Conquering the World; Adventures; and Other Silly Aspirations

So, like, do you ever wonder why you are not the incredibly wonderful hero of the average fantasy coming-to-age story, brandishing your sword, and going off to save the world from disaster?

We drive to work each morning, fighting traffic, and thinking…“So, instead of uncovering and overcoming political scandals of a faerie court or saving the village from the dragon, I’m trying my best to push the little lever in my car that accelerates my car, so that I can get through this yellow light, so that I do not have to waste 3 minutes at a 4-way signal, thereby giving me enough time to like, not be late to work for the 18th time this month”.

We come home battered from our white collar or blue collar jobs, settling with a cola (or beers, for those who don’t give a hoot about religion) on our couch and flippin’ on the re-runs on TBS exhibiting the shining moments of American television (We all really do Love Raymond, even after watching episode 47 for the 8th time since New Years). And then our mind wanders a bit, and we think, shouldn’t we have fought diligently through a war between goblins and hobbits and destroyed The Ring by now?

Oh why, our mind cries, oh WHY am I not dressed in a flowing gown of purple silk with white garlands in my hair skipping along on a Celtic Beat, running down into the underground vaults of druids, as we look down at our battered and washed-for-the-zillionth-time PJ’s?

Why do we not live in a fantasy world where magic and adventure is as casual as a Starbucks Frappacino on a Sunday afternoon?

Re: Conquering the World; Adventures; and Other Silly Aspirations

hmm...scratches head (seriously, that's what i did)

i never really could relate to those fantasies...
just putting a smile on someone's face usually does the trick for me.. :) i feel like i have saved the world!

nah. just waitin for my prince on a white horse…or a black porsche…or a sexy motorbike…:blush: does that qualify as fantasy?:(:p

smilestar-chalbay jhoot na bol…

^^

Would you settle for a non-prince in a black Volvo? :halo:

:mocking:

mainay konsi istarhain ki baat ki hai..jis pay aap ko yakeen hi nahin aya..?

maddy sharm kero shaadi honey wali hai ;)
smilestar hahahhahahahhahahahahhahahahhahahahha

^..aap ko bas hansi aati hai? yaar..kuch keh bhi dain..

There is a better sort of magic to be had in the so-called mundane. I am lucky to have had such moments. They are very precious to me.

A man needs and can have three things:
Food
Sex
Sleep

So what does he fantasize about? Again, same three things with tailored adjectives before them.

fantastic food
Mind-blowing sex
Sound sleep.

^very true..id like to add sports & xbox to the list..

Life is what you make of it - the world is your oyster.

I was going to conquer the world
but i got distracted by something sparkly. . .

^^

I did...

But gave it up for peace of mind...

PCG :k:

dope dont forget HBO.

WHY am I not dressed in a flowing gown

coz it looks silly in real life.

and I really wouldnt mind being a queen.

PCG

Live in Pakistan for a year in present age. After a year you will fantasize for your current life.

Insaan kisi haal main bhee khush nahee rehta.

:hehe: sad but so true.