Consulting Firms in Pakistan

I am looking for a list of major consulting firms in Pakistan if there are any. Specifically in the business, strategy and financial sectors. So if there are lists out there do let me know. I did look up a couple of the big name firms in the US to see if they had any offices in Pakistan but didnt see anything.

obviously no such firms exist?

hmcq,
what kind of consultancy are you looking for exactly? legal, tax, financial, management, HR, business dev....?
there are numerous firms here in pakistan.
a few major financial ones being A F Fergusons, a member firm of PWC, Sidat Hyder Morshed, a member of Ernst and Young , they have an actuarial dept aswell.
do let me know if this was useful. and if you want more info let me know.

hmcq, you won't get any answers here. Its a Pakistani community and we can't see others getting any extra business. I've been looking for a few months for a firm which does software development in Pakistan for a multi=million dollar project and I never got any replies when I posted my request. Can you believe it? And tons of ppl here actually work for such development firms. No wonder India is getting the business.

oh Tofi
dont get that annoyed yaar!
i totallt missed out your thread or else i would have let you in on some info.
i'm not much aware of the software business in pak, but if you still need the info i sure will try looking it up and will post.
do let me know.

*Originally posted by TofiBaba: *
hmcq, you won't get any answers here. Its a Pakistani community and we can't see others getting any extra business. I've been looking for a few months for a firm which does software development in Pakistan for a multi=million dollar project and I never got any replies when I posted my request. Can you believe it? And tons of ppl here actually work for such development firms. No wonder India is getting the business.

I am not much of an expert in this area since I have never worked in PK and have no clue what goes on in the IT industry in Pak... but I do find it odd though that PK govt seems to be trying so hard to push IT sector in PK but when ever I go to PK and meet people in this industry they seem to be not much interest in exploring any off-shoring options (I am speaking of large firms)... I even contacted some software houses a while back for some potential projects from US but no response was given by these firms...

so I have theorized that there are two possibilities... one they see me as a desi just trying to get some info from them and wasting their time or they have no idea how to pursue leads and how to run business...

BTW - I know of few software houses in Lahore who deal in large scale off shore and local projects, Xavar, Netsol,... there is one more that I can't think of righ now but that one has impressive management line up all of them are MIT graduates and they mostly do real time systems.

there is a lot of talent in PK but poor management and lack of proper planning and support to utilize this talent is a shame....

*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *
so I have theorized that there are two possibilities... one they see me as a desi just trying to get some info from them and wasting their time or they have no idea how to pursue leads and how to run business...

BTW - I know of few software houses in Lahore who deal in large scale off shore and local projects, Xavar, Netsol,... there is one more that I can't think of righ now but that one has impressive management line up all of them are MIT graduates and they mostly do real time systems.

there is a lot of talent in PK but poor management and lack of proper planning and support to utilize this talent is a shame....

Yeah, that was my take on the situation too. My quest extended to when I visited Karachi December, nobody seemed interested.

Having a potential project going to India while I can easily move it to Pakistan. Haris, I may not be the most patriotic person, but that just bugs me to death.

Tofi Contact techlogix. they are one of the most well known pakistani development consulting firm and have an office out of cambridge, MA and most of the senior management is MIT phDs or MBAs. Great people and good firm. Let me know if you need to get in touch with someone there.

Haris I am primarily looking for Financial, business and strategy consulting. Something that a McKinsey like firm would do. So anything other then straight accounting related firms.

that is it... Thank you HMCQ... it was bugging me.. Techlogix is the one which I was missing...

have a look on this website.

one consultancy i have workd in the past has now presence in CA.

well known software houses

systems limited

align techonolgies.

netsol - also listed in nasdaq

jaffer brothers limited

TofiBaba hey no need to get upset! :-)

Well I work in Pak, been only 5 months that I got back from the USA after completing my BS in CS, my work is not related to software development though so not really aware of the Pakistani software market. But you can visit the Karachi Stock Exchange website and look at the companies listed there. If its a good enough company it will have a website. And you can go from there. Instead of just going by what people tell you I think you should do some research yourself to find which company will suit your needs best. Some people already mentioned the top of the line companies in this thread. I'd like to add to this list, Clickmarks. I'm surprised no one was interested in offshore development though? Most software houses here are dying to get offshore projects.

Anyways, good luck!

*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *

Actually the IT industry here is doing really really well mashallah. You'll be very surprised. I was certainly impressed.

how are you finding it working in pakistan? is it a good living? how would a person with a family adjust, are there opportunties in IT, HR and administration?

*Originally posted by irem: *

Actually the IT industry here is doing really really well mashallah. You'll be very surprised. I was certainly impressed.

Assalam Aleekum
Why Is It that when It comes to consulting we talk about SOFTWARE only.
How about medical transcription, management consulting and sub fields
HR or Mark. Please, provide some insight on this topic.

I read that India is now GETTING management outsourcing
work. What about PAK. Are we only acquiring Call Centre work
only.

I am looking forward to your answers.

Shukraan.

mujhay to amreeka aur pakistan mein kasmay koi khaas fark nazar nai aata

i dont think location etc etc matters. i m the type who just takes what life has to offer and be happy with it and not take these kinda things toooo seriously so i dont really care where i am living.

khayr i love it in pakistan. just hate the pollution. us k ilawa sub sett hae.

but i miss my friends in the usa i dont have a social life here :crying:

yes u’ll be able to settle just fine, opportunities boht haen

lekin Irem i'm looking for career opportunities that are very solid you know? i've been working in the US now for five years at a fortune 500 company with SAP in HR but i would really like to move to pakistan. i know of some people who are very happy there, working for american companies but i don't know the first thing about what's out there? do you have any web sites or company names i should consider?