What do punjabis love to eat…I havent had much luck with making biryani and qormas…
Any ideas for a dinner party?
How about
Chicken pulao
Chicken tikka
some salan(?)
Salad
dahi baray
Dessert (?)
What do punjabis love to eat…I havent had much luck with making biryani and qormas…
How about
Chicken pulao
Chicken tikka
some salan(?)
Salad
dahi baray
Dessert (?)
Re: Cooking for a punjabi family..
goosht innit.
if they are anything like my dad, just meat and lots of it.
my dad and his 'goosht nahi pakaiya?' is a running joke in pak. people know they need to cook a few lamb based dishes if my dad is coming...
What do punjabis love to eat...I havent had much luck with making biryani and qormas...
How about
Chicken pulao Chicken tikka some salan(?) Salad dahi baray
Dessert (?)
I'm Punjabi and we eat both meat and veg dishes. There are dishes that are common to a variety of desi cultural groups (daal, palak, etc).
How about a mutton pulao and chicken tikka? That way you'll have one chicken dish and one red meat dish as opposed to two dishes with chicken. For salan, you can make a vegetarian one. We usually make either palak or cholay.
Mutton palao
Chicken tikka
Palak or cholay (I think cholay would fit in very nicely with brown rice and chicken tikka. Murgh and cholay combo is popular.)
salad
dahi baray
I think it sounds good. If you're having a small gathering, I think this menu is simple, but hearty and balanced. You have two different types of meat. You'll have both rice and roti/naan. And you also have a veg dish. And your have your sides. You're done :)
what RV said sounds perfect...but don't forget something red and liquidy! by that i mean salan that actually has gravy. i know that's what i always search for to put on top of my rice. i know, i have paindu taste buds :)
I am a pakki punjaban and if I was your guest I would expect this :p
Moli ke parathey
Pakoray ki curry
Saag with makhan
Makai ki roti
Lassi makhan wali
Roghni naan aur fried machli
Biryani
Zarda Pulao
Champain
Paye
Missi Roti
and more:@:
Boxing gloves........
because they like to fight!
I am a pakki punjaban and if I was your guest I would expect this :p
Moli ke parathey Pakoray ki curry Saag with makhan Makai ki roti Lassi makhan wali Roghni naan aur fried machli Biryani Zarda Pulao Champain Paye Missi Roti
and more:@:
lolz no offence pr itne kuch at a single dawat.....am surely not inviting you....:P
but wat RV said sounds pretty gud!
LOL I was just pulling her leg haha… of course not I would not expect itna kuch at a single dawat:cb: .. u can invite me ![]()
just make sure there is plenty .... punjabis dont like it when there is not enough food , otherwise as paijee said boxing gloves may be needed.
i am a punjabi :)
menu suggestions:
if you have pulao , make sure u have shorba
make sure you have salad and a good dessert
include chicken and ghost , veggies can be there but not necessarily needed,
perhaps you do haleem instead of veggies.
anyways its not as bad as everyone is making it look
we are happy and fun loving people and will eat anything that is cooked lovingly
Yeh man the more food the better*burp* :p
beside these 2 dishes, make sure you make **plenty of food (and meat) **on the table :)
and after eating all that you cooked they will still come up with some shortcoming and won't be afraid to mention it on your face. "O twadee biryani wich gosht kadt si tay aaloo ziada" translation: "Biryani may gosht zara kam thaa, aaloo ziyaada thai" lol
lolz aww
ok then…you will be on top of my list when i next throw a party for all my frendz…=)
awww thats so sweet lol thanks a lot ![]()
and after eating all that you cooked they will still come up with some shortcoming and won't be afraid to mention it on your face. "O twadee biryani wich gosht kadt si tay aaloo ziada" translation: "Biryani may gosht zara kam thaa, aaloo ziyaada thai" lol
lolz oh cum on...i am punjabi and i will never ever say that and honestly...i am not a big meat eater either...!!
I agree I never say that too. That is a bit too much generalisation.
lolz oh cum on...i am punjabi and i will never ever say that and honestly...i am not a big meat eater either...!!
^ I'm Punjabi and not a bit meat eater myself. I like biryani......but I usually don't eat the meat in it. What I love most is the rice and especially the chunks of masala you get when eating biryani. A biryani chock-full of masala is what I like best.
I am a punjabi. I think most of the punjabi families are comfortable with both veges and meat. However , I have seen preference for chicken I mean if you're invited in a punjabi dawat they will sure have a "kukaar" (chicken in punjabi) ka salan as a main course.
Other than that, there are few dishes I have seen exclusively in punjabi families like :
-holay ka salam
- mothi/ red beans ka salan
-mooli kay parathay
-attay ka halwa
-gurr walay chawal
- moongray (it's a vegetable)
-rewari ( candy made of gurr)
and many many more