Corrupt Politicians of Pakistan

While I am ever optimistic about Pakistan’s future, it is because of average Pakistanis like you and me. The love for our country has persisted despite the wrong direction Pakistan has taken in the past.

I wanted to hear your opions on the corrupt politicians of Pakistan. To clarify, Politicians include dictators, bureacrats and others who have governed the country after Quaid-e-Azam’s passing.

In my opinion (supported by facts), Zulfikar Ali Bhutto’s corruption and hunger for power absolutely destroyed our country at critical junctures of history. There is no doubt about his charisma or the great oratical skills he possesed. Nor am I denying his many contributions in the nuclear field and the establishment of the friendship with China. What I want to impress upon everyone is that my claim is not driven by hatred nor has ZAB or his party ever done anything personally or to my family. My abhorrence for the man stems for the wrongs he committed against Pakistan and the Pakistani people. I speak as a patriot.

Even before we start about ZAB and the later day leaders, we should not foeget what GG Ghulam M, General Ayub, and Justice Munir did to our country.

corruption and hunger for power absolutely destroyed our country at every critical junctures of history.

Now what I want to know is which leader, is not guilty of that?

Originally posted by MiniMe: *
Even before we start about ZAB and the later day leaders, we should not foeget what GG Ghulam M, **General
* Ayub, and Justice Munir did to our country.

corruption and hunger for power absolutely destroyed our country at every critical junctures of history.

Now what I want to know is which leader, is not guilty of that?

Excellent analysis Minime. Justice Munir made the Pak. Judicial system a vassal of the Exexcutive, while Ayub brought the scourge of Military rule onto Pakistan. GG G. Mohammad was another power hunger machiavellian who brought us the grand tradition of horsetrading and politics of personal vindiction.

I am not a partisan. Despite the damage done by the above individuals, ZAB takes the cake. Bhutto's diastarous counsel of '65 war, the creation of Bangladesh in '71, the humilitation at Simla, the Baluchistan repression, the creation of FSF, and the politics of personal destruction, with active killing of dissadents and jailing of the opposition, are a litany of complaints against 'Zulfi' of Pakistan.

ZAB's personality cult still remains strong in Sindh and 'Fortress' Punjab, however history gives us a keen sense of his actions and the havoc he played on the affairs of the country. If one closes their eyes and adopts delusionary approach of becoming an apologist for the man, there cannot be any discussion.

Lets not forget ZAB's cronies in particular M Bhutto of Sindh and Khar of Punjab who both unleashed a reign of terror on their respective provinces.

Soon after 65 war, Bhutto left Ayub’s cabinet over differences concerning Tashkent agreement, founded Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) in Nov. of 67.

You seems to have forgotten Naizi and Yahya, brother! ZAB never admitted his defeat in 70’s election, though, he had to but blaming ZAB for the downfall of East Pakistan, is WRONG! PPP won a large majority in West Pakistan but, failed to reach an agreement with Sheikh Mujib-ur-Rehman, the majority winner from Awami League, East Pakistan. Reason? Bhutto rejected idea of Mujib-ur-Rehman of accepting ‘Six Points’ to be the part of the Constitution of Pakistan, which was right!

Rest, we all know what Pakistan Army did to Bengalis.

I wouldn’t say that, brother but there’s no credibility of Simla Agreement, anymore.

That counts!

What’s FSF, brother?

That happened when Zia took over!

I guess, Pakistan’s leadership fallin’ apart soon after the assassination of the late former PM Liaquat Ali Khan. Since then, we had leaders givin’ us large promises of hopes, and doin’ nothing!

Currently, Musharraf Govt. seems to be failin’ on Corruption as people like Fasial Saleh Hayat, Sherpao(Jamali’s class fellow[whoah there!]) and Sikandar Rao are members of Democractic Govt. despite of Corruption charges by NAB, Hilarious! :rolleyes:

PT, FSF was ZAB's personal army, as some people would say. Its the predecessor to PSF in some wars.

Rajput, you are forgetting that ZAB was the only Muslim leader in the world that had the guts to ditch the US, and he was part of the large Muslim leaders coalition building against the US. The man was a great orrator, decision maker and had influence over the people of this country. His anti-American stance ultimately earned him is death, in the form of an american stooge, Zia.

His economic policies failed miserably, but he did give the nation its only viable constitution, and even in his last days in his cellar, he made sure that Pakistan went nuclear.

When we talk about corrupt politicians, I would say that Zia, Bhutto etc do not come remotely close to the levels of corruption our present day politicians have shown. Have you seen the horse trading that was carried out in this recent election? If you are really into politics, you should know that the worst thing is this party changing after the elections. It defies the basis of having a political party.

*Originally posted by Spock: *
PT, FSF was ZAB's personal army, as some people would say. Its the predecessor to PSF in some wars.

What's FSF stands for? I bet people would be right about sayin' FSF as 'ZAB's Personal Army'. Afterall, he got booted by his own appointed COAS!

Brother PT, appreciate your thoughts. I’d be very glad to answer all of your concerns. Again, I want to stress that this explanation is not due to personal hatred for the man rather his policies which condemned our nation.

Soon after 65 war, Bhutto left Ayub’s cabinet over differences concerning Tashkent agreement, founded Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) in Nov. of 67.

Those facts do not account for ZAB’s role in the 165 war where our soldiers fought gallantly. However, lets backtrack a bit before we even arrive at Tashkent. ZAB being the Foreign Minister and a man whom Ayub Khan considered a confidante, was also one of the hawks calling for a guerilla style campaign in Indian Kashmir, he pushed for Operation Grand Slam. ZAB not only forwarded the fallacy that the Indians would not cross the Indian Border (they did) but also spoon fed the erronous notion of the cowardly ‘hindu’ Indian Army would never stand a chance against the Pakistani onslaught. Later, Ayub would discuss his betrayal art great length in hisbook “Friends not Masters.” As one would imagine Ayub Khan would have his biases so lets discount his judgement. A non-partisan western source said:

Source: Indo-Pakistan War of 1965

**After Pakistan was successful in the Rann of Kutch earlier in 1965, Ayub Khan (by nature a cautious person) was pressured by the hawks in his cabinet (led by Z.A. Bhutto) and the army to infiltrate the ceasefire line in Kashmir. The action was based on the incorrect premise that indigenous resistance could be ignited by a few saboteurs. Ayub resisted the idea as he foresaw India crossing the international frontier in retaliation at a point of its choosing. The Bhutto faction, which included some prominent generals, put out the canard that Ayub’s cowardice stemmed from his desire to protect his newly acquired wealth. It was boasted at the time that one Pakistani soldier was equal to four Indian soldiers and so on. **

Heres Pakistani Military position as discussed in Defence journal:

Source: http://www.defencejournal.com/july98/1965war.htm

The then Foreign Minister Mr Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, and the Foreign Secretary, Aziz Ahmed spurred on by Major General Akhtar Hussain Malik, who was commander of our troops in Azad Kashmir, pressed the Government to take advantage of the disturbed situation in the valley and direct the Army to send raiders into Indian held Kashmir for conducting guerrilla activities there and to help, on a long term basis, the locals in organising a movement with a view to eventually starting an uprising against the occupying power.

I have many more sources, but they are mostly books and articles and would take a while to prove.

You seems to have forgotten Naizi and Yahya, brother! ZAB never admitted his defeat in 70’s election, though, he had to but blaming ZAB for the downfall of East Pakistan, is WRONG! PPP won a large majority in West Pakistan but, failed to reach an agreement with Sheikh Mujib-ur-Rehman, the majority winner from Awami League, East Pakistan. Reason? Bhutto rejected idea of Mujib-ur-Rehman of accepting ‘Six Points’ to be the part of the Constitution of Pakistan, which was right!

Yahya was a drunkard and a womanizer, but let the facts and truth stand where they are: He was (and may still be) the only leader of Pakistan who allowed free and fair elections where citizens expressed their choice for government. Yahya held no ambitions for power, and sincerely wanted to hand over power. Cowasjee as respectable Columnist wrote an article discussing Yahya: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/area-studies/SouthAsia/SAserials/Dawn/1996/12Sp96.html#gene

Niazi’s role in '71 has not been forgotten, however are you aware of the genesis of the conflict? Niazi was assigned to E. Pakistan after the Provincial adminstration had collapsed and Mukti Bahini was under operation, the popultion totally alienated, Civil authorities either resigned or in rebellion. Plus he was detached from the GHQ facing in India + Bangalis simultanoeusly. I am not here to exonerate him but rather to point out the convenient scapegoating. It is also interesting that after Bangladesh was created and Bhutto was CMLA, he never court-martialled either one of the people you mentioned.

PT, yara you forgot another member in this affair: Tikka Khan AKA “Buther of Bengal” whose operation Searchlight was responsible for the cold blooded murder of civilians, children, and intellectuals, which btw, is widely considered to be the turning point of Bengali public opinion. Tikka Khan what people fail to bring up, was also a Bhutto crony, in fact his PPP meanderings in Hazara are all to well known. Pakistan Chronicle says:

**Idhar hum, udhar tum
February 22 Responding to the president’s announcement that the new National Assembly will meet on Mar 3, the Pakistan People’s Party leader Zulfikar Ali Bhutto has said: "We cannot go there only to endorse a constitution already prepared by a party, and return humiliated… We have a duty to those millions who elected us. " Mr Bhutto proposes that the PPP should control West Pakistan while the Awami League could rule over East Pakistan. He has also warned his newly elected delegates to the National Assembly that he will break the legs of any party member who dares to attend the March 3 session. **

I have the paper copy of the chronicle however someones also put it up on the web. http://pakistanspace.tripod.com/1971.htm

Bhutto winning a “large” majority haha! PPP won 88 out of 310 while the Awami league doubled that by winning 167 seats. The government, prime Ministership was theirs. To see the election results: http://www.storyofpakistan.com/contribute.asp?artid=C028&Pg=7

Bhutto’s pathetic attitude is well recorded in Sardar Sherbaz Khan Mazri’s book “A Journey to Disillusionment” where Bhutto groveling to Shiekh Mujib for even the smallest portfolio in his government, when refused (as the Awamis could easily form the govt) a defiant and still power hungry Bhutto began manipulating both the W. Pakistani politicians as well as the Military. As for the 6 points, yes I realize that they were going to lead to an independent Bangladesh but our name would not have been dragged through the mud like it was. Our military participated in the most barbaric repressions against their own citizens, lets not forget the shameful disgrace our military suffered as POWs . All of these issues would have been resolved in a amicable manner. I project that Mujib forming the government would have created an Imdependent Bangladesh, but we would be morally and ethically justified once that would have happened. Pakistanis stuck in Bangladesh would not have been chopped to pieces on the streets of Dhaka nor would the Biharis still be shamefully stranded there.

*I wouldn’t say that, brother but there’s no credibility of Simla Agreement, anymore. *

Brother it was humiliation in the sense that Kashmir became a bilateral issue. For ZAB, who had formerely castigated the Tashkent Agreement, was forwarding the Simla agreement as “a great victory” for Pakistan!

The further treachery of ‘Zulfi’ can be highlighted when he stated that the Pakistani POWs “hail from an area that has served as cannon fodder for centuries” and did not even discuss the provisions of their release!

In Baluchistan and NWFP he ousted non-PPP govts and began a campaign of terror against the tribes of Baluchistan. Rather than discussing their views, he made innocent men, women and children martyrs. By now he had already cowed the Army, and the brutal repression of the Baluchis made average citizens into freedom fighters. Bombs dropped on villages, tribal areas closed off..misery starvation…but why? Simply because the Baluchis would not bow down to his supremacy.

Cont’d hehe sorry folks!

What’s FSF, brother?

Brother PT, it was the Federal Security Force under the Command of ZAB, the most brutal, Pakistani equivalent of the Gestapo. Journalist Abdul Sattar Ghazali in his book talked about it (Please take a minute to visit the page)

Source: Islamic Pakistan

**Equipped with all the executive and legislative powers, Bhutto became a civilian dictator under the facade of a democratic government. His rule as the all-powerful prime minister from 1973 to 1977 was more undemocratic, more oppressive and more intolerable than the two martial law regimes, which preceded his government. **

more,

**The Federal Security Force was the most visible instrument of Bhutto’s terror and oppression. Its victims were both individuals and political parties. Bhutto organized the Federal Security Force not only to suppress the rightists and Islamic forces which attacked the government through language and religious movements, but also reduce his reliance on the army.[11] During a national assembly session in November 1975, when a constitutional amendment limiting dissent, was being pushed through, the FSF was brought in. Several protesting opposition members of the House were beaten up and physically thrown out of the assembly. **

Just to let you know, I have more and better sources (Text based), If you’d like more information on the specific murders, and harrassments of politicians.

All in all, the residents of Sindh and Punjab were blatantly duped into believing that ZAB actually cared for the people. Brother PT, to this very day PPP has two campaign strategies in Sindh and Punjab. In Punjab they take a heavily anti-India and an extremely patriotic and populist and in Sindh their message turns to overly Sindhi nationalistic and feudal.

Bhutto was a very intelligent and talented man, his thirst for power and extreme distrust of everyone led to his downfall. By mentioning his downfall in no way am I implying that during ‘Daur-e-Zia’ things turned for the better.

Folks, believe the diverse sources or don’t-- it’s up to you. But before you make a decision on Bhutto look at him through my eyes-- eyes of a patriotic Pakistani only.

Spock, I consider you a brother-- in fact all Pakistanis are my brothers and sisters, but you cannot justify many things regarding ZAB.

FSF was ZAB's personal army. Those "some" people that you talk about are the families of the murdered opponents, challengers of Bhutto and yes they would be fully justified in calling it a personal army-- one which committed extra-judicial killings at the behest of Zulfi.

Rajput, you are forgetting that ZAB was the only Muslim leader in the world that had the guts to ditch the US, and he was part of the large Muslim leaders coalition building against the US. The man was a great orrator, decision maker and had influence over the people of this country. His anti-American stance ultimately earned him is death, in the form of an american stooge, Zia.

Spock, yara I'm not "forgetting" anything. I fully agree with your statement. Did I not mention his contributions to the Nuclear field? I think your assuming that I am here with some anti-Bhutto ideology which could be further from the case. Every Pakistani leader had some good and a lot bad, what I speak of, as an Independent but Patriotic Pakistani, is Bhutto's damage to the state.

I knew that as I was typing my response to Brother PT (it is rather long) many Pakistanis absolutely love and adore the man, and I would clearly be offending folks, however as a matter of principle and truth I had to bring up ZAB. I never considered Zia to be a good guy or his government justified.

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

What's FSF stands for? I bet people would be right about sayin' FSF as 'ZAB's Personal Army'. Afterall, he got booted by his own appointed COAS!

Brother PT, FSF reported directly to the CMLA-- which was Bhutto. The COAS nor the military had no jurisdiction over the FSF. His overthrow was probably at the behest of the CIA as Spock has mentioned.

With reference to ur subject of the post .. I have seen so many people hating Bhutto andstating reasons but accusing Bhutto of corruption is a unique one here! Even Zia who had to satisfy public opinion against Bhutto with all state machinery and power couldnt make a single case of corruption against Bhutto and had to try other tactics .. Can u please state any particular cases u have heard or read in Bhutto's corruption..

Who is not power hungry in Pakistan.. u think Musharaf is not? Sadly our political system stems polititions to hold on by all means and not a single leader is without that problem..

With faults like any other human being Bhutto's achievements and valour stands apart from any leader of paksitan. U say ur patriot.. can I ask what acheievement or service u have done for Pakistan? Bhutto is loved by crores in pakistan and is on record the most admired and respected leader.. calling urself patriot ur accusing majority of Pakistanis as unpatriot! I think patriot is someone who admires the great Bhutto..

all the politicians combined could not have done enough damage to our country than these generals who have sold us out over the years.

very interesting topic, thanks RF.

Just wanted to say that while Ayub did set a bad precedent, he did many many good things. He was perhaps a bit too power hungry for his own good but his reforms were some of the most effective. We can talk about them in more detail if I could only find some of my books.

Also, when we were studying ZAB's reforms, I couldn't help but admire this man's wits. His reforms looked the most drastic and powerful yet they were entirely ineffective and extremely docile. ZAB is perhaps the biggest villain of Pak history for his role in the Banlgadesh fiasco. And Yahya and Niazi are right up there with him.

But from what I know, Ayub's acension to power while not ideal did do a lot of good. So, IMO post-Jinnah, Ayub was the best Pakistani leader despite his faults.

With reference to ur subject of the post .. I have seen so many people hating Bhutto andstating reasons but accusing Bhutto of corruption is a unique one here! Even Zia who had to satisfy public opinion against Bhutto with all state machinery and power couldnt make a single case of corruption against Bhutto and had to try other tactics .. Can u please state any particular cases u have heard or read in Bhutto’s corruption..

When I made the original post, I used very loose terms for corruption, politicians etc., I am getting the sense that your thinking of financial improprieties, while I am taking an all encompassing defination. Webster defines “Corruption” as:

Main Entry: cor·rup·tion
Pronunciation: k&-'r&p-sh&n
Function: noun
Date: 14th century
1 a : impairment of integrity, virtue, or moral principle : DEPRAVITY b : DECAY, DECOMPOSITION c : inducement to wrong by improper or unlawful means (as bribery) d : a departure from the original or from what is pure or correct

Source: http://www.m-w.com/cgi-bin/dictionary

I believe my statements regarding ZAB have been within the boundaries defined by Websters..no inconsistaces there.

Who is not power hungry in Pakistan.. u think Musharaf is not? Sadly our political system stems polititions to hold on by all means and not a single leader is without that problem..

I never argued who was power hungry and who wasn’t! My intention was to discuss all those who are power hungry. It is my opinion (and supported by many, many facts) that ZAB’s hunger for power did the most damage to the State of Pakistan. This may have evolved into an anti-Bhutto thread only because I know many people are ready to chalenge my assertions.

With faults like any other human being Bhutto’s achievements and valour stands apart from any leader of paksitan. U say ur patriot.. can I ask what acheievement or service u have done for Pakistan?

I would strongly suggest that you steer clear of personal attacks. I wish to discuss matters in a civilized manner, to challenge me to bring up contributions to Pakistan would not only be inappropriate as I am not as petty to bring them up and also unwarranted as I am niether running for nor intend to occupy the highest offices of Pakistan.

**Bhutto is loved by crores in pakistan and is on record the most admired and respected leader.. calling urself patriot ur accusing majority of Pakistanis as unpatriot! I think patriot is someone who admires the great Bhutto.. **

Hitler too was loved by “crores” of german, so was Stalin…Public opinions and perceptions are greatly diverse and fluctuate with times. I call myself a patriot to prove my point in saying that my interests lie for the country only and to impress upon all of you that I don’t hold an agenda to bring down ZAB in order to bring up someone else. I have always sought the truth, and if you could kindly refute the “allegations” made by the diverse personalities which I have quoted, this discussion would move beyond plain rhetoric.

Where did I accuse the majority of Pakistanis as unpatriotic?? Once again I will request that you do not make up slanderous lies to cover for the defense of ZAB. I believe that your last statement makes us all clear of your biases. I am not putting words into your mouth, but when I say I do not admire the “great” Bhutto, am I unpatriotic? If so, I will not waste my time responding to you in this thread.

Rajput bhai,

The killings associated with ZAB are not entirely his fault... I hope you know how he was mobilizing the Islamic world under one banner (the embargo, oic and all), and it was the CIA that ultimately made the kill. Ofcourse, they had to put in some justification, for which they got Zia and these murder cases.

As for Ayub; those that have witnessed his times, still speak highly of him, even after such a long time. We do not hold our present leaders in such regards, which proves that Ayub was infact a great leader.

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
very interesting topic, thanks RF.

Just wanted to say that while Ayub did set a bad precedent, he did many many good things. He was perhaps a bit too power hungry for his own good but his reforms were some of the most effective. We can talk about them in more detail if I could only find some of my books.

Also, when we were studying ZAB's reforms, I couldn't help but admire this man's wits. His reforms looked the most drastic and powerful yet they were entirely ineffective and extremely docile. ZAB is perhaps the biggest villain of Pak history for his role in the Banlgadesh fiasco. And Yahya and Niazi are right up there with him.

But from what I know, Ayub's acension to power while not ideal did do a lot of good. So, IMO post-Jinnah, Ayub was the best Pakistani leader despite his faults.

Samb, Your verywelcome :)

As you mentioned Ayub Khan, I agree that the man had many faults and did good as well. However I am very much biased in that regard as my family background, hometown area are very much positively influenced by Ayub. I think that every politician has done some good for the country. I have openly admitted to ZAB's accomplishments, hell I'll even admit NS, BB's accomplishments but we should look at every leader's net effect on Pakistan meaning the good versus bad. If we balance them out, you will find only Quaid-E-Azam comes in the positive category wholeheartedly.

I will quote from Sardar's Mazaris book:

"Pakistanis deserve better than the crises that regularly inflicted upon them. The people of Pakistan cry out for honesty and integrity. Today they seem to have lost all hope of a better future. With a hundred and fourty million people mired in poverty and illiteracy it is difficult to see how the issue can be resolved quickly. Looking for a messiah to save us is not the answer, but an exercise in wishful thinking. While we need to rein in the viceregal pretentions of our political leadership, we must work towards a future where the rule of law exists. No person should ever again deem himself to be above the law of the land. To attain this goal we need a truly independent judiciary which is selected solelu on the basis of integrity and merit, and not on political patronage"

- A Journey to Disillusionment (Pg. 623)

*Originally posted by Spock: *
Rajput bhai,

The killings associated with ZAB are not entirely his fault... I hope you know how he was mobilizing the Islamic world under one banner (the embargo, oic and all), and it was the CIA that ultimately made the kill. Ofcourse, they had to put in some justification, for which they got Zia and these murder cases.

As for Ayub; those that have witnessed his times, still speak highly of him, even after such a long time. We do not hold our present leaders in such regards, which proves that Ayub was infact a great leader.

Spock yara, even if I believe your statements what about the rest of ZAB's doings? His autocratic ways and hunger for power still stand even if you exonerate his part in the killings. By the way, by killings I am NOT referring to the Kasuri case which was surely orchestrated by CIA and it's lapdogs (Zia & Co.).

Hatred and Condemnation, are two different scenerios. :slight_smile: Though, I admit ZAB could have done better but to single out one guy for the fall of Decca, is absurd.

Hmmm, I think the real reason behind ZAB regisnation from FM was because of Taskent Agreement. Anyone willin’ to back me on this, please do so.

Fairness of General Elections split the country!

I can’t bank on what Cowasjee said. Yahya was a power hungry. Period!

Yahya Motta: WWW[Wealth, Wine, Women]

Cut this Idhar Hum, Udhar Tum crap off!

In this thread, Zakk included a link from a DAWN newspaper, which is no longer valid anymore, denying Bhutto raised a slogan of Idhar Hum, Udhar Tum. I’m sure you’ve read it as you have replied to thread more than me!

ahem

Bhutoo winning as a majority from West Pakistan, not East Pakistan. Both sides didn’t reach agreement over ‘Six Agreement’ as a part of the Constitution of Pakistan. ZAB was correct 101% in the rejection of it. Then, ball came in the court of Yahya. He broke all the records!

RF yara, Bhutto isn’t the only one to blame for downfall of Decca. Mujib played the equal role! Did you know flags of Bangladesh[Made by India] were flew all over East Pakistan on the Republic Day, March 23 1971? Mujib was the real power hungry politician. Soon after Independence, it was Mujib, who wanted M.A Jinnah to declare Bengali as a National Language of Pakistan besides Urdu. Why? Because there were more Bengali speakin’ than Urdu. After that, Jinnah did accept it but not Decca as a Capitol of Pakistan.

Is it really? How? United Nation doesn’t give a jack about Kashmir. It’s policies run by the United States; and the Uncle Sam won’t solve problem rather than making money from both Pakistan and India. We as a Pakistanis have got to be careful on that as we have already spent 75% of our budget on defence.

He did suceeded for the release of POWs. Whether Tashkent, Simla Agreement or Lahore Declaration with India, all invain.

Correct! You got my back on this!

Originally posted by RajputFury:

From Story of Pakistan: Muhd Zia-ul-Haq’ Profile

On April 1 1976, in a surprise move, the then Prime Minister of Pakistan, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, appointed Zia-ul-Haq as the Chief of the Army Staff. It is interesting to note that five senior Generals were superseded. Bhutto probably wanted somebody as the head of the armed forces, who would not prove to be a threat for him and the best available option was the simple General, who apparently was interested only in offering prayers and playing golf. However, history proved Bhutto wrong, and Zia-ul-Haq proved to be much smarter than he looked. When the political unsuitability reached its climax due to the deadlock between Bhutto and the leadership of Pakistan National Alliance (PNA) on the issue of general elections, Zia-ul-Haq took advantage of the situation. On July 5, 1977, he carried out a bloodless coup overthrowing Bhutto’s government and enforced Marshal Law in the country.

I don’t smell CIA! Deadly Airplane crash of Zia, you bet. CIA was behind on that as US Ambassdor to Pakistan, former CIA director[don’t remember his name] got killed as well.

Can anyone deny..

-It was sole effort and great tactfulness that today we find Pakistan as a nuclear state.. and the only muslim country to have that honor! and muslims around the globe still remeber his words " Hindus have the bomb, christian have the bomb, jews have it..the only nation that dont have it is muslims - but that time is going to be changed.. "

• Bhutto for the first time in the histiry of Pakistan brought politics to ordinary people ..

-Created a muslim countries block .. Bhutto was the first international leader we had... with brilliant foreign policy..

-The only period in Pak history 1973-77 Pakistan was away from USA influence..

-When given a chance to get out of country by Zia he preferred to stay and endanger his life- Is this corruption!

In last election PPP still got the highest no of votes was a testamant that Bhutto did one of the amazing thing for Pakistan.. and that was to give dignity to a class of people that had never got recognition as citizens of paksitan even after so many years.. he distributed land to a class of people who had no identity .. I know many people dont know there are very low casted people in Pkaistan who could never buy any land or property even they had money.. since they had no ID's..

But the so called patriots cant see problems of majority of paksitan since they can easily be swayed by dictators by slogans .. what does Webster say about the definition of "see through the eyes of a patriot"?