Conflict between Khataks and Yusuf Zais

Two tribes of Pathan were in state of war and the ultimate beneficiaries were the outsiders like Mughals, etc.

Anyone knows what was reason of conflict? How the things settled down?

Re: Conflict between Khataks and Yusuf Zais

Pathans are most unique variety of people, they love fighting, most of the times within themselves and sometimes with others, I don't know if any other country in the world ever had such unfortunate history.

Pashtoon are said to be Pactyns tribe but in this thread I would also like to know about history of Pashtoon.

So when did this tribe originate as civilization according to Pashtoon folklore and religious belief??

Hmm interesting will try to dig it out.

As per folklore Pathans claimed to be from the lost tribes of Jews who never returned to Jerusalem :)

I think before tracing the origin of Pashtoon, we should also differciate between Pakhtun and Pashtoon. Are both terminologies same or different?

But I know few Pashtoons Hindus as well, Hindu titles of Sindhis, punjabis and Pashtoons are very common, A kapoor can be sindhi, pashtoon or punjabi? Lost tribe is very easy execuse, I think even japanese are lost tribe of Israel.

I always used Pakhtoon and Pashtoon interchangibly, never though it can be different. Pashtoons of Pakistan are very tall but Pathan caste in India is of every height and skin tone:)

A little off topic, but are there any Pathans in Pathan Kot?

No there are no Pathans in Pathankot and leaving a muslim majority tehsil, malerkotla of sangrur district there are hardly any muslim in Indian Punjab, Pathankot was always hindu dominated Tehsil of Gurdaspur district. Now Pathankot is a seprate district with huge cantonment, it is mine and my brother's birthplace as well:)
Many rajput muslims also mentions themselves as pathans in India, the other term being meos.

Let me go though 'The Pathans' to dig out more material.

A little I know about Khatak and Yusuf Zai rivalry is that Khataks served Mughal army and Mughals supported them against Yusuf Zais until Aurangzeb's period. Famous Pashton poet Khushhaal Khan Khatak (who sometimes considered as a sufi as well) remember Jehangir and Shajahan in very good words, but his poetry contain verses against Aurangzeb. He was probably imprisoned during Aurangzeb's time. It seems that during Aurangzeb's time, certain elements in Mughal court supported Yusuf Zai and therefore according to Pashtoon Tradition 'Dushman ka dost bhi dushman hota hai' Khataks started disliking Mughals. :D

This is why I like Pashtoon character, it is very similar to us:D

There is a famous joke about Pathan community and the phrases 'Dushman ka dushman bhi dost hota hai'.

In a village a host came to Pathans and they asked the guest to be extra-cautious. He asked why? I'm new here and have no enemies here.

They told him ' Kal hamare hathon unka mehmaan qatal hogaya tha aur ab un ne humko dhamki dia hai ke tumhara mehmaan ko qatal karega' :(

the accent of hindi/urdu is also hillarious, they don't care about thaa and thee of our language:D. I think Pathans here can be very good source of their history here.:)

:hmmm: But do we any Pakhtoon Members?

I think we have various Khans and people from KP as well on the site, but I doubt if they visit this section:)

Don't worry. Pathan is not just a nation. Pathan ek Kafiyat (state of mind) ka naam hai jo kabhi bhi kisi pe bhi chha sakti hai. :D

I hope someone from them must visit this thread. In case, no one appears, we have to rely on books.

As per the book 'The Pathan', the theory of lost tribe of Jews migrated to Pathan area supported by some reasons. It also says that when Jews were expelled by Muslims from Khyber (a place near Medina), they migrated to area near Peshawar and presence of Khyber Pass support this theory to an extent.

Amir Hamza Khan Shinwari, a famous Pushtun poet of the 20th century:
Laila nazar aata hai, Majnoon nazar aati hai…
Duniya ka har naqsha ulta nazar aata hai

Both are correct and mean the same, but the pronuncation is slighty different. It depends on the dialect/accent, some Pashtuns use 'sh', the 'soft' dialect, whereas other Pakhtuns use 'kh', the 'hard' dialect. So Pashtuns with 'sh' dialect will say 'Pa*shto' and Pakhtuns with 'kh' dialect 'Pakh*to'.

We have them but they are not that active these days.

Interesting video about Pathan History

As per the video, There are three major Pashtoon tribes. Afridi, Khatak and Yusuf Zai

just three tribes, I thought there are others as well like Qizlbash,Zadran etc, and I also heard that they marry within their subtribe, is that true?

I think Qazilbash are of Persian origin. I also think they follow biradri system (marriages within sub-tribe) even today.