Condies, Sauces n Dips!!!

Okay, I LOVE LOVE LOVE condiments/sauces/dips!!! They just make food soooo much more flavorful and interesting. I’ve heard that there is the this restaurant that’s all about serving condiments. Oooh, that’s my kinda place.

I love taking a little bit of the achar masala from a jar of achar/pickles and mixing it into my mayonnaise, YUMMY. Makes a nice spread for sandwiches. I like garlic mayonnaise, and imli chutney! And much to RupayHalwa’s disgust, I have a deep affection for my ever-versatile KETCHUP! And one day I wanna try garlic aeoli, hollandaise sauce, bernaise sauce, and worcestershire sauce. If any of u have tried em, lemme know how they were.

As for salad dressings, I like French, Creamy Italian, Blue Cheese, Thousand Island, Peppercorn Ranch, and Oriental…Mmmmmm.

Condiments that make me GAG include barbeque sauce (too strong, yuck), horseradish (tastes as horsey as its name), and wasabi (should be called kharabi).

So join in fellow guppies. If you’re a condiment junkie like me, post your likes and dislikes and favorite condiment/sauce recipes!!!

Re: Condies, Sauces n Dips!!!

As this is not my anti-ketchup thread, i shall remember my manners and restrain myself from making any reference to ketchup here, suffice to say that my silence is NOT an acceptance of the flagrant over-use of this vile substance...

I LOVE Encona hot pepper sauce. Mayo is good, especially when u add a bit of garlic powder.

Worcestershire sauce is great for marinades, on its own its a bit much, kinda soy sauce-ish. i love tartar sauce, salsa (hotter the better), desi style chili garlic sauce, sour cream is a great dip, so is good old desi chutneys...green chutney, imli chutney, aloo bukhara chutney etc etc

Hot sauce alllllll the way!
Spinach and Artichoke dip with tortillas.. YUM!

Mayo nd chili sauce

Smoked paprika mayo!

tarter sauce! and this tahitian sauce used on burgers---kinda like a mixture of ketchup and thousand island--but so much yummier!

Mayo, tartar sauce, hot sauce, thousand island dressing, salsa, guacamole,mustard, mint chutney, and honey barbecue sauce.

hot sauce...our traditional chilli garlic sauce...mayo...garlic sauce of al-baik....blue cheese dressing...thousand island,ranch,ketchup just ok ok....honey mustard is also alrite....all peri peri sauces i love....but the medium range not the hot ones...sour cream i love...but i hate guacamole:-/...melted cheddar cheese with nachos i love...but i hate salsa...can't tolerate its spice level!

Uff..mouth watering thread ! :yummy:

Has anyone been able to purchase some tartare sauce which tastes the same as the stuff they put in fillet o fish at mcDonalds?

I have tried diff varieties at the shops here but they taste foul, of capers.

A girl after my own heart. Condiments, how much do I love thee? Let me list the ways:

I love you on a hot dog; oh mustard, oh ketchup, oh relish and sauerkraut
I love thee on a Big Mac; special sauce I adore!
I love you with chicken nuggets; dearest barbecue and honey mustard
I love thee with pakora; nothing is as sweet (and sour) as emlee ki chutney
I love you in New York; oh the mysterious tastes of white and red sauces found at my favorite Chicken & Rice Stand.
I love thee on a gyros; for thou art quite perfect tzaziki sauce!
I love you with pasta: who among us can resist a perfectly contrived alfredo?
I love thee on my favorite rolls found only in Hashoo; who can deny garlic mayo, after all?
I love you when I eat Hibachi; oh Mr. Shrimp Slicer tell me what the pink sauce is!!

But now my ode to sauces, condiments and dips much end. And there are many, many more in this vast world that I dare not explore. For my mouth will water, and tummy will churn and lets face it ladies, that's just too many calories to burn!

ive just discovered horseradish dip/sauce, nice spice/tang to it, kinda like a mayo, lovely.

love mustard, all types, course grain, dijon, french, but especially english.

And i have a collection of hot sauces, west indian pepper, peri, garlic, mango, tobasco

Also mushroom pate, blue cheese dip, MARMITE!

LOL @ wasabi being kharabi...Im not a big fan of it myself.

Hollandaise sauce is GOOOOOOOD! I love it! Its a bit on the sweet side.

My favorites are...

Spicy mayo to go with my salmon rolls for sushi...

Honey mustard

Tahini sauce

Tartar sauce

Lemon butter sauce

RV, have you thought about marketing your ideas? Seriously think about it...you've got some very interesting concoctions and I wouldnt mind trying some of them! I still remember you posted somewhere about mixing ketchup and imli ki chutney and I tried it...it was sooooooooooooooo good! Oh, I remember...Aisha's Ketchamarind!

I'm ashamed at myself for forgetting the sweeter condiments. I have a NUTELLA fetish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! God bless the person who concocted this addictive sweet satisfying taste of heaven. If you like the Ferero Rocher chocolates (you know those hazelnut balls wrapped in gold foil), then you'll LOVE NUTELLA, because it tastes tastes just the chocolates themselves. You can spread it on anything. I dip fruits slices into it, I spread it on bread, bread pudding, cakes, my finger........OH SO GOOD!!!

mustard :nahi:

i did take a photograph of different sauces in peanut shell :blush:
i hope u guys gonna like it.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/rangon-kay-shajar/304353-food-photography-4.html#post6292079

YUMMY. Definitely a treat/feast for the eyes, LOL. Thank you for sharing! :slight_smile:

Hmmm, thanks PSquared. Maybe I should try it out. Since I'm currently not working, I can find a creative way to become rich, lol:) Since you like spicy mayo, try this out. Open up your jar of desi acha. And with a spoon scoop out some of the spicy curry/gravy type mixture that the pickles are sitting in. And mix that into ur mayo. I think it has an interesting taste to it:) And you try mixing hot sauce or chilli sauce in your mayo, it makes it more spicy.

So I totally bought some Nutella today.

And redvelvet...

...let me tell you something...

...IF I AM A FAT BRIDE AT MY WEDDING WHICH IS LESS THAN TWO MONTHS AWAY IT IS ALL YOUR FAULT!!!!!!!!!!!!

OH PUHLEEZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All brides get figure conscious around wedding time. I've seen the thinnest girls unnecessarily hit the gyms.

The point is NUTELLA makes you HAPPPPPPY!!!!!!!!!! Weddings can be a nerve-racking, stressful time! BUT Nutella will make you less stressed and more HAPPY. What Bride doesn't wanna be HAPPY???????

If you're uncontrollably happy on your special day, you're gonna THANK me for the Nutella idea and the blissful sugar rush that heavenly confection provides!!!!!!!!!!!

Nutella is made from hazelnuts. Hazelnuts like all nuts (excepts lunatics) contain PROTEIN!!!!!!! Proteins **are necessary as the provide us the building blocks our various body systems need!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Look, you need Protein for your wedding day! **Protein makes your hair, skin, nails, stronger and radiant!!!!!!!!!!! You're gonna THANK me for that too!

Oh and you know how they say the best way to man's heart is through his stomach? Now what's more romantic than chocolate? You can make him a nutella crepe in the morning stuffed with sliced strawberries and bananas. Or slice up a french baguette and spread some Nutella goodness on it. Yes, you'll Thank me then too!

See, everyone benefits from Nutella! Do you know Nutella was created during World War II (I think) a time when there was a lack of chocolate beans (cacao?). So the maker combined it with hazelnuts to make up for the lack of cacao beans.......so those poor soldiers could have some chocolate. Sob sob sob, what a touching moving story. That'll motivate anyone to eat Nutella!

I have **two **questions.

1) Have you tried nutella BEFORE or is this your first time? If you've tried it BEFORE, you can't blame me for it, LOL!

2) Your screen name "somehow collide"....is that from the song that goes, "Out of the doubt that fills my mind. I somehow find. You and I collide, " by Howie Day? If so, I like that song :)