Controlled reactions

Describing the believers, Allah says in the Quran: “The true servents of the Merciful are they who walk gently on Earth, and who, when the foolish address them, reply with (words of) peace.”(25:63)
When we read this verse, we almost see with our eyes the sort of serenity which fills the hearts of the believers. Faith produces a marked change in human character so as to make it easy, friendly, peaceful and disinclined to violence except when fighting for God’s cause against disbelievers who are hostile to the Divine faith.
Faith gives human beings serenity and reassurance. A believer is not agitated unless he faces great danger. He is reassured that he has a good position with God, which may not be threatened by any little cause. Such is only felt by one who does not derive his position from feeling that God is pleased with him, He feels that his standing is based only on how people perceive him.
Good manners and easy, friendly and compassionate dealing with others are bound to leave their mark on one’s character, giving reassurance and serenity to oneself. A person who does not repress his irritation and gives way to his anger and fury cannot maintain an attitude of good manners. On the contrary, when he is in the flight of anger, he undoubtedly reacts violently. He may easily fall in the trap of injustice, repelling a grievance with something much harsher.
The prophet has outline for us several ways of self restraint when we are too irritated. These rely on behaviour.
In this the prophet was 14 centuries ahead of modern psychotherapy which has realized that a person’s reactions are influenced, among other things, by his body position and facial expression. A strong psychological feeling produces a change in facial expression and body position, which in turn, aggravate the reaction that has caused them in the first place. This means that a psychological reaction will try to build itself up until it becomes a powerful motivator.
A strong feeling of irritation will cause angry facial expression and initiate a change of body position so as to make the irritated person ready to attack his opponent. As the irritated person senses these, his irritation becomes stronger. Hence, a deliberate counter measure that changes such physical expressions and body position will produce a counter feeling to reduce irritation and anger. That is certain to help an irritated person to cool down
Two people exchanged abusive remarks in the presence of the prophet. One of them soon became red in eye and face, with his cheeks swelling up. The prophet said: "I know a word which if this man say, all that he feels would go away. That word is “I seek refuge with Allah against Satan, the accursed one.” (Related by Abu Dawood).
Allah gives instant reward for good manners, patience, gentility and friendliness. That reward takes the form of serenity and reassurance that fill a believer’s heart. It further gives him physical health. That is the best adornment in this life.

Al.Qamar 54:17 And We have indeed made the Qur’an easy to understand and remember: then is there any that will receive admonition?

MashAllah.. good post Striving muslim

And what you wrote is correct.

However I would also like to add that sometimes when people lose their temper, it’s not neccesarily due to their 'standing’or beliefs being questioned or threatend. It can also be caused by another persons offensive or in-sensative remarks about something which is dear to your heart.

I agree that anger is not always the best manner in which to respond to these situations, but it’s an emotion which surfaces very easily when one is offended or hurt.

Either way, as muslims, We should all make a solid attempt not to lose our tempers and look kindly towards those who have hurt us… sadly this is easier said than done.. May Allah help us all to become better Muslims (ameen)..

Death is only the Beginning.

SM,

A very good post indeed.

Originally posted by Arch-Angel:
Either way, as muslims, We should all make a solid attempt not to lose our tempers and look kindly towards those who have hurt us... sadly this is easier said than done.. May Allah help us all to become better Muslims (ameen)..

Ameen suma Ameen

Striving muslim, JazakAllah

You guys, no its not easy to control anger, but thats no excuse right? :slight_smile: I mean there’s that cliche that says ‘nothing worth anything comes easily’…fighting anger, overcoming our short tempers can be hard, but i think it becomes easier with time as we try to bring its control within our grasp. Maybe it is hard but its worth it, because it adds to our sabr–our patience…and therein it also strengthens our faith…and so we are only better for it in the end.