there is so much choice i am abit lost… thing is the ones listed r so fazool that i cant believe it here is wat i have short listed
· EH101 The Internalisation of Economic Growth, 1870 to the present day (1.0)
· GV100 Introduction to Political Theory (1.0)
· GV101 Introduction to the Study of Politics I (1.0)
· GY121 Environmental Change and Sustainable Development (1.0)
· GY201 Location and Spatial Analysis (1.0)
· HY114 War and Society from the Renaissance to the Napoleonic Era, c. 1500-1815 (1.0)
· ID100 Employment Relations (1.0)
· LL101 English Legal Institutions (1.0)
· LL278 Public International Law (1.0)
· MA100 Mathematical Methods (1.0)
· MA103 Introduction to Abstract Mathematics (1.0)
· MA106 Introductory Quantitative Methods (Mathematics) (0.5)
· MA107 Quantitative Methods (Mathematics) (0.5)
· ST102 Elementary Statistical Theory (1.0)
· ST106 Introductory Quantitative Methods (Statistics) (0.5)
· ST107 Quantitative Methods (Statistics) (0.5)
someone plz help me out… i can take other courses but the thing is that they r second or third year cources and i am not really sure if i should be taking them
what r u interested in doing ur degree in? [btw its ok if u have no idea abt that right now....just anything u even think u might do..] take the intro courses in those areas ..as many different areas u can take, the better, dont take two courses in the same subject i would say... coz then u would get max exposure to the diff fields n would know better what to take next semester etc..
waisay dont u guys get assigned an academic advisor? did u speak to them? do u know any senior students? prolly not ..hmmm...what abt mad scientist, he might have friends who might be able to give u some advice??
do u know what ur friends who r going there with u r taking?
dont take too many courses n dont take tough courses ur first quarter, take easy-ish courses so u get a smooth start n good grades, get used to college n have some time to chill a bit and get used to the change, and feel good n relaxed n gain some confidence...
u prolly have a 'course shopping' period too right where u can just test the courses and see if u like em or not before u sign up for em finally? and during that time u can try out a lot of different classes?
Waleed, as I recall, ages ago you seemed to have some problems with maths. If I were you, I'd check the mathematical content of each course and pick the ones with the least / simplest maths.
Getting a 2:1 or a first is more important than showing you could do university level maths!
I'm not sure what the difference between the Quant Methods courses is, but believe me - these courses ould come in very handy when you go into the workplace... even in your internships, you could impress your management but applying the techniques you learn in there.
If the courses are anything like I think they should be, they'd include linear programming, analytical heirarchy process, and simulation...
Most of the courses I teach here in the Area of Operations & Decision Sciences require Quant Method courses as prereqs.
Abstract Math is kinda boring but easy once you understand to work with the notation your instructor/text would use.
From the non-math courses, I'd go for Employment Relations for sure! and potentially the Intro to Study of Politics...
man, I wish I had this choice at Uni undergrad... woulda been a much more all-rounded experience. Alas, I only got that in Grad skule.
irem baji : i want to do accounting and finance. yes we do get a tutor but i wont see he/she until i go to uni. this is an online course selection thing. there is no one from my skool going to my uni so i am abit stuck. though there r friends taking accounting and finance in other unis... perhaps i shoudl ask them for thier opinion.... lakin different unis have different options. thign is ehre the course u take lasts for the whole year.... even if it doesnt u have ur paper at the end of the year.... unlike amreeka :p (i presume). yep we after going to uni we have 4 weeks with in which if we want we have change our course. i dont think we can just go to all the classes we want but if we dont liek the course we chose we can change it.
mady yaar the above options r for paper 4
in paper 3 i have to do either
Quantitative Methods (Statistics)
or
Quantitative Methods (pure)
intro Quantitative Methods (Statistics)
or
intro Quantitative Methods (pure)
or just
elementary stats theory
i have gone for both intro courses but i could change it to say intro stats and normal stats or say intro stats and normal pure maths
umer talib : the intro quant methods r basicly As/A level maths stats and pure maths..... really i should be going for the normal ones because i have done As level maths... lakin i guess getting a gd grade counts.
i was thinking of just concentrating on econ or accounting or may be take a law course (to get redemption from acca or cima)
coudl u tell me wat employment relation would involve or study of intro to politics
oh acha waleed seems like things a bit different in uk than amreeka huh...over here we dont have to declare our field till our third yr and we can keep taking random courses n thinking abt what we wana do..in ur case u have already told the uni k u wil be going acc n fin n u r convinced abt that urself as well..? chalo thats good
khayr, dont know much abt stats n accounting, but ya i would say check with ur friends who r talking the finance courses in other unis, compare the syllabuses of ur college with theirs, hey might give u feedback on how dificult/useful the courses r....