... its Zabardast :)

*Originally posted by YKKB: *
[thumb=C]DEPOST%20PHOTO%201.JPG[/thumb]

Basement has massive steel vaults with original safety deposit boxes. The doors are missing on some safe deposit boxes because longtime owners asked to take the doors when the bank closed.

[thumb=C]door%206.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]door%20pic%204.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]GATE%203.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]big%20door%20wide.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]IRON%20G.JPG[/thumb] 

[thumb=C]IRON%20G%202.JPG[/thumb] 

Original wooden doors were either retained in place or relocated elsewhere along the floors. On the fourteenth floor, a presidential suite was created in what was William Templeton Johnson's office. There was also a shooting range on this level so bank tellers could learn to shoot straight in the event of bandits.

Nice Pictures U have much knowledge about several things

Thank you so much friends, for your applause your support and your warm feedback.

Philanthrope, coOoLBreeze, PaGaL dEwAnA, Muslim_Queen and HeArT HaCKeR.

YAaRrOo, Innocent_Prince, Zakhmi Umar, Golden_Scorpion,

Nibss and Nadia_H.

So kind of you for dropping your responses and I will try my best bringing you some more attractive, definitive historical and other images.

Yaarroo, It might be a disappointment to hear, but honestly I don’t like posting or uploading personal picture of myself at all, I can understand your curiosity, I disguise often, that’s the way I have been all back years, working in different fields.
I would rather prefer meeting someone in person , so the good news is, I will be visiting Pakistan this year. ZU , GS, BM and others have already planned for a get together either in Karachi or Islamabad. More Interesting Nibss may also will be arriving and joining the same week from New Zealand.

Innocent Prince: Thanks for your remarks, and the only idea makes me alive is keep trying so still striving hard In seek of knowledge.

Zakhmi: You are welcome my friend! As mentioned earlier I might be delay but I will try to bring the best to share with you my friends, Indeed I had to work hard a lot specially downsizing a Hi Def 4 Mb photo shot to all the way to 99 KB, and it needs ample time for such, which now a days I hardly find around me.

Golden Scorpion: O thank you so much, for your good moral responses.

Nibss: Thank you ! I meant it. Being always supportive and providing ins and outs of my posts very positively, Thanks!

Nadia_H: First of all, I would like to thank you, for dropping your positive, encouraging comments, I am glad to learn that, you found it fascinating and equally interesting.
Definitely the time you responded I was there in San Diego and stayed for around three months.
SadiHyatt pretty much was a challenging project but staying there, I came across and learned lot of new things about San Diego city, which definitely I will share with you all while presenting the San Diego post this month.
Hyatt It self is a forty story building, and this was the view from my Suite.

[thumb=D]DSC02096a.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]DSC02097a.JPG[/thumb]

I am totally embarrass, could not provide or uploaded earlier fulfilling the request, due to my external Hardrive failure, which was holding all memories and moments from San Diego.

Once again thank you! And will try best to bring some more this month Starting with Coronado Island next week.

Regards,

YKKB.

janab aap se waise tu buhat sari cheezien seekhni hien lekin ab ek aur cheez bhi hai , wo kiya bhala, Angrezi :hehe: , aap jaldi se aa jao aap se milne ka bara ishtiaq ho raha hai :stuck_out_tongue: