Corruption in the Army

A respected organization few decades ago has tarnished its image by involving in politics and now becomes the most corrupt with no accountability. Read the following report.

DAWN.COM | Pakistan | Financial irregularities

**Corruption in the higher echelons of government is all-pervasive in Pakistan and it would be unrealistic to expect the armed forces or the relevant ministry to be above financial malpractices. Hence the findings of the auditor-general that Rs18.4bn have not been correctly accounted for in the defence ministry’s budget of 2006-07 should not really shock anyone. **

Nevertheless, it is difficult to swallow this piece of information with equanimity. In 2005-06 the irregularities had amounted to Rs26bn — a huge leap from Rs1.1bn in 2004-05. But before we start celebrating the decrease this year it should be noted that the irregularities form 18 per cent of the audited spending, which means that the entire budget was not placed before the auditor. The internal auditing done on a test-check basis covered only 12 per cent of the accounts.

**Moreover, the autocratic approach of those managing the defence accounts is also cause for concern. The auditor general has complained that many of his observations have been disregarded and no action taken as suggested. Discrepancies must be explained if doubts are not to be cast on the credibility of the account managers of the defence ministry. Greater interdepartmental cooperation and coordination would certainly help. **

At first glance it appears that dealings in land (the source of much evil in Pakistan) have also corrupted the armed forces — probably the biggest landowner in the country courtesy the cantonments and the Military Estate Office. Why should the men in uniform be allowed the ‘privilege’ of bending the rules to skim the country’s prime lands?

Re: Corruption in the Army

Ohhh
Be aware of Dogs

This is a report on illegal corruption. However, if we consider 'legalised' corruption by the armed forces, it would easily be in trillions. No other country has as huge cantonment areas as we do. In no other country most beaches are reserved for armed forces elite. In no other country forces run fertilizer and cement plants!!!

In my opinion if army had been honest in its dealings, perhaps we would not have people like Zardari, Ah, NS, in the forefront. I want to see the day when Pakistani courts can summon army officials for their misdeeds and corruption. Perhaps not in this century but the next one or till country exists.

I wonder where are hate Zardari Mafia here? Had this thread of being Zardari's mismanagement, it would have gone to 200s by now.:)

Again nothing new... Pakistani Army mostly higher ups are the most richest officers in the world. Some of them are more richer than big business men of Pakistan and mostly got rich after getting into Army. Our ex-president is no different case.. That also includes some of the ex-Naval officers as well..

Mostly this is the fruit of wars Pakistan has fought or is engaged currently with the help of countries like UAE, SA, USA and not so surprisingly the biggest contingent of UN peace keeping missions comes from Pakistan army. and you will see a lot of Pakistani forces deputed in Arab and African countries as well. This bring $$$ and hence immense corruption :)..

Now I am ready for the spanking from everyone :)...

^ No need for spanking. The things you are talking about are only a minuscule of what's going on. How come Military officials get all those plots and perks in prime areas of country? How come doctors (for one example) serving in the government hospitals and universities and actually 'doing' something for the country do not get any perks like that? Who gave military the authority to distribute public land to incompetent officers?

Have you guys seen cantonments as large and as close to cities as we have anywhere else in the world?

The plots or only peanuts .Something else happening there only for..................

There's been massive 'organized' corruption in the army lately. Musharraf had appointed his chamchaz in pretty much all the civilian departments... I mean what business does a senile general or a brig have in the specialized education departments? Utha kar har airey gharey ko daal diya, but kudos to Kiyani for kicking these idiots out, though alot of them retired and are working as civilians in the same departments.

Ok friends! I suggest you some steps to sort out these army people; keep them away from Cantonments/cities - it would be better to keep them at 'Kala Pani'. Do not send them in UN Missions; let Indians and Bangladeshies go for UN peace keeping missions.
My friends its all propaganda of enemies of Pakistan to demfame your armed forces. your enemies do not want any organised institution to exist in Pakistan. Please do not help your enemies. Enemies of your country can't do anything without help from within. have you guys ever got an opportunity to get close to or live with army people. facts are quite different from propoganda. they are fine people commited for betterment of country. we can't doubt their intentions. who are sacrifising their lives at Siachen, who are fighting in Swat and FATA. have you ever imagined, how many of our officers and men have laid their lives for the country?
So please don't get entrapped in the propaganda of enemies of Pakistan? help your country instead!

^^^This is not propoganda of enemy, but report of auditor general of PaKistan. Read the first post. Not all army people are angels and honest. By covering those corrupts would never make army better. Corrupts whoever are they should be brought to books.

We love our army. We need it but it can perform better and no bad if the reports about some of them would be discussed. Corrupt if there should be sorted out.

This is certainly a funny complaint! Let me present a different point of view.

A large number of Pakistani people support the idea of ISI and other agencies fund, train and even staff terrorist operations into neigboring countries (well they call it covert missions when it succeeds and terrorist operations when it fails). These terrorists / covert operatives have to be somehow funded. Therefore these agencies are given veryt large amounts of 'discretionary funds' that do not need to be accounted for with specifics.

Is it any wonder that when such large sums are allowed for 'secret' ops, that some of it disappears into personal pockets of generals politicians and their friends?

This is the story of every dictator since 1947. I think that is the root cause of corruption in Pakistan. The question is who is going to fix it?

Thanks for your insight on the subject. If you are telling the truth no one would dare to spank you. Believe me.

Zardari Hate Mafia is still absent here. They think it is o.k. if military is corrupt but it is not o.k. if Zaradari is corrupt. This is height of hypocracy.

Once again attention of Zardari Hate Mafia is drawn to real problem of corruption or roots of corruption. Unless this is resolved corruption in Pakistan will go on perpetual.

^ Did you have to dig a two months old thread to defend Zaradari on the basis that others do corruption too? :D

PPP ka bhi haq hai corruption kernay ka :)

I demand Musharraf to be tried under article 6 of the constitution for abrogating the constitution. I demand the assets of every army officers to be probed and if they have robbed the tax payers they should be tried for corruption and brought to justice.

But who is going to bring these people to trial. The present government who was voted by us and entrusted with this task is not doing this job properly. I suuport the initiative of judiciary who inspite of non seriousness of the government to persecute these crimes has started this task. I hope they can give respite to the nation and help us recover this robbed money!

Just read the Ayesha's book abour Army Inc (correct name) and you will have an idea of corruption in army. However, under normal circumstance I don't believe any army-man can be summoned to civilian courts anywhere in the world, but in an army-man vs civilian case both should be answerable to civilian court.

I hate Zardari, NS, AH, Shujaat, Pervez Elahi, JI, MMA, corrupt generals and bureaucrats, not to mention the several chor cabinet ministers like Maulvi Babar Aawan, Naeem Qamar, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Rehman Malik etc. from the bottom of my heart :D....koi naam buch gaya hai to mein ma'azrat khua hoon..

What sane person w'd defend corruption in any department?

Remember the NRO list of 8,000+ robbers includes both civilians and military personnel