confusion

assalam o alaikum
** i ve confusion regarding islam s teachings about women education**
** on one side islam says,“ilm hasil karna er muselman mard aur aurat per farz hai”,n “ilm hasil karo chahay tumay cheen he khun na jana paray”**
** on the other hand islam does nt allow women to travel without a mahram(probably 40 miles tk allowed hai)then hw can a girl get education when there is neither any college nor any school in her area,n above all kohi b mahram itna faraag nahi hai kay daily pick n drop karnay ki responsiblity uthahay,**

salam, ramadan mubarak to you.

Are you sure you are not allowed to travel without a male within 40 miles?? I think it means if you are travelling abroad? I donot have a dad, therefore my mum always travels herself aswell as my sisters.

I do know that it is very important in islam to be educated. I myself attend university and I travel myself and I think it is more than 40 miles...In the future, I will go work myself and travel to work. I dont think islam is that hard of a religion:)

Have a look at some of the Islamic scholars of today, who have a traditional foundation but a modern outlook.

What they say is that this restriction of 40 miles was due to the climate of the land at the time. It was very dangerous (for both men and women) to travel far, but esp for women. Secondly, women traveling alone during those times was seen as highly suspicious and the women were easy targets.

Today, with airplanes, cars, many many women traveling throughout the day, the same condition does not apply, so women can travel without a mahram. A women driving (during the day) or taking an airline flight is not at being singled out.

However, it still applies to situations outside the normal. But Allah knows best.

Its not that ELM or ILM sis that u r understanding. This is what we call the QURAN and SUNNAH ILM so that she can teach and upbring her children as momins. The Current form of Education like science and humanities are not ILM itselfn its HUNAR instead and ISLAM never forbidden even this one but the real ILM or Knowledge is that mentioned above.

Re: confusion

It meant Web based online training!!!!

There is nothing in Quran specifically mentioned about this women can travel with mahram restriction. Because I guess Quran knows that there will be many , many women who have no mahram man to take care of them .

What about Hajj it is an obligation to men and women who can afford it. It has been emphasized that anybody who can afford should perform Hajj. But if a woman does not have a mahram , but can afford to perform Hajj , how is she going to fulfill this obligation ?

But these are my comments.

Now you can read a comprehensive answer to your question here:
Can Women Travel Without A Mahram?

Then does it mean that the basic tenet is required to be changed. Was the law applicable only in the 4th century and is no longer valid. Are there any other similar laws which need to be changed.

ya

It is not basic tenant of Islam, and there is nothing in Quran on this mater specifically. There are many ahadees on this subject with differing instructions so Ijtehad can be performed in this matter.

I think the 40 miles was mentioned for Old times where there were no securities for ladies. We can even apply it in today's world, where if a woman is alone in a certain area,, chances are she will be insecure or khuda na kasta advantage will be taken from her. So there is a reason why woman needs to have man or Mehram always with her to protect her.. After all No matter how independent a woman is, eventually she will need a man's support to live her life....... Personal opinion hain it can be wrong as well.. so correct me if so...