Poor hubzzy got diabetes now.. thanks to his family who non stop call him about all their little and big issues and stress him - newayyyy - The doctor prescribed the pill twice a day..After doing some research I have hope that we can prevent the ‘goli’ and just a whole bunch of diet control and exercise. He is going for miles long walks . Today is the 2nd day. This morning, fasting his number was 210 in the test. I also found karela powder and kala jamun powder and karela juice in the desi store which supposedly helps lowering blood sugar. We are feeling like so wierd cose we never bought diet anything from the market. Splenda scares me. Tonight he took the pill just cose’ sort of experimenting.
we shall see tomorrow morning.. ideas on how to prevent the goli will be appreciated…
Re: Could you avoid daily pill after diagnosed with type 2 diabetes #11 in A1C Test??
I need to find one of my old posts but for now I'd say don't get 'diet' foods like splenda. You need to change the way you eat and the first and biggest change would be to cut out refined carbohydrates. Don't eat bread, only wholemeal if you have to. Roti should also be made from wholemeal flour or a mix where it is in the greater percentage. No pasta. Cut down on rice a lot. No cakes, biscuits etc. Fresh veg instead of fresh fruit. It will take time to get the sugar levels down and he will have to remove s lot of fat from his body.
Re: Could you avoid daily pill after diagnosed with type 2 diabetes #11 in A1C Test??
Dont worry, Sadly its very common these days.Khair, make sure you take 3 proper meals a day at scheduled time and a hi-tea, light snacks etc.
Proper diet and exercise and keeping weight down is helpful, but if it comes to the point of taking pills, then it may not be wise to not take the pills.
Glucose metabolism is disturbed by stress but diabetes is not caused by stress based on available information.
It is a myth. Stress can increase its severity but stress does not ‘cause’ diabetes.
Diabetes develops from other medical reasons/genetics etc.
are you saying Metformin pills? Then you should not stop it - maybe reduce the dosage after you consult with the doctor.
The pills are supposed to be taken as well do the necessary exercise and diet control.
are you saying Metformin pills? Then you should not stop it - maybe reduce the dosage after you consult with the doctor.
The pills are supposed to be taken as well do the necessary exercise and diet control.
yes it is these pills and after talking to a bunch of friends he decided to just take them.. we feel that the doctor is implied to always tell to take the meds.. but people who have gone thru the same are better Judges ... we hate taking meds thats the thing..
Finally bought a sack of whole wheat aata, artificial sugar packets, sugar free marmalade, brown bread, etc
Its better ur hubby must take diet in parts , means if he is hungry , dnt take full meal, keep gap, atleast every 2 hours , he should take sugar & carbohydrate free diet.
keep doing Exercise in routine and take ur medi in start, with passage of control diet n exercise, medi will be reduced.
and keep him happy, tension free ..... May ALLAH bless u both n ur family.
:-)
It is simply just irking me now. The damn number on the machine wont budge. It was 200 again... May be we need to give it time. But it is a fight now....we have to win...he is going on walks after meals...taking ACV in
the morning..there is just one more thing that we need to bring in the list of remedies...Shall know in the morning sighssss cant wait to see a 100 on that thing...
Success! Well to some extent.... It was 164 this morning... not bad not bad haan! So far I have brought home each and every remedy known for lowering blood sugar... such as the peelable channy that you can munch on like a snack , Fresh methi in his roti which is whole wheat, Cinnamon in chai and I even sprinkled some on his sabzi ki bhujia hehe it gave a nice aroma and couldn't quite tell, He didn't take ACV this morning complained of diarrhea from it, Pecans as snack, lots of blueberries...and ofcourse I am keeping him' happy' Uff khuda kia imtihan hai! well Thats about it ...
Can't wait for that 100#
My dad was diagnosed with diabetes last year. And just like your relatives, same his siblings. We blamed them for him being diabetic.
Don't stop taking medicine. What helped my dad was balanced diet instead of artificial sugar, sugar free stuff like sodas, marmalades. My mom did desi nuskha. Take some kalay chanay. Add water and leave overnight. Drink the water and then grind the chanays with water and drink it. It helped my dad's sugar level from 421 to 180 within 2-3 days. Now its almost been a year, he's taking the pill but doing exercise one hour daily, its usually cardio and he's eating everything, everything matlab everything and he's been healthy and in good shape. He reports his sugar level every month to his doctor. So, please dont make him stop eating things he likes. He can have anything but with balance. Honestly, my dad loves mithai, anything meetha. Exercise has helped him a lot.
And btw, my jaith(my hubby's brother) is also diabetic and he uses the same technique but with two hours of workout.)He's young and my dad old, so...) But still my dad is way better healthwise than in his circle.
Oh one more thing, he needs to drink chana water first thing in the morning before having breakfast.
My dad was diagnosed with diabetes last year. And just like your relatives, same his siblings. We blamed them for him being diabetic.
Don't stop taking medicine. What helped my dad was balanced diet instead of artificial sugar, sugar free stuff like sodas, marmalades. My mom did desi nuskha. Take some kalay chanay. Add water and leave overnight. Drink the water and then grind the chanays with water and drink it. It helped my dad's sugar level from 421 to 180 within 2-3 days. Now its almost been a year, he's taking the pill but doing exercise one hour daily, its usually cardio and he's eating everything, everything matlab everything and he's been healthy and in good shape. He reports his sugar level every month to his doctor. So, please dont make him stop eating things he likes. He can have anything but with balance. Honestly, my dad loves mithai, anything meetha. Exercise has helped him a lot.
And btw, my jaith(my hubby's brother) is also diabetic and he uses the same technique but with two hours of workout.)He's young and my dad old, so...) But still my dad is way better healthwise than in his circle.
Hey! thanks for the info dear..
I really appreciate each and every bit... I will definitely put the kaley chaney in water right now... He is also doing 1 hour walk after dinner.
walnuts are better then pecans.
please do see an RD and discuss food options and meal plans according to the guys tastes and habits, meet as many times as needed till you are 100% sure of what he should and shouldnt be putting into himself. 5 desis will give you 10 different ideas, most of which are bound to be half-truths.
all i can say is that the sugar level did not go up overnight and regardless of what you make him eat and drink it wont go down overnight either. see good docs, nutritionists and plan out based on that. InshaAllah the level will stabilize and come down.
exercise wise, if he is trying to drop weight, instead of a walk, he may want to do a sprint-walk or sprint-jog sort of interval training. 20-30 minutes of that do more than an hour walk.
keep at it, and dont worry, you are doing the right things to manage it by diet, exercise and medicine.
please do see an RD and discuss food options and meal plans according to the guys tastes and habits, meet as many times as needed till you are 100% sure of what he should and shouldnt be putting into himself. 5 desis will give you 10 different ideas, most of which are bound to be half-truths.
He has to see a Endocrinologist on Monday... I do realize the importance. Still can't totally deny that certain foods such as karela and jamun help lower it distinctly.. hence asking people's experiences .. the biggest drop in his number I believe came from cinnamon and kala channa chat that I gave him night before... Thanks for your input I totally appriciate and this thread is more of a support channel for me than any thing else.
all i can say is that the sugar level did not go up overnight and regardless of what you make him eat and drink it wont go down overnight either. see good docs, nutritionists and plan out based on that. InshaAllah the level will stabilize and come down.
exercise wise, if he is trying to drop weight, instead of a walk, he may want to do a sprint-walk or sprint-jog sort of interval training. 20-30 minutes of that do more than an hour walk.
keep at it, and dont worry, you are doing the right things to manage it by diet, exercise and medicine.
Thats the thing exactly, I told him this will take time.. only if I could tell my self. He is not over weight per say.. walks are working for him,, may be he can graduate to sprinting next..
This morning the number was better again.. so we are getting there little by little...
Diabetes is not just sugar level disease. Even if you achieve blood sugar control, other issues also need attention.
It affects many body organ functions.
*Roughly half of General medical/Primary care knowledge is based on treating diabetes and its complications.
You need to also try to have him seen by various other specialists including heart and kidney doctors.
It may start from simply checking protein in urine (albumin).
Work also on cholesterol control as needed. I am sure Endocrinologist will talk about that too.
yes it is these pills and after talking to a bunch of friends he decided to just take them.. we feel that the doctor is implied to always tell to take the meds.. but people who have gone thru the same are better Judges ... we hate taking meds thats the thing.. Finally bought a sack of whole wheat aata, artificial sugar packets, sugar free marmalade, brown bread, etc
I have been diabetic since 1997. It is well controlled by tablets, mainly metformin. it is a very good tablet, so ask your hubby to take it regularly, eat properly and take care as to what he eats coupled with a lot of exercise. regular checkups especially of eyes and kidney function is very important. If treated properly it should not interfere with your normal lifestyle. I have been diabetic now for nearly 16 years and live a normal life. One thing which has helped me cope with it is that I never let it overwhelm me or dominate my life.
Thats the thing exactly, I told him this will take time.. only if I could tell my self. He is not over weight per say.. walks are working for him,, may be he can graduate to sprinting next.. This morning the number was better again.. so we are getting there little by little...
yeah slow and steady, lifestyle adjustment is key to help manage this or possibly even reverse it.
if walks are working then good, stay on an exercise plan, consistency is better than overdoing and overstraining and then not being able to do it or burning out (been there)
as far as artificial sweeteners go, read up on any other effects of them. I really never believed them but then realized that diet coke and coke zero which have aspartame were giving me headaches. been soda free for over a month, dont miss it, and no headaches.
I do understand you are doing your best to do what is best for him without it just being a shock to the system and total change were he misses things he likes, so its tough to balance and artificial sweeteners fill the gap when needed. Just wanted to add a side note about them from someone who did not really worry about side effects of these things, splenda and truvia are supposed to be natural and better from what I have read but how much better and all plus what effects they have, i dont know.
keep at it, maybe both of you can go for walks together, walk, talk, lift up his spirits, I am sure he is concerned even if he has not said much, so making it a couple commitment to his health may be a boost for him mentally until he is less stressed about it.
do tell us what new items you cooked up to keep things interesting but healthy. My mum makes kala chana baked shami kebabs which are amazing and i cant really tell much difference at all.