Congrats South Korea! Samsung plans biggest chip plant

Ok guppies! This thread is to show Pak appreciation of the great nation “South Korea”. This nation recovered from the devastating war and now stands as the best example of industrial development.

This nation also gives hope to Pakistan. SK was ruled by military generals closely allied with US. As a result, SK and US introduced policies of mutual partnership for industrial growth. 4 decades later, SK has done wonderfully. Let’s all join hands and follow SK lead. I am sure Pak can become a major industrial nation by 2045.

Go SK and its great people.

Samsung plans biggest chip plant
Samsung Electronics, the South Korean chipmaker, is planning to spend $33bn (£19bn) expanding output and building a research and development plant by 2012.

The company said it would create 14,000 new jobs and add 5,000 research posts over the next seven years, creating the world’s biggest semiconductor factory.

Samsung said the extra output would boost chip sales to $61bn (£35b) in 2012, compared with $16.3bn last year.

Samsung has been battling declining prices and waning demand.

The company sells two main types of memory chip: DRAM chips for computers and flash memory chips for digital cameras and mobile phones.

‘World’s largest’

Despite industry-wide oversupply, Samsung said that building eight production lines at two factories was a key part of plans to boost future profits.

“The long-term investment plan reflects Samsung’s strong commitment to supporting leading-edge technologies that will create new markets and applications,” it said.

The lines would be added to Samsung’s Kiheung and Hwaseong factories near Seoul.

“When completed in 2012, the Kiheung-Hwaseong complex will be the world’s largest semiconductor fabrication facility,” Samsung said.

As well as chips, Samsung also makes flat-screen televisions, mobile phones and computers.

Increased demand for these products has helped take up the slack in chip revenues and the company is predicting that chip sales will have picked up in the second half of this year.
Story from BBC NEWS:

Re: Congrats South Korea! Samsung plans biggest chip plant

^^ Pakistan should follow South Korean path of development.

Well... it would InshAllah, but individual efforts count the most Antobol.. and the combined they turn into a force.

sowwy I got ur nick wrong

Why not by 2025! Aim high! :slight_smile:

very interesting thought.:blush:

2 things to note though. the lesson for pak is to look at the institutional infrastructure supporting changes in sk and how that has evolved irreversibly. this being the biggest building block for pak…next to their mentality. :wink:

second- this is more for the development guru’s. to study the relationship between the interventionist policy tools & (overtly) outward oriented stratagem relationship. in theory we’re taught that this is contradictory… :hoonh:lekin yahan bilkul kuch aur nikla…(albeit for the better)

I think we should follow the Malaysian example. They had a tougher problem…they had crazy wahabis/extremists and communist seperatists. They evolved the country in such a manner, that everyone is happy. And they are making great strides and prospering as well.

Malaysia pretty much followed South Korea and Singapore. Then Mahatir was bitten by a dog and he (the dog) got rabies. The result was flattening out of Malaysian system.

Bottom line! Follow Malaysia (indirectly South Korea) but do not let some crazy ar$e destroy your country.

Malaysia actually followed Qaid E Azams “vision”. That has been acknowledged by their leaders. They had nothing to do with South Korea. Only difference was, we failed to follow the plan, and they did. I don’t know where you get the south korea thing from. Are there any articles relating or suggesting that besides your opinion?

^^ huh! What hath ya smokin!
No offense to Quad. Jinnah never talked about an industrial development plan for Pakistan let alone Malaysia. He didn't have time to delve into industrial empire building. Tomorrow you will say that Malaysia was following Sir Syed Ahmad Khan or God forbid Mao-la-na Mao-doo-dee. Wah bhai Wah.

Malaysia followed the example of South Korea, Hong Kong, and Singapore by allowing its chinese population take on the industrial growth.