Corner Room Feedback

To the users of Gupshup,

As you know The Corner Room’s moderation tasks have been handed down to me. I’d like to take this oppurtunity to discuss with the users on how to improve the image of corner room and distinguishing it as a part of gupshup rather than something hidden on the side.

• I’m not asking for your opinion if it should be closed.
  • Neither am I asking for your opinion if it should be more lax than its current position.

What I am asking is what do you think can be added or removed to improve The Corner Room? This is more of a constructive criticism feedback session, treat it as such.

I will take everyones suggestion into consideration, so kindly think about it and let me know in this thread.

Thank you,

CocoNut

haha. enjoy your moderating! from all the forums u got Corner Room. :rotfl:

:flower1:
Yep, it’s certainly one of THE most challenging Forums on Gupshup. That simultaneously necessitates that the individual chosen to Moderate it must possess two admirable qualities: patience and maturity. i have never possessed either so i can’t say that i would ever make a good Moderator for that Forum but i can automatically think of a few excellent Guppies who do - and CocoNut is one of them. i like the idea of his opening this thread in Feedback if it is able to generate some constructive feedback Insha’Allah.
i am certain Guppies must have some excellent ideas of how to improve its image and Insha’Allah make it a more constructive place of discussion. :k:

Restrict the forum to certain age limit (not my problem)
Define as to what extent the user can go...replying or posting

*Originally posted by Pilot: *
Restrict the forum to certain age limit (not my problem)
Define as to what extent the user can go...replying or posting

Unfortunately, restricting age limit is not possible with the Corner Room simply because of the technicalities. However, we are not against teengagers visiting the forum simply because they can get various or mature insight into a matter they were oblivious to. They have to be out of the protective bubble sometime, so it might as well start with us if they are too shy to ask around.

Your second question revolves around the Rules of Corner Room, if you read those when you enter the forum, it will explain all of it. I'm still getting used to the forum myself and you will find out what is allowed and what isn't in most discussions.

The objective of Corner Room wasn't to make it an X-rated room as people have made it out to be, its a part of GUPSHUP like any other forum on this board. There is light beyond sex, libido and sex. TCR is for mature discussions which required attention of those who have either found themselves in situations where they are unable to ask anyone else. The taboo doesn't necessarily mean what happens behind closed doors, it can be anything else that is a societal fad in N. America but a big taboo in Pakistan. There are variances and as we go along, you will see where these discussions lead. I know, I am not specific because each situation differentiates and before we can lay a guideline for it, we need to guide it on how it should be discussed or whether it should be discussed at all.

I hope this answers your question(s).

Thank you for your feedback,
CocoNut

If you want some honest feedback, i suggest you guys cover more than just topic for horny frustrated desi teens. Sex is not the only taboo subject in our society, though i personally feel that sex is not taboo in Islam at all.

I just visited the CR, i rarely visit any forms lower than WA. But just visited it and all 4 topic cover sexual topics. Honestly the corner room has become nothing more than porn forum or the like.

You cant do anything with the immature crowd and the like. However you can bring up topics which are taboo in our society and lets have a dicussion on it. One that comes off the top of my head, is the custom in pakistan to get girls married to the Quran. Or something along those lines.

Cm.. are you banned from posting in TCR? If not, then why don;t you post this one...

Banned myself

Delete threads relating sex or obvious facts. It gives a very cheap image of Gupshup coz of some retards posting disgusting threads. I thought Corner Room was to discuss personal matters in a family or similar matters. I think sex ed is mandatory in every school, so guys can learn that at the right age at school. We have 10 yr old kids visiting GupShup, and I dont think material in CR is suitable for them.

Aatif:

a 10 year old surfing the web has prolly been exposed to such material (if not already through friends from school). Sex ed is mandatory but it also needs to be addressed in the realm of Islam and muslim society in general. If you're content with the sex-ed in school and feel that it covers all the bases that you would like your child to know about, then you're right, a minor should be restricted to TCR. But for those who feel that sex-ed in school needs to be supplemented with "ed" influenced with the culture/religion, then TCR has a purpose and a need.

CM:

banned yourself? Just TCR or the entire website?

Just TCR right now, working on the whole site issue

From what I have heard, you've been working on it for a long time dude...

yeah CM.. maybe we can help.. releases bandwidth u see..

CocoNut I for one find nothing wrong with that room.. unless a bunch of prudes moderate it.. it's what it should be.. a Corner Room.

If u can't take the heat, get outta the kitchen.. i.e. close it down or provide examples YOURSELF on what topics can be discussed.

*Originally posted by ghalib: *
Aatif:

a 10 year old surfing the web has prolly been exposed to such material (if not already through friends from school). Sex ed is mandatory but it also needs to be addressed in the realm of Islam and muslim society in general. If you're content with the sex-ed in school and feel that it covers all the bases that you would like your child to know about, then you're right, a minor should be restricted to TCR. But for those who feel that sex-ed in school needs to be supplemented with "ed" influenced with the culture/religion, then TCR has a purpose and a need.

CM:

banned yourself? Just TCR or the entire website?

GS has culture/religion forums. In that case we dont really need a corner room! Corner room is to discuss personal problems .. not to deal with sex! Think about it!

Yeah i have Ghalib. I just can't piss off the liberals like you enough to get banned. Insulting our religion doesnt work, that just makes me more like you guys. Cant get banned that way. You guys like to promote religious bigorty.

I could try insulting the US, have done so, but you all still keep me around, i wonder why that is.

CM yaar, don’t get mad, people will feel the same way about you when they start reading your posts.

hehehe... you called me a liberal!!

CM: Did I tell you how much you have wisened (read: grown up) in the last few years. THis school thing is paying dividends. Now follow through on the western liberal through process that you have memorized and take the blind folds off. IT's a sunny world out here pal, with flowers and siht.

And Ghalib: I do not know what happened to you since you left NY man. You are becoming such a panty waste.

Aatif:

True.. there's a Culture and religion forums where these issues can be discussed. Maybe TCR can be merged with these forums but creating various forums just brings order to the site. Just like how politics is broken into Pakistan, World & Kashmir or General is broken into umm General, Cafe, Image, Shor. It avoids myriads of topics getting lost under one big catch-all section. Also, a good number of people who post there actually avoid going into the religion section.

whats a panty waste?