Corruption Chronicles

Just after reading Zobia’s topic and her fine deduction that since Pakisani nation is corrupt so they deserve most corrupt leaders !

I could not agree with her more :lajawab:

I represent the people she is talking about. Since only Pakistanis who living in Pakistan are corrupt , not the one who left it years ago. Becasue their host nations have thoroughly sterlized them with heavy dose of honesty , character and self-righteousness that in a few years time, fertile ideas of corruption, its application and it benfit all erase from their mind and body. :sleep:

So , those who live or has lived in pakistan for some time , please share your accounts of corrution , embazzelment, and breaching laws.

I know it is too much to ask. As no one wants to be politically incorrect and shed their ‘good guy’ costume.

So here is mine :

-We stole electricity for quite some time.

-Bribed police many times due to :

i) not carrying documents
ii) breaking law by pillion riding
iii) underage driving

-I break signal whenever there is no trafic police officer at duty. Or i feel like it.

-Bribed / used infuence on corporation / LDA staff for illegal construction of house and other buildings.

Please share the incidents (if any) where you have done corruption or broken a law on your own free will.

Please spare us from bad mouthing the system. Frankly, because we have heard this rhetoric billions of time already

Please feel free to criticise / curse me and the people of pakistan as we are inherently corrupt and not only corrupt but elect corrupt leadership for your beloved Pakistan

Re: Corruption Chronicles

now this is good.... 'confess up people

all im guilty of is using a friends contact in lahore airport to jump the que on arrival from london.

infact i have been a victim of lahore police once, the "How much money have you got?", "Let me count it" from a police officer in defence LOL. When I asked "what happen to my money?", the reply came swiftly "Lahore police have taken it" LOL. It was only 200 rupees. Was worth every penny.

Nobody bribes anybody out of their own free will. The system makes them resort to it. If I cannot get possession of plot legally allotted to me in due time, I am being forced to bribe. If my feasibility study of a new project is sitting in the IPB dark corridors for years, I am being forced to bribe. Then there are long lines at government offices to get their work done, all people do not have time to stand in line all day long at the passport office , so forcing the people to stand in line all day long just to get that damn passport they are forcing people to bribe.
How can I talk about the bribe without cursing the system ?

i m sure i gave money to traffic police once but cant remember when.

any how i never use to give money to the coppers even they asked and always had to go to the Secretariat to get my papers of the bike. now all u had to do is go their pay the fine and thats it. but no, every time i go there couple of guys used to stop me at the gate asking "paa jee ki masla aee". i tell them fine jama kerwa k papers lainey hain buss. they use to say "kina fine aee". i go RS.100.
so they use to say give me 120 and i go get the papers for u and other one goes give me 110 and i go get the papers for u and i use to say no i ll get my papers myself just tell me where the office is and they use to say "jao lub lo ap hee'. lol

sure i had to suffer a bit but i never use to go easy with bribing except that one time i dont even remember when and why.

Ab banda poochai ,agar eid shabratai police wala Rs.100/200 liyai baghair nai chortha aur LDA ka clerk badshah Jauhar Town ya Wapda Town kai nai plot kee registry chai pani kai baghair nai daita tau hum kaha jai .Ya bike/gari band karwa lai aur plot kee registry ko bhool jai ya phir apna kaam niklwanai kai liyai thora kharcha paani ka intizaam karai. Agar qanoon na bhee torai tub bhee system in batau par hum kau majboor kar daitai hai.

-I break signal whenever there is no trafic police officer at duty. Or i feel like it.

lol I like it how you translated it literally from Urdu ;) I did that a lot of times in Pindi, but not Islamabad. The traffic police in Islamabad during the 80s was pretty darn good. In Pindi, I didnt do it because I like to run red lights, its because everyone behind you starts honking at you if you act like a tameezdaar shehri and wait for the light to turn green.

After approx. 8 years of moving back, my family still struggling to 'fit' into the system.

Their experience of past few years:

1. Discovering their electricity being stolen by the neighbours. Them ending up getting bills for the neighbours house cum primary school. Neighbour when confronted remarked, "all the electricity connections are MY connections". He was arrested by the police but was released in no time after bribing them (Such kind of people running a school, instilling what kind of morals among young kids?).

2. Father ended up paying to claim the right on his own land he had purchased more than a decade ago. Despite having all the right documents, he was told that the land belonged to another owner.

3. Discovering an incident where a distant family member was hit by a policeman where there was some protest going on against the government and since this distant relative was NOT a part of that protest (he was passing by the area for some other work of his own), he with the help of his contacts got hold of that specific policeman, went to that police station and beat him up real bad himself inside that policestation INFRONT OF HIS OFFICERS until that policeman APOLOGISED for hitting him.

4. A cousin shot dead because he intended to marry a girl who was also admired by another college student (The girl wanted to marry the cousin). But the family was forced to tell the media that he comitted suicide (Reason to kill: Love).

5. Staff of an acquintance being shot in the neck just to 'warn' the acquintance of the consequences if he did not sign some documents as per the interest of that party. He denied; hence was shot at with heavy firing. Luckily, he survived by jumping out of the car but lost his car (Reason to kill: Money).

These are just a few. Each one a new terrorizing experience. There are many more. But imagine the future of a nation with this kind of system and morals.

damn.... ill be careful who i fall in love with next time im in pakistan :(

at our home some one else was using our telfone some how with the help of PTCL staff and we end up paying for it.
then meter readers taking money from neighbors putting their used unit our account
when we got the bill my father was shocked went to check the meter reading and the reading was still around a 1000 units behind what was shown on the bill.

AND U PAY EXTRA FOR MORE UNITS U CONSUME

tax agents sent house taxes of Rs 300,000 per year to all the houses then all of the house owners had make deal and bribed the tax agent to charge them correctly

what a country
u want to buy a car, u pay 20% to 30% on top of thr original car price (its called own)

-my cuzin was hit by the car, car left, he was left on the road for two hrz, doc say it is good he is no more otherwise he would had paralyzed. May ALLAH SWT rest his soul in Peace
his mother (my khala) is on the wheelchair.

• my other khala’s husband used to work in Pak Arab fertilizers. he used to bring some bleach (produced in that factory).

my khala’s entire internal system (lungs, kidney, hence everything) was stopped…since she got cancer.

my two other cuzins (who also used to work in well known industries) lost their lives…cuz of the air pollution- fertilizers- expired medicines- local doc (who works who are hired by these well known group of industries) tell us positive reports…or jab yeah loug mar jata hain to un ki bachoon ko 6-7 lakh pakra ker choor daitay hian.

• i know of a famous cook…who used to put cotton in his haleem

• VIP culture (as i myself part of it) e.g. in Pakistan status is a huge thing…kis ka aba, kis k aba say kitna bara hai.

• infrastructure: Margalla Towers during Earth quake, or collapse of Northern Bypass bridge Karachi…etc

and it will be great if i dont go into housing scams.

• education system…after 61 years India’s literacy rate is 61% and Pakistan’s literacy rate is 49.9%…and bangladesh (~37 years) is 47.5%

• political system…out of 61 years of independence, 34 years are ruled by 4 dictators, and 27 years were ruled by 25 so-called elected leaders. (in which some were elected twice).

-** health system**: without proper hygienic food, cleaned water, boiling weather (~31°C or more), besides 60 per cent of Pakistan lives in rural areas, an overwhelming section of medical personnel and health facilities are located only in cities. For example, 85 per cent of all practising doctors work in the cities, which comes to a doctor-population ratio of 1:1801. The rural doctor-population ratio happens to be a pathetic 1:25829. Similarly, only 23 per cent of the hospitals in the country are located in rural areas and only 8,574 hospital beds (18 per cent of total) are available to a population of 80 million. (source)

rest i will discuss later.

Wrong !

People do it all the time, to save their skin… to do illegal stuff.

I asked specifically to spare the system for the time being :flower1: The “system” can not log in and come here to defend it self. Let talk about people , the people like me who do corruption , illegal stuff. The people make the system. Lets condemn the devil first insted of thowing stones at the statue.

Say this

" Code Red ! Shame on you and people like you who do the nasty acts and giving us and our country a bad name. You are scum for our country. Please stop doing corruption or else we will through you out of our beloved Land of purity !

For God sake , for once stop this *ghaibana burayee *of corrupt people of pakistan. Say it upfront. Tell us to get our act right or get the hell out of here.
Its not that dificult, if you can say it in you private blogs you should also say it here :k:

By the way I (Knowingly) elect corrupt leader for local bodies and Parliment of Pakistan, Because i religiously cast my vote in election. And I am not joking !

There are millions of people like me in pakistan.

Now that you know that you(and your families) are victim of people like me. Now it is your religious, moral , and national duty to convince me to mend my way and stop it for once.

I use my contacts to bypass customs when I carry vintage wines. Only reason is you cannot find any wine in Pakistan. That happens once or twice a year. I would be happy to pay tax on it if the government allows it.

i have never

but sometimes i feel like