Conversation material with SAHM's

So BBQ you mean desi aunties talk in defferent lingo;)

no i just used that as an example. :)

what im saying is that it won't kill us to talk to someone else about their interests and, if possible, in their lingo. It does leave a good impression of us, don't u think?

I have a chachi who yaps yaps yaps yaps and yaps about her house and her money and her life and her daughter and her car n blahhh... i wouldn't find her so annoying if, for once, she talked to me about my college or something...

Re: Conversation material with SAHM's

BBC, you are right that it is a good gesture to try and relate to people. However, it isn't that nice to think low of someone else now is it, especially if they choose to live a way different that what we choose.

Anyhow, coming back to the original post, if PCG really wants to get into a good conversation with these ladies, she can try to figure out one or two things that are common and stick with those. One thing leads to another and eventually her evening shall pass.

I say, stay relaxed and don't go there with a judgemental attitude. If you're looking for something/someone to annoy you, you will find it for sure.

Serious advice PCG: The best topic ever is shoes..... doesn't matter what the person does or their level of education, all of us women love shoes and we love dissing American shoes and how yucky they are ...... great topic, you can spend at least 30 minutes on that topic alone :@:
Then ask to see their wedding pics or better yet, kids' baby pics..... we moms all love showing off the baby pics :)
You know most wives (working or non-working) also spend a lot of time decorating their homes, compliment them on the decor (even if its mediocre since they do put time and effort into it), ask where they bought that pretty vase from, etc. etc.

Itnay saaray conversation topics hain yaar, kuch bhi baat kar lo and do offer to help the poor hostess in the kitchen, she will definitely appreciate that.

Talk with em as you would with anyother person. Its hard to get along with many people but socializing is a learned and much appriciated skill.

I think the majority of you are being overly sensitive. She asked a straightforward question but the dramatics in you felt it necessary to wage holy war.

p.s pcg 186 posts later, you had your advice in post #3 (:

The impending yet inevitable collapse of society as we know it leading to the eventual but not distant end of the world.

works every time

I did not say I was going to ask. Nah baba!

Marna Hai Kia Mujhe? (I don’t want to die yet!) :hehe:

By the way one can tell without asking…90% correct.

diwana, what is up with the teddy bear? Why?

I put a naughty one with winking eye...no one liked it....

I put this one after three complaints (I was waiting for three),

So I tried another one which was too realistic and looked like human heart.. someone did not like that..so I put this one....what can I say.

Getting bored myself with stupid looking teddy bear doing nothing and trying to look cute!!! :D

P.S. I still like it though..my sensitive side I guess. :(

It takes a certain person who can fit into any environment, and stay at home mum's are not aliens for God's sakes. They are women who have brains, gosh the discrimination in this thead is making me laugh!

Are you seriously educated and open minded? Then be charming, polite and amicable and learn to speak to people from all backgrounds, it will help you later on in life. Sitting in the middle of these women with an ' I are sooooo much better than them, Thank GOD I don't have their life' kinda attitude is off putting. Just be down to earth, friendly and normal, it does not take much.

Don't go there with airs and a stick up your butt and you will be fine, trust me. I have met girls who come from a village and a very backward background but yet I can still chat to them about normal things and be friendly NOT FAKE! They are still human, just treat them as your equals and don't think you are better than them because your not.

LOL....she is just asking what are some conversation topics, she is not bashing them,,,

this thread is funny... :D

There are definitely women who drive me crazy with their incessant talk of hot actors, jewelry, clothes, etc. I mean a few minutes of that kind of conversation is usually sufficient. But I haven't noticed that MORE of these women are SAHM versus working women. That kind of superficial conversation is about personality, not lifestyle choice.

I've only had 5 months as a SAHM. Those first weeks were more stressful than anything I encountered at work. But now the stress level is not there really at all. It's still work, but it's also incredibly fulfilling. I really enjoy it. Of course, I enjoyed work too. I try not to spend my life doing something I don't love.

Anyway, obviously there are a lot of ludicrous and idiotic generalizations in this thread. I think even the OP knows that some of what she's said is simply inflammatory. If you're really interested in conversation, you go in with an open mind, to learn something about the other person. If you're just trying to make the time go by, well you're likely to have a tough and boring few hours.

For example, when I think about having to converse with someone who regularly watches GEO and Pakistani dramas, I want to puke Family Guy style. But knowing you a little better based on your other posts, PCG, I realize there's more to you than that, and I would actually look forward to a conversation. Maybe you could approach those moms in the same way.

By the way, I'm way more in touch with the world now that I'm a SAHM. I was totally absorbed in my work for the past 7 years (and also as a student). Now as someone with a more flexible schedule and as a mother, I have more incentive to get to know the world beyond my main interests.

Sahar02, Ive been pretty much in the same boat as you and I agree with you 100%, couldn't have said it better myself.

Re: Conversation material with SAHM’s

Sahar02 :k:

I’m really sick of people generalizing SAHW/SAHM’s !