Contacting alien life could be risky, warns Stephen Hawking

**Aliens almost certainly exist but humans should make every attempt to avoid them, Stephen Hawking has warned.**In a series for the Discovery Channel the renowned astrophysicist said it was “perfectly rational” to assume intelligent life exists elsewhere.

But he warned that aliens might simply raid Earth for resources, then move on.

“If aliens visit us, the outcome would be much as when Columbus landed in America, which didn’t turn out well for the Native Americans,” he said.

Mr Hawking thinks that, rather than actively trying to communicate with extra-terrestrials, humans should do everything possible to avoid contact.

He explained: “We only have to look at ourselves to see how intelligent life might develop into something we wouldn’t want to meet.”

In the past probes have been sent into space with engravings of human on board and diagrams showing the location of our planet.

Radio beams have been fired into space in the hope of reaching alien civilisations.

Mr Hawking said: "To my mathematical brain, the numbers alone make thinking about aliens perfectly rational.

“The real challenge is to work out what aliens might actually be like.”

The programme envisages numerous alien species including two-legged herbivores and yellow, lizard-like predators.

But Mr Hawking conceded most life elsewhere in the universe is likely to consist of simple microbes.

In the recent BBC series Wonders of the Solar System, Professor Brian Cox, a physicist from the University of Manchester, also suggested life may exist elsewhere within our solar system.

He said organisms could be present under the ice sheet that envelops Europa, one of Jupiter’s moons.

Professor Cox added: "Closer to home, the evidence that life could exist on Mars is growing.

"We will only know for sure when the next generation of spacecraft, fine-tuned to search for life, are launched to the moons of Jupiter and the arid plains of Mars in the coming decades."This article is from the BBC News website. © British Broadcasting Corporation, The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.

http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/bbcnewsworldfullfeed?d=yIl2AUoC8zA http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/bbcnewsworldfullfeed?d=dnMXMwOfBR0 http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/bbcnewsworldfullfeed?i=D_LZO32ah58:CLp4_g8OZEo:V_sGLiPBpWU

http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/bbcnewsworldfullfeed/~4/D_LZO32ah58

source…

Re: Contacting alien life could be risky, warns Stephen Hawking

they are looking for aliens.. and we are fighting with taliban.. & shaariah lovers :rotfl:

What he says makes sense.. still would be interesting to come across them tho..

I've always thought there are aliens out there somewhere.. would be arrogant to assume there was only us imo

Man and his arrogance [read my sig].

People who are wanting to establish law of Allah on earth are ridiculed. :k:

maybe theyre thinking the same thing.

I wonder if alien life forms are tasty..
it would become like a status thing, like pate' and crap in the west..imitation alien meat will be sold just like we have imitation crab meat, i mean what is that? i have never met an imitation crab..
PETA would become PETAA last A standing for Aliens.
and back in pak, it would become a status symbol at weddings,
ji hum nay alien kabab banaye hain..etc.

there will be halal, haram and makrooh discussions.

eid ul azha par, it would become part of the who had how big of a cow, or who had a oont for qurbani...chorahay par alien ki qurbani di ja rahee ho gi.

so did Fox Molder :snooty:

europe and US will be fighting on genetically modified alien.
there would be hybrid things created using alien DNA..
packaged goods manufacturers will start fooling ppl as usual with a big sign of made with alien meat , and on the back posting alien content 20%..

entire industries would sprout up selling alien based supplements to cure everything, from weightloss medication to physical enhancements for men and women :)

it would be the next bubble...we ad dot com and real estate, lets have alien bubble..

LOL :omg:

until they zap us all !!!

The dude had too many 'drugs' before speaking... Aliens almost certainly exist...LOL

He is almost certainly on drugs....

~Dil Ke Behlaane Ko Ghaalib Yeh Khayal Accha Hai.

Like in movies and selling books and products.

if they zap us all, what will happened to the theories of Issa coming back, Gazwa Hind, Mehdi, .. end of jews.. etc..etc.. .

nope hawking is wrong as all the west is wrong.. :k:

holy smokes, mr sarcasm zoomed by your head.. zoom zoom zoom

**^ **

“yaqeen karein aap hi woh mujahid hain .. jin sey Gazwa Gupshup phir facebook & then gazwa youtube ka kaam liya jai ga” .. :k: …

lekin .

“yaqeen rakhein … is gazwa k shuhda afzal tareen shuhda aur is k ghazi afzal tareen ghazi hoon gey” ..

yaqeen … is the word :k:

Aliens dont exist.

Bring on the Aliens! :ASA:

Afterall what has a Faris to lose?

The martyrs are worm food like the rest of the dead. Sorry to disappoint you.
Have a nice day.

yupp, and that makes sense ..isnt it??? for beloved islam is in danger???

The zionists will be food for the snakes and scorpions after they are slaughtered. Sorry to disappoint you.

^ as a Muslim i will add Talibans in the same context too :k:. Sorry to not disappoint you !