Computer/Information Security Engineers

Hi
I was just wondering how many of my countrymen working in the field of Computer Security and have CISSP certification.I really want to establish a small community for the Security pros .

Thank you

Re: Computer/Information Security Engineers

Rehan Sahib, what do you have in mind? I have been working in computer security/Forensics/Pen Testing etc for the last 4 years.

:wave: did my CISSP three years ago - abb tow subb bhool bhula geya hai, but I’m fairly interested in Risk Management & ROI metrics for IS Security initiatives, and that’s one of the areas I’ve published in and talked about in my speaking engagements.

I can talk half intelligently about security without embarrassing myself too much. No certs tho.
Is it going to be a secret society?

ohh and I almost forgot...

I've taught post-graduate courses in Java Security which included APIs such as JCE (Java Cryptography Extension), JAAS (Java Authentication & Authorization Service) and JSSE (Java Secure Sockets Extension).

That was one fun course to teach! :)

I dont have any IT certifications, but I sucessfully ran a world wide project on single sign on for our firm of 171,000 people in 52 countries.
Since the project was very sensitive dealing with passwords and ID's across 300+ applications (all passwrd protected), I had to come upto speed on encryption, and other security related terms and definition. If you need help just post a question and will be more than happy to help out.
Once again I have no certifications but will give you the answer applicable in most security conscious Multi National corporations.

^^ ahh good ole SSO initiatives and corporate politics - what fun! :) I worked on one of those too for GE!

I hear you. It was one hell of a project. It started with SSO and we changed the name promptly to RSO. Single vs Reduced. Reason: No way in hell can you have 171,000people single signing on to 350 disperse applications. I mean our back end directories were disparate and thats after using XML to sync it up.
AD, eDir and NIS/NIS+. I could write a post on lessons learned.
But it was interesting to use smart cards, PKIS, Biometrics etc. We actaully had a vendor buy a company that we liked (cause we didnt wanna deal with a small company) Novell ended up buying the company to retain their presence in our company. I think I will open up a thread in the forum. On Single Sign oN. What you say??

hmmm ... this sounds interesting. I'm interested in computer and network security etc etc .... did a couple of certs bla bla ... btw; what are the goals/aim of the group gonna be like ?

Any books the pro's here would like to recommend/share ?

I am willing to join. I dont have any certifications but have some exposure to the security field and solutions.

Salam to All
It look very promising that good number of people replied back , I really appriciate your time , the only purpose for this little group of security proffesionals of Pakistan is to support each other , resolve IT security related issues , if any of us have at work or at campus , just to help out each other and share the knowledge , its not any secret society as one of the member metioned above. Its open to any interested person.

^^ Ok so What is the next step? just curious.

^ kuch nahee I guess … bus thora sa rola dalna tha hum nai .. aur kuch nahee :stuck_out_tongue: … ab soo (sleep) jao undhay per kay :hehe: