Converting

is it so bad converting for someone u love when in the long run both of u will be following the same Islam, and have the same sense of morals and devotion?

elaborate aisha..

a christian, hindu or jew converting because he loves a girl...converting out of love for this person, more than for the religion itself..in a sense. So would this person be Muslim after converting, and could a Muslim girl marry this person? am i making sense?

:) ive seen a few guys do that... and have become better practising muslims than their female counterparts..

i used to think i would never accept a guy who converted for me, but i think its a great idea.

aishaa, im not an expert, but heres my take on it.

In one war, when Hazrat Bilal killed a jew who had said "mey islam qubool karta huun" in order to save his life, thinking that he doesnt mean to accept Islam, is merely doing so to save himself.

The Prophet was very, very angry, and told Hazrat Bilal that today he had killed a Muslim.

What lies in one's intent is purely one's own business, and its for nobody to judge it.

my two cents.

^ exactly...

maybe the person in question should convert and then wait a little while before he marries his beloved? I mean it'll give him time to embrace Islam properly.. like praying and so on... but only Allah Mian knows what lies in ones heart

well talking from personal experience, My mom converted only for my father from christianity to Islam and the only reason was so they could get married. or My grandparents wouldn’t allow it, even when she did convert , they still didn’t accept her for a certain period of time. But now mashallah mashallah she is a better practising Muslim than my other aunts/ Uncles. Also honoring the fact that she is white. I myself are lazy at times about praying. :bummer:
I really admire my mom :queen:

thats really beautiful Mahnoor :)

i personally believe, converts become better practising muslims, just like born-agains

aisha clean ur inbox :)

*Originally posted by sadzzz: *
thats really beautiful Mahnoor :)

i personally believe, converts become better practising muslims, just like born-agains

I agree, but only in cases where their conversion is genuine and is not just something that they falsely claim to have done in order to get a Muslim's parents' approval to marry him/her.

well aisha important topic to b discuss in detail here but shortage of time inshallah i,ll reply in detail next time but any1 who accepting islam he is the luckiest person on earth b/c now he saved from the fire of hell and wht he have in heart no 1 knows except ALLAH so dont think negative about muslims acha guumaan rakhoo inshallah tumharau achay gumaan ki waja say woh acha muslim bansktha hay

masha’Allah mahnoor :slight_smile:

i think Allah is the same for all people and He understands whats in our hearts and the problems we face are…no body is a born sinner…and Allah is kind to everyone, we are all His creatures…everyone has a right to be happy…

love is the strongest force in the world…some people love Allah the most, some people love their kids, some love their parents, some their spouse, some love wealth, some love themselves..different people can love different things…

i think for me love of religion and Allah swt comes foremost and i could not convert for someone ever…

lekin…and maybe i’m wrong but if someone is converting from their religion for the sake of someone else, i dont see anything wrong with it…for two people to make each other happy, i think thats going to make God happy too :slight_smile: the rest of the things are between Allah and the person…

:k: exactly my thoughts…subhanallah…so true…

• if 1 is thinking about converting to islam do it for allah alone and the love for the religion al-islam not for a 3rd party *

*Originally posted by mahnoor@lahore: *
Also honoring the fact that she is white.

whats there to be honored in being white????

I think we all are human beings and should accept each other as we are provided one is not harmful for other human beings.

Changing one's mind for personal comfort is fine about ideas or beliefs so that person is truly oneself but conversion for any other reason could only bring discomfort and unease, for we cannot feel comfortable within ourselves if we do things with which we are not happy ourselves. In fact such a step could prove a painful experience, for we like ourselves better the way we are rather than trying to be somebody we are not.

Only sensless evil people could put others through such difficult decisions. This also opens the door to hypocricy and distrust because who knows one has converted because one is convinced of the truth of an idea or merely to make fool of the others eg the person who requires one's conversion?

Moreover, one has to think how easy it will be for oneself to convert to what others might demand of one. It is hypocritical of oneself to ask others to convert the while one oneself would not consider the very same for oneself.

aishaaa dont worry, just go ahead and convert em!! dont listen to ppl or these ppl....da only thing u should know is that the person ur converting is the ONE who u wanna be with forever, and that person whos converting to become a muslim, cant be just a SO CALLED MUSLIM... i mean u gotta make sure he/she prays 5 times and follows all the laws and pillars of islam properly to the fullest!

Good luck

Just for the record. We revert back to Islam, the religion of our forefathers. Nobody converts to Islam, because nobody is conned here.

So it is reverting and not converting.

Thank you.

calm down guys, i never said this had anything to do with me. Oh yah sorry, its called reverting