Re: Counter terrorism - Sindh to ban Viber & Skype for 3 months
Skype isn’t banned in KSA.
Pakistan didn’t follow KSA when they banned youtube.![]()
Skype isn’t banned in KSA.
Pakistan didn’t follow KSA when they banned youtube.![]()
June 5 KSA bans Viber ![]()
i dont remember saying ksa baned skype:hoonh:
and yes Pakistan is following KSA ![]()
Pakistan banned youtube …will ban skype & viber… had shut down logon k mobile networks for a few hours…
So I guess its trying to follow KSA by being KSA se bhi do hath agay ![]()
Seems like Taliban and GOP have same mission and that is to take country backward. Instead of using technology to fight terrorism they are blocking internet sites so no one can use it.
Pakistan is not a developed country. IT has been introduced not in a distant past. People particularly in the government are still learning its productive use. In view of following problem what suggestion do you have to stop terrorists to use IT as tool for creating a disaster, the only target of this disaster is poor, innocent people. I know here are a number of experts in IT serving in Canada, America, England, Australia, Germany, France, KSA etc, Can they suggest a better option? baten karni to sub ko aati hain.
I am sure IT experts, private consultants or government IT specialists in Karachi must have advised the government to do this.
Sindh Information Minister Sharjeel Memon confirmed the decision in a press briefing. He said that the networks would be banned because terrorists are using them, having switched over from regular mobile services. Memon said the Sindh government has also requested the federal government to contact these companies and ask them for “access”.
There are tons of IT engineers in Pakistan, so actually using IP addresses and SIM location (GPS is common in new phones), it makes it much easier to track criminals. Now, that is another issue that nincomps like qaim ali shah are still stuck in the eighteenth century raj.
I wonder why this idea did not come in to the mind of your middul class educated MQM's governor of Sindh? Same is applicable to President of Pakistan who belongs to Karachi.
I am sure Pakistan intelligence agencies including ISI are not ignorant of the facts what you are saying. Police and army are part of this operation. I wonder where are their experts on this issue?
Again I wonder if intelligence agencies have facilities and expertise like FBI or CIA have, who can track a person in Kana Kacha or in the midst of army garrison in Abbottabad? Perhaps they even know when NS pharts after eating nihari and paayay
Skype, Viber and whatsapp blocked in Pakistan
What else is next?! They already had youtube blocked and now this! I can’t even talk to my husband or video chat. Msick of this stupid nonsense. It’s expensive to call Pakistan. ![]()
So we have to find alternatives to Skype then I guess. M s n
Pakistan is not a developed country. IT has been introduced not in a distant past. People particularly in the government are still learning its productive use. In view of following problem what suggestion do you have to stop terrorists to use IT as tool for creating a disaster, the only target of this disaster is poor, innocent people. I know here are a number of experts in IT serving in Canada, America, England, Australia, Germany, France, KSA etc, Can they suggest a better option? baten karni to sub ko aati hain.
I am sure IT experts, private consultants or government IT specialists in Karachi must have advised the government to do this.
Karachi is the business hub of the country. Do you know how much it must be affecting people who are doing business especially given the fact that previous govt increase the calling rates on behalf of PTCL and UAE govt in the name of investment in the country? This is a stupid idea. Btw, most of the terrorism related cases in Karachi are political in nature & most of the killings are done by political affiliated groups & not by Taliban.
Tauba Tauba! :no:
Was it not possible to tract the criminals who were using these methods rather than banning altogether for all?
After all Bugti was traced by his cellphone as far as I remember reading.
Please ban the taxes I pay to Pakistani govt - Because I cant trace them either :)
Was it not possible to tract the criminals who were using these methods rather than banning altogether for all?
After all Bugti was traced by his cellphone as far as I remember reading.
Maybe the Sindh government doesn't want to 'disturb' them?
It is possible that they want them to revert back to sms and gsm calling, which might be easier to trace.
woh tandoor bhee ulta dou jahan saay yeh qatil khameri rootian aur roghni naan laity hain.
uss qasai ko bhee ulta latka doo jo inn ko gosht baichta hai
woh road he toor dou jis pay chal kay yeh loog dhamaky karty hain
uss darzi ko hee sangsar kar dou jiss saay yeh qatil apny eid kay joray silwatay hain.
Pani aur hawa kay ban kay liay eik APC aur honi chahiay
And the facebook page and web.sites.of TTP remain active for.their.propoganda. Pakistan is a basket case.
Exactly.
This is why I see no hope for our country.
This stupid Bhutto Baba thinks that Skype/Viber/etc. are used by “burgers”! Someone should smack him on his forehead. May be it will bring some sense in him.
Bilawal Bhutto just showed that even spending all one’s life in a Western society does not change the wadera/chaudhry mentality of those people. Most sardar of Balochistan are also foreign qualified and so was Benazir. But it did not make a slightest of dent in their thinking.
Interesting read. ![]()
http://www.moremag.pk/2013/10/04/war-of-words-between-bilawal-and-twitterati-on-chat-app-ban/
Bilawal’s apparent try to show support for his provincial government’s act of banning Chatting services like WhatsApp and Skype, resulted in a worthy criticism over the young leader. Bilawal tweeted “I’d rather lose an app than another life”. These words, an irony within themselves because of his living in safe haven of Dubai, attracted some sarcastic reviews from some of the Twitterati. Ghareeda Farooqi tweeted “WhatsApp/Skype ban and Bilawal’s response came under discussion here in Joburg and a Brit said “I’m sure he is single these days” !
“In a more sarcastic vein, social activist Abdullah Saad (@kursed) asked the PPP co-chairman if such methods were actually successful why governments around the world had not adopted them to deal with their own internal security threats.
In much visible frustration Bilawal replied “Dear Burgers, Sorry about Skype/Viber/Whatsapp. Excuse us while we catch some terrorists and save some lives. SMS for 3 months. Sincerely BBZ.”
This Ban even generated a funny trend on twitter as #Terroristskypeids where people started suggesting alleged IDs used by terrorists on Skype. My personal favorites among the suggested was OBL_SubhanAllah, Hoor_Atom_Bomb, ImranKhanApnaJani, Zindagi na phatay gee dubara.
Somebody should stop those PPP waderas.
Sindh government exposes itself to ridicule - DAWN.COM
“The security strategy of the Sindh government is incomprehensible,” says Ms Mahmud. Security experts maintain that clamping down on popular messaging apps is going to be an ineffective strategy since it will not be able to achieve the supposed plan of targeting criminals unless the overall security system was strengthened. “When you [Sindh government] do these things, you should have collated some kind of data that indicated how many criminals were using Skype, Viber and other smart apps and for what purpose. Do you think the criminals will go on any such forum to announce that they are going to kill someone!” says Jameel Yusuf, former Citizens-Police Liaison Committee chief, who was infuriated over the government decision. The best way would have been to enter the system that is via these apps and track them down, he adds.
As for the future course of action, P@SHA president Jehan Ara says that her association will first try to meet Mr Memon and convince him to take back the decision and if that strategy does not work then she will try to convince her association members to take legal action. “We have been quiet for too long now. Technology has no borders and our government’s policies instead of encouraging our growth are hampering it.** What they have done is against human rights and against business rights,**” she says.