Re: Controlling diet of your Child!
blah. nvm.
yea she should work out. must be stick thin by the time shes like 14. make sure u put her on salads.
her sole purpose in this world is to be a super model. perfect body and face.
blah. nvm.
yea she should work out. must be stick thin by the time shes like 14. make sure u put her on salads.
her sole purpose in this world is to be a super model. perfect body and face.
This is a ridiculous thread. Maybe you didn’t mean to sound gossipy and harsh, but that’s how you come across, and not like someone genuinely interested in her good health. Bringing this up with her mother or her is an awful idea- what would you say? Clearly the parents are aware and you are probably just going to join a long line of people telling them they have an overweight child. How is that helpful? As for her: she’s 9!!! I am positive she would feel nothing but awful. And like others have said, you made zero effort to promote healthy eating in your home when she came over and yet you have no issues discussing her weight as if she’s a sideshow at a circus.
If you aren’t willing to help her and her parents genuinely and commit to it for the long run, stay out of it. The bottom line is, it’s none of your business. You don’t know if there are other issues involved and what, if anything, the parents are doing about it. Maybe all the child hears are negative comments about her appearance and this is her way of coping. Poor kid! And to be publicly reprimanded over wanting dessert! Good God.
This is very much a Life1 thread.
Oh and FYI good, healthy eating habits apply to boys AND girls. Not just girls. There is more to life than being skinny.
LOl, I am so much surprised about how a lot of people are less capable of thinking out of the Circle. If you all were reading the entire conversation, S02 has already raised the point and I cleared her that, it was not that I meant and I really didn’t mean to insult anyone, be it in front or at the back. I discussed the issue because I really wanted to do something for the Girl without bringing it into her mother’s or her knowledge. But I see, how a lot of people are capable to make it a Life1 thread. I don’t think if one clears an issue, should be said again and again. So yes, at this point, I really don’t care how a lot of you feel about me that I intended to insult her, gheebat her and blah blah, because, that’s what you think and that’s not what I am going to clear here. I know what I thought, I know the purity of my concerns! I might have come across the way you people think but I literally cleared it in S02 reply and therefore I don’t feel necessary to reexplain it.
About healthy food. If skipped reading, I already mentioned, they were not invited guests and luckily I already had been cooking Biryani since before I knew they are gonna come, they just called 5 minutes before telling they are almost near to my house and called to check if I were at home. Because they are like good family members, I don’t mind their sudden arrival, I could have even prepared a little more meal but just can’t due to my 7th Month Pregnancy. Can’t be that quick. So yes, preparing a healthy food for the kid wasn’t possible at that moment. Yes, but a lot of times before, I have prepared healthy food for the girl with less spices and light sandwiches and vegetables. But she always asked me separately, Aunty kuch aur khana hay, mujhay roti khaani hay etc. & truly speaking, I never had problems with it nor do I have any problems hosting my guests. It’s not about zada khana banana, it’s just about the health issues.
I have tried engaging her in different activities including giving her some books to read, playing her an animated movie and even providing her some board games (that she can play with her brother). She plays for a while and comes to me in the Kitchen to ask how much time is left with food to be prepared. That’s what I was talking about. She feels hunger. I don’t think she just loves eating but probably that’t the demand of her body.
I thank all of you who came across positive and didn’t judge me for my words but focused on the issue I wanted to share. Thanks for coming up as wise and understanding fellows.
And I will not mind anyone misjudging my intentions here, because truly speaking, that’s what this place has turned to be, lately.
i don’t know why people keep thinking your post is rude when you went to such great lengths to explain all the nice things you did to accommodate the child’s demands and the parents’ visit. this reminds me of the whole bhains ke aagey been bajana thing. mitti pao queen, i wish you the best of luck in your new crusade against childhood obesity.
…
Err okay I’m not even a parent but I know if this was my daughter you were talking about, I’d never talk to you again. ![]()
Let me tell you why?
Because it’s not your place to comment on her ‘fatness’. And when u say things like ‘Fat girl’, ‘overall really lazy and eats a lot and watches the TV non-stop for hours and hours’, and then calling her lazy and what not.. doesn’t really look like you’re being concerned about her. It sounds like she came to your place and had 4 chicken pieces and biryani and the demanded dessert and now you’re upset about that. Get my point?
Time to maybe try wording things differently and learn from instances like this one.
About referring to child obesity, yes I’ve seen kids who suffer from this but it’s mostly because of unhealthy environments and families that rely on takeouts and greasy and sugary stuff a lot. We just have to make sure our own kids have a healthy lifestyle and grow up to become healthy humanbeings.
If they are close family friends, you can definitely talk to her mom about your genuine concern.. If not, let it go please.. None of us here can provide medical or professional advice to you to help the girl if that’s your intention..
Hadeel. You know my issue. Could you please rephrase my very first post in your words. How would you explain this to others if you had to? Maybe it can help me learn from you.
I think in this thread, we are swaying away from the main topic. Obesity amongst kids is a serious health concern in western world. We cannot shoo shoo the issue because that is being judgemental towards a kid. Queen used the example of a kid that she knows, but my guess is that she is not discussing that kid, she is discussing any kid that is overweight. Take the words fat, obese or overweight at there face value and don’t find them as insults. Let’s discuss the issue here, and not how it has been presented to us.
hum sub yahan ghalat hain, aap bikul theek hain queenie
happy ?
I wish I could like your post 1000 times. That’s why I consider you one of the most sensible people on GS ![]()
Lol, proto. First of all, I am the Woman
second. No. No I didn’t declare anything like that but I would have been more glad if it was taken positively!
Ignoring the tone of the original post and only trying to discuss how someone would handle childhood obesity if it was their own child,to the OP…you didn’t mention what kind of lifestyle the family has…regarding dietary habits,physical activity etc? What they do when they are home…plop in front of TV with junk food or do something else?As someone else said,many childhood behaviors are learned ones…they do mostly what they see.
And I have to agree,the original post was a turn off esp when I read about the # of botiyaan consumed,the emphasis on being ‘fat’ and then that too a fat ‘girl’.
The issue in the first post is that there is a girl who won’t stop eating and the girl is fat and lazy. There is an emphasis on the child’s gender AND appearance, and the concern is how to control her food intake to fix her appearance. There is actually not much attention paid to possible health concerns. I think you can refocus the topic on to health issues, but that is not how the first post focuses it.
lol, number of botiyan were counted because she sat next to me and asked ME to give it to her.
Anyways, they don’t have a lot of activities or you say, she doesn’t like to be doing anything else than watching tv. Her mother has, a lot of times, tried to divert her from there but she doesn’t listen to her. Her mother is not even a laid back woman, I see her working most of the times and even I see her directing her kids about the goods and the bads. I am just clueless how she developed such a behavior though her mother and rest of the adults are always polite, loving and caring towards her. When she does something wrong, the the adults instead scolding her, tell her politely where she is wrong but she doesn’t seem to be listening at all!!
yes, I did emphasis on child’s gender and appearance because that’s how it is being judged in our society. If a boy is fat or if he consumes more meal, will not be taken as strange as a girl will. You and everyone know, when at the time of marriage, or even before that like at the age of 15, 16, 17 no one notices a fat boy as much as they notice a fat girl. I was (& am) concerned about the girl because I care for her and don’t want her to look fat in her future or at her teenage. The only problem is I really don’t know how can “I” help her without discussing it to her or her mother.
My first post is all about how I think she comes across (the way you think how do I come across), and I feel bad about it. My post wasn’t to insult her but to discuss how do I see her and don’t want her to appear like that in future.
A few thoughts:
People eat for a lot of reasons; hunger is only one of them. Given the rest of the description of the child, I wouldn’t be surprised if she is often eating out of
a) boredom
b) a need for sensory stimulation
c) loneliness and a desire to engage with other people
It is hard to really understand a child unless you are a frequent part of his or her life at home. Children are often very different in and outside the home. The same goes for family dynamics. You may not really know what the home life is like for this child.
It is not enough to say, “Don’t watch TV now,” and then let her watch it. The option of TV has to be completely taken away and better alternative options given. And she needs help getting engaged in these. This is something her parents need to initiate.
All OP had to do was to just stick to the title of her thread. This could’ve have been a most useful thread if it was indeed just a general topic gathering ideas to control and moniter eating habits of overweight/obese children. There was absolutely no need to write such a long opening post putting a nine year old girl on a blast.
i don’t think there is much to picking healthy food for a child as opposed to picking healthy food for adults. if your family eats junk, the kids will too. and vice versa. except that adults may know that a meal entirely of fries isn’t a real meal, while a child would think that is okay. the most important part is having the table ready with mostly healthful choices, and offer any dessert or rich foods in moderation and as a bonus for eating the other parts of the meal. zimpal si baat hai.. ![]()
but just because it is simple, doesnt mean its easy.