Cool Desi Drinks for the Summer

Hey folks, there is one drink you are forgetting and that is “lemon soda”, I used to buy this all the time during summer when i was in islamabad. I tried making it in home here but it never tasted the same. :confused: Try that next time your brain is melting from the summer heat . :yummy:

take a medium size kharbooza (woh jo bahar yellow inside white sa hota hai), cut it up in small pieces, add to blender, add a lil over a glass of milk, 1 table spoon sugar (more or less depending on how sweet u want) and some crushed up ice all to blender. Blend , fill your glasses , and enjoooooaaaaiyy !!! :yummy:

by the way , do they still have that "hara hara pakola...ice cream soda" i still remember that obnoxious tv commercial !!
i had pakola after soooooo long the other day at the halal meat store!

uff nostalgia...! :(

I thought it was always better from the tap.

Irem, you dont want to know. :blush:

ice cap :wink: my fav from timhortons or mango peach smoothy :yummy:

kairi ka sherbet!!! :hula:

5abi, before or after they were wiped out? :p

I like a milkshake, of pretty much anything. A nice frothy, crushed ice milkshake. Banana, mango, strawberries, it's all good.

But prolly the thing I drink most in the summer months is one of those pint-beer mugs filled to the brim with chocolate milk, sometimes with a bit of ice, drunk really quickly. An quick and easy to make drink for between bike rides.

nothing beats LASSI...the mother of all drinks

[thumb=D]1.JPG[/thumb]

cheegum :D

Recipe for Horchata

This will make the basic Horchata.

1 cup uncooked white rice
2 sticks cinnamon
1/4 cup slivered almonds
1 quart water
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Grind rice to a coarse meal in a blender. Mix together rice, cinnamon, almonds and water. Cover loosely and let stand overnight.

Purée the rice mixture, then strain through several layers of dampened cheesecloth. Mix in sugar and vanilla extract. Serve ice cold.

To serve, pour into tall, ice-filled glasses.

Strawberry Horchata (like the picture above)

Omit cinnamon sticks and slivered almonds from basic recipe. Prepare as for basic recipe, adding 1 (10 ounce) package frozen strawberries with the sugar and vanilla extract. Continue as directed.

Oh my gosh, i LOVE horchata!!! :love:
Never tried making it home and never had the strawberry one either.
5Abi have you tried making this at home yourself??Turns out good?

Ira, no I havent tried making it myself at home. Usually purchase it from the grocery market (1 Gal.) I posted the receipe for those that may want to try it at home in places where its not available in the groceries. Its a Mexican drink and not all major grocery places carry it :>

*Originally posted by Anwaar Qureshi: *
[thumb=D]1.JPG[/thumb]

Haha.. is tasweer ki jaan nahi choraingay :p

Limbu/Nimbu Soda (The regular soda not the flavoured kind) with Chat Masala, and a Pinch of Sugar.

Mango shake :k:

:yummy:

any kind of milk shake. if you mix ice cream in too, wah kya baat hai.

*Originally posted by Anwaar Qureshi: *
[thumb=D]1.JPG[/thumb]

OH my GOD! i HAVE to have that!

milk with 7 up

fill a glass half way with milk and then add 7up to it… :yummy:

:):):slight_smile: