Confused BRIDE!! KARACHI bridal shopping or LAHORE?

Hi,

I am from the UK and intending of getting married in 2011. After reading some posts on wedding shopping in Lahore I am panicking MAJOR!!! I never realised that bridal shopping in these cities is so EXPENSIVE! much more than England to be honest.

I would be extremely grateful if anyone could help me out which is a better place to do bridal shopping and where you can get better deals and negotiate?!

Please Help!

Thanks. x

Re: Confused BRIDE!! KARACHI bridal shopping or LAHORE?

Aww, don't you worry. There are plenty people here who can help. What's your budget for a bridal?If you're going designer, they start at 1 lakh. If you're to go to a bazaar or get a copy, it starts at Rs 60k.

Do you have any idea what you're looking for?

Thank you for your response.

I am a really fussy person and I am looking for something different like couture but I know that will cost a ridiculous price. I'm looking for a mendhi outfit and a wedding day lengha but don't want a copy as it looks quite cheap.

I will be getting the Walima lengha from England.

Who are the best desingers to deal with or the boutiques with a nice variety?

x

I'm from Lahore but I was born in Karachi, lived there, and my fiance's from there too! So I've done alot of shopping from both places, a quick list of names to go see (I know more Karachi names since I just did my wedding stuff from there)

Lahore:
Amna Kardar
Chinyere

Karachi:
Zardozi (reasonable prices)
Hina Khan
Zainab Sajid
Dr. Haroon (gave him my dress, love his stuff! very traditional)
Sana Safinaz

My advice
Browse, browse, browse! Scan through the threads in this forum, every time you see a designer name look at the pics and people's posts will give you an idea of the price range, also look up these names on facebook and join their groups: you can see more pics there and even contact the designer

Question:
Are you looking for traditional designs (gold work, 2-leg farshee gharara) or "modern" cuts (silver crystals work, dhaka pajama with longggg flowing shirt that has a trail, for instance)

Thank you so much for your help!

To be honest I'm going to play the waiting game and see what is currently in fashion when I go to Pakistan next year. I am on facebook and constantly browsing but have not come across a bridal lengha that I love yet.

I love the HSY collection, I mean who wouldn't? The formal clothes are amazing but I don't know the price range for these.

I want two totally different outfits for the wedding and walima. I was thinking either a bridal anarkhali for the wedding day or a long shirt with a skirt with a long trail.

People assume that when you come from abroad you're able to afford things at higher prices in Pakistan which is NOT TRUE! I personally think spending 3 lakhs on a lengha is a waste which converts to more than £2000!

In your honest opinion which has better collections and shops Karachi or Lahore? I will only be in Pakistan for a maximum of 2/3weeks.

Thanks again. x

What's considered couture? I mean i a desi clothing sense? Or is it a brand???

Do not tell ANYONE that you are from overseas... just pretend you live in Pakistan. Also take someone that lives there locally with you so they can barter.

I know, my punjabi or urdu is not too great either so I will practice not to show that I like the clothes cos then that way they will rip me off sooo much! My mum is coming with me and she is very good at making deals.

'Couture' means creation of exclusive custom-fitted clothing, so it is a different style compared to what is on the market.

I like to stay unique as most people do. I realise that a lot of brides are going for long shirts with trailing skirts but cos I want something different I'm thinking a bridal anarkhali..

IC IC... well in that case couture bridal is always nice!!!

Set up a system with your mom. Just like nod your head if you like something, and shake it if you don't, and let your mom dooo ALLL the talking lol. If they dukhandar try to talk to you just nod or shake and smile, and have your mom tell them, that your really shy... LOL.

Don't worry inshAllah everything will be ok. I dont know about the prices in the UK, but in the US its much more expensive to do bridal shopping compared to Pakistan.

Thanks for the response.

Sounds like a plan but how much are you able to barter and lower prices down at these designer boutiques?

Any suggestions?

I am being quoted ridiculous amonts for bridal ranges in pounds and rupees.

I got an e-mail below from Zarmina Musud:

Gold Zari Chickenkari on chiffon with green crystals: Rs. 38000/ - 295 pounds
The bridal range starts from Rs. 150,000/ - 1150 pounds

Regards

That is all she said, quite rude of her. I am getting cheaper prices in UK!