Consequences of Free Trade with India

Re: Consequences of Free Trade with India

Irem what did your father say about this subject? Its quite nice that you care enough to discuss Pak economy, more ppl should show interest in these topics, IMO. As for your first post, it was too long for me to read, sorry.

Rava, "we should ensure that atleast some local businesses gain competency " Open trade is one way to force maturity in Pak business. Competition forces you to raise your standard, unless you're completely brain dead. If ppl want to earn they have to make them selves worthy of the money.

sabah well Papa had mixed opinions. He did also believe that local products will improve with competition and prices will go down, but when I shared my thoughts about India's desires for colonisation he did say that I do have a point.

My first post contains my basic thoughts/argument about the issue so do read it if you want a better understanding of what I think about the issue. How could you say that the way I was talking about this issue seemed like I was joking when you didn't even read my post. I assumed you had read it.

Anyways, I'm out for the day. Laterz. Allah Hafiz.

So Irem, it all boils down to whether your paranoia about India colonizing pakistan is justifies or not.

Assume for a moment that there is no such intent - what will be the negative effects of not doing trade with India?

Atlantis,

1. Its not paranoia.

2. How can I make that assumption when my experiences tell me otherwise? India's track record is not such that we should trust them and let them into our economy.

3. Just to elucidate something...Colonisation can be geographic or economic.

Anyways, I'm out for the day now...bye.

Irem I went halfway through your first post and then stopped, based on follow ups I passed my remark. At the end of the day, nations are build by ppl and govt if our ppl can't or don't want to survive trade with one country we can't justify our independence.

Anyway, it'd be interesting to see the affected industries reaction to this.

haha! Right, I am immature. I am not the one ranting on about India's "secret dream" of a united nation. Let me tell you this, what your local kids tell you isn't the truth always. I am an Indian and I have never met another Indian who harbors such a dream and I guess it's fair to assume I must have met more Indians than you have. Most cases there is animosity and a horde of conspiracy theories, just like yourself. But please! No one wants Pakistan back again. We are in peace and happy with the present situation sans the occasional wars.

Irem Ji,

After reading this para, I am compelled to agree with the other members that you, are Irrational and self centered.

Your above para itself proves it, because you are saying (If it was a matter of survival where we couldn’t survive without doing free trade with India ) now remember that India is the enemy, the traitors, the wannabes, and are trying to do what the British did.

Then you go on to say something that really made me think twice about your mentality (Childish at the best, and stupid at the worst) (then I would have rethought my opinion but as of now, I don’t think we need to do free trade with India.)

Ha Ha Ha it is just like the most well known saying “waqt ane per gadhe ko bhi Baap kehna padta hai”. Thank God whole of Pakistan dosent think like you coz if they did, and your waqt came, and you were willing to call the Gadha Baap, believe me this gadha would be the one to have last laugh.

Oh and before I forget let me apologise to you, for arguing with you, shame on me I should have picked someone my size, So Irem you can be sure that From now on this Dirty, stupid, colonising, schemeing and Bagal me chori and muh pe ram ram Indian etc etc will not even consider your postings, as worth reading coz they are not. worthy of my time.

And just like you have told to every Tom Dick and Harry, that you have the right to have your opinion. well unfortunately this is my opinion.

Have a good life.

Aejaz

cb, i dont think she means a united nation. she's worried pakistanis would lose their separate identity after showering with a nice lemony made in india cinthol bar. whats funny is she doesnt seem to give pakistanis any credit when it comes to knowing what their identity is and think they'd lose it when they go grocery shopping.

and the usual hypocrisy still stays - a person who watches DDLJ two dozen times trying to protect her country from the indian cultural colonization.

i have heard from ppl that stuff in india (specially pharmaceutical products) is very cheap and the consumers in pakistan will greatly benefit overall coz they will save money, our pakistani manufacturers will face stiff competition and will have to up their quality. some medicines which are less than 10 rupees in india cost more than 50 rupees in pakistan.

Irem yaar, dil na jalao. na apna, na mera, na hum sab ka.

Dekho, someone told me that US “dumps” all their “old stock” of medicines and pharmaceutical products to india cz they want any income they can get out of that old expired stock. They change dates and sell to india and those countires who want it cheap. i think medicines are expensive in pakistan cz people are expensive and buy valid or expensive stuff. the pakistani government spends on getting it’s people valid medicines and not outdated like india cz india’s only worry is its military strength and spends on gaining more nuke and stuff to get the “feeling” that it is powerful. they care sh!t about their poor people dieing taking those cheap medicines.

i think what india is planning now to “dump” the same old stock to pakistan. i dont know about the government but i really hope that our people are not fooled by the cheap prices and refuse to purchase any cheap imported products. well, we just need to educate people. well, you know i learned from my parents that we should create no difference. we used to go buy the grocery and all the consumer products from these indian lullu, ram ram, and similar supermarkets. they were so innocent. i opened their eyes to the reality. told them how indians would avoid to buy a lollipop for their kid or a battery from a pakistani departmental store. cz i SAW it with my own eyes. and this was going on for unknown number of years (when i was a child). they come here rolling their eyes and post that we are so insecure to think of not buying anything indian. but none of them would be able to tell me out of which insecurity they would not buy a bottle of mineral water from a pakistani vendor several years ago (not that it does not happen anymore). still my parents create no difference but i refuse to keep doing so anymore. i regret wasting all my hard earned money on those cheap products which they use for buying weapons to kill our muslim brothers stuck under their rule and to threat pakistan.

they calling you insecure but each of them should look at their own posts which clearly shows how much insecure they are and how desperate they are to make pakistan a a part of its own. not only pakistan but ruling over the whole continent of asia. they are trying to do that in all aspects. all aspects, slowly setting their feet in. but know what? this dream of theirs would turn into a nightmare when… ha ha ha… i fear hurting some hearts (any peaceful indian hearts on this board who do not dream of this), so i wont say it but. do not worry yourself too much irem. im sure sensible / expensive people would not buy any cheap products. afterall, we have learned this lesson from themselves else we, pakistanis are, naturally open and generous hearted to care about this sh!t. they understand the typical cunning indian nature and more and more people are getting to understand it. so no worries :k:

Chandbeti - Not claiming to meet as many indians as you claim to have but I can tell you that there is this “sectret dream” of ruling over the entire asia… believe it or not. maybe you’d like to meet more indians that you have to know that.

and the usual hypocrisy still stays - a person who watches DDLJ two dozen times trying to protect her country from the indian cultural colonization.

queeray!!! id have to agree with you on this cz yes, the first thing we need to fight is the hypocricy of still using indian products.

Wannabe, if you wanna be someone then you gotta quit being a wannabe first :smack2:

Irem, cultural colonization happens due to economic power, due to the mighty economic power of US, people swoon over it. They watch US television programmes, US movies, buy US products, go on a vacation to the US and thus their life style starts to imitate the lifestyle of Americans. Culturally many countries like say Botswana may have a better culture than the US but as a country it does not fascinate people and thus its culture remains moribound.

Smaller economic powers like the European countries, Japan and Saudi Arabia also have influenced other cultures but they are like the stars to the US's Sun. As China and India rival the US in the international scene, Chinese and Indian culture shall colonize other countries. For Pakistan to hold its own and spread its culture, it has to become a economic power and get people interested in it, then naturally it culture shall flourish not only in Pakistan but around the neighbourhood too. Till then, people of Pakistan shall be fascinated by other powers and shall be influenced by them. Free trade with India with enough safety measures for local industries can actually help Pakistan to grow economically just as it helped India in the early 90's, so I guess you should put your worries at rest.

oh how open and generous hearted to label indians typically cunning. the generosity and warmth is just killing me.

are you different than a typical indian? prove it. i may change my opinion :snooty:

are you different from a typical suicide belt wearing pakistani? prove it. i may change my opinion. :snooty:

how do you see someone NOT buy something? :hehe:

they TELLING me that they do not do so. they TOLD me that they avoid it. what more do you need to see to know it???

and what??? "typical suicide belt wearing paki"?? Who are these pakistanis? i thought it only happened in palestines?

cz i SAW it with my own eyes. <<

didnt you write this? and now it becomes

they TELLING me that they do not do so. they TOLD me that they avoid it.<<

typical pakistani honesty, i presume. :hehe:

almost as believable as the poppycock “dump drugs” story you made up.

:slight_smile:

Surya thanks for the lengthy explanation. You said cultural colonisation occurs b/c of ecnonomic strength. Hmmm. That's an interesting theory and it could be true. I'd be interested to know more details through which you can back this.
Anyways, the point is: I don't trust the Indian government b/c I think they have their own underlying aims for all this and I'm not comfortable with letting them into my country.
Your govt has to prove that it is trustworthy b/c your track record is not good as far as honoring mutual commitments with Pak is cocerned.

TNWB wow that's news to me about the US dumping medicines in India. We better not be getting such medicine in Pak. I wouldn't be surprised if the Indian govt didn't care about the welfare of the poor people there, they recently refused foreign aid for the Indian Tsunami victims just coz that would make them appear more powerful and be a positive thing for them getting the UN Security council seat. The Indian public widely condemned this decision of the govt.
Its sad that our govt has already opened doors to free trade with India. I guess we can just pray to Allah that no bad comes out of it.

queer as usual you missed the crux of my argument and are addressing peripheral issues.
As for DDLJ, I know very well who I am, what my identity is. I am not a confused person. So, even if I watch DDLJ a million times it won't make any difference to me. However, if we show the dirty movies your movie industry makes to our little kids its not going to have a good effect on them. You shouldn't be making such movies or letting your own young ones be exposed to such things either.

Aejaz dude, you REALLY need a chill pill.
And in our religion, our survival is given first preference. We are not allowed to eat pork but if we are dying of hunger and its the only things avlbl we can. It was keeping that in mind that I said "if it was a matter of survivial".
As for who'se the immature one, I think its pretty obvious from your "rotoo" attitude that you are.
And I'm glad you decided not to read my posts again. I won't have to deal with replies like yours anymore.

Chandbeti from my experience Indians do have this dream of ruling over a united subcontinent. Indians, not all but many, also have a habitof hiding their true intentions.

sabah you're right that we should be able to overcome adversity as a nation and survive this, and that's exactly why we should avoid this situation in the first place. It doesn't make sense to head into a situation which from the outset seems unfavorable.

cool, so you think im “making up” a story by catching the words i used? so what was i supposed to say? that i “HEARD” it with my own EARS? i did not think of noting down the details of how i knew it else i would have stated that i HEARD it with my own EARS. by saying that i SAW it with my own EYES i meant to say that I SAW THAT IT HAPPENED as in it HAPPENS. by SEEING it i meant to say i KNOW it. do not try to distract people from the TRUTH by trying to prove me wrong by catching the words.

im not making up any stories. you may accuse me for doing so but the TRUTH REMAIN THE TRUTH. the basis on which im saying this is a part of my life which i experienced. so you can change the opnion of those who did not experience it but not of those who experienced it.

your way of proving me wrong is that very “typical cunning” indian nature i was referring to :snooty:

TNWB choro yaar, kis ke moonh lag gai ho.

These people post not coz they believe in what they are saying but b/c they think what they will say will annoy others and then they get some kick out of it.Why would you want to waste time replying to such people.

mai kya ji dafa karo mitti pao te boota lao.

Indians, not all but many, also have a habitof hiding their true intentions. <<

this pretty much sums up your posts on this thread, irem. you need to grow up and smell the doodh patti.